Please enable JavaScript to view this site.

Advanced Squad Leader Rulebook Updated and Erraticized

10. MORALE

10.1 MORALE CHECK (MC)/TASK CHECK (TC): Every Personnel unit has a basic morale rating printed on its counter. This is the number which the player must roll ≤ with two dice in order to succeed in performing some task or avoid damage inflicted by enemy fire. When an attack result dictates that a unit must check morale, it is termed a MC. Failure of a MC (by rolling > the Morale Level after modification) results in the breaking/Reduction/elimination of the unit. If a unit checks morale in order to be allowed to perform some action it is termed a Task Check (TC). Failure of a TC results in the inability of that unit to perform that task during that phase and prohibits the unit from attempting any other action during that phase [EXC: FPF PAATC; D7.212]. See 11.6 for effects of failing a PAATC.

       A10.1 & B28.9

10.2 LEADER LOSS MORALE CHECK (LLMC)/LEADER LOSS TASK CHECK (LLTC): Whenever a MC/TC is required, leaders must check before other units (with higher Morale Level leaders checking before lower Morale Level leaders). For each leader eliminated (whether by breaking when already broken, a mortal wound, or any other cause), after resolution of that attack (if any) all other friendly Personnel units with a currently lower Morale Level and in the same Location (or in the same moving stack, e.g., during Defensive First Fire) must take a LLMC [EXC: Riders (13.52, D15.55), Passengers (D6.651), Climbers (B11.42), and units at a different level (2.8), or in CC (11.141) neither take or cause LLMC/LLTC (as a result of their breaking or elimination). Passengers take/cause LLMC/LLTC only to fellow passengers of the same vehicle (D6.651)]. A LLMC is always based on the unit's current Morale Level, even if that unit is broken or has a reduced or increased Morale Level. Any negative leadership modifier of the eliminated leader must be reversed to a positive DRM and added to each LLMC. A leader eliminated/broken during Defensive First Fire does not cause other units in the same Location to take a LLMC/LLTC unless they were moving with him as one combined stack.

Should an unbroken leader break, all unbroken friendly Personnel units with a lower Morale Level in the same Location (or moving stack during Defensive First Fire) must take a LLTC [EXC: if exempt from pinning]. This LLTC is handled in the same manner as a LLMC except that if the LLTC is failed, the unit is pinned instead of broken.

EX: A Good Order 9-1 leader is stacked with a 6-5-8 and a 4-6-7 squad. Their Location is attacked resulting in a 1KIA. Random Selection determines that the leader is eliminated and therefore both squads are automatically broken (7.301).  The broken 4-6-7 must take a 1MC as its LLMC, which will Reduce it to a broken HS if it fails. The broken SS squad need not take a LLMC because its current morale (9) is not < that of the eliminated leader.

       A10.2

       A10.2 & A14.1

       A10.2 & A10.711

       A10.2 & A10.31

       A10.2, A20.21, & A20.3

       A10.2 & A11.141

10.21 LEADERSHIP DRM: The only applicable DRM to a MC/TC DR [EXC: LLMC/LLTC/WP/Bombardment MC] is the leadership modifier of one available unbroken leader in the same Location (or moving stack in the case of Defensive First Fire). The leadership modifiers of multiple leaders in a Location or moving stack are not cumulative; the owner must choose which leadership DRM to apply (10.72). Normal, unreversed leadership DRM are NA to LLMC/LLTC.

EX: A broken 8-0 leader, stacked with a 4-6-8 and a 4-6-7 squad, is eliminated by a fire attack which caused a 1MC result. Regardless of the outcome of that 1MC on the squads, the 4-6-7 must also take a NMC as its LLMC. If the leader were an 8-1, the 4-6-7 would have to take a 1MC as its LLMC. If the leader were a 9-1, both the 4-6-8 and the 4-6-7 squad would have to take a 1MC as their LLMC.

       A10.21

10.22  A leader may not apply his own leadership DRM to his own MC/TC, although he may apply the leadership DRM of an unbroken leader of higher morale which happens to be in the same Location or moving stack.

EX: A 9-1 leader which was fired on during the PFPh, yielding a "NMC" result on the IFT, must roll ≤ 9 to pass his NMC. However, if an unbroken friendly 10-2 leader is also in the same Location, the 9-1 can pass his MC with a DR ≤ 11. A 9-2 leader in the hex instead of the 10-2 leader has no effect because his Morale Level is the same as the 9-1. The 10-2 must past his NMC first and with no assistance from the 9-1. Had the 9-1 leader been moving and fired on by First Fire, the presence of a superior—but non-moving—leader in the same Location would not have aided the moving unit in its NMC.

       A10.22 & A10.7

10.3 MC FAILURE: Personnel which pass their mandated MC are unharmed (although possibly pinned; 7.8), but those which fail are immediately inverted and become broken [EXC: broken/Heroic (15.2)/Berserk (15.42)/ Unarmed (20.54)/Wading (G13.421) units, Japanese squads (G1.12) and leaders (G1.41), and LC Passengers (G12.13); see G14.32 for Infantry/Cavalry in Beach Locations during a Seaborne Assault/Evacuation]. An already broken unit that fails a MC suffers Casualty Reduction (7.302). See D5.311 and D5.34 for Inherent Crews.

       A10.3 & A15.

10.31 CASUALTY MC: If an unbroken Personnel unit rolls an Original 12 during a MC, it suffers Casualty Reduction and is broken (or eliminated if not subject to breaking) [EXC: A hero/berserk-leader is wounded and must add +1 to his Wound Severity dr as if already wounded (17.11); see G1.14 for Japanese squads]—after any unit Replacement which may also be required by ELR Failure (19.13). If a broken unit rolls an Original 12 during a MC, it is eliminated. See D5.341 for Inherent Crews.

       A10.2 & A10.31

       A10.31

10.4 BROKEN UNITS: Broken units are inverted and henceforth use the Morale Level printed on their reverse side for all MC/TC and Rally attempts they make until rallied and returned to their normal side. Broken units may neither attack in any way nor move except to rout during the RtPh or withdraw from CC. A broken unit may not portage anything in excess of its IPC, and prior to rout must abandon any items in excess of its IPC in its current Location—but must rout with any SW ≤ its IPC limits if it possessed such items when it broke. If it is carrying two or more SW which together are > its IPC, it must rout with a combination of SW of its choice exactly equal to its IPC or, failing that, equal to the highest number of PP it can portage which is also < its IPC. Once it starts its rout, a unit may neither Recover nor Abandon SW.

       A10.4

10.41 VOLUNTARY BREAK: Units within both the LOS and Normal Range per A10.532 [errata included] of an armed, unbroken Known enemy ground—and/or ADJACENT to any unbroken enemy ground unit—may voluntarily break (even if pinned) at the start of the RtPh so as to be able to rout during that RtPh (but only if breaking will not cause their immediate Reduction or elimination).

       A10.41

       A10.41 & A20.21

       A10.41, G1.13 & G1.132

10.5 ROUTING: During the RtPh a broken unit not in Melee may not remain in the same Open Ground hex in the Normal Range (10.532) and LOS of a Known non-Melee enemy unit/its-SW/Gun, nor—regardless of terrain—may it end a RtPh ADJACENT to or in the same Location with a Known enemy unit that is both unbroken and armed [EXC: Night; E1.54]. A leader with no SW is still considered "armed" for purposes of determining legal rout paths and enforcing Failure to Rout eliminations. Broken units must rout away (ATTACKER first—one unit at a time [EXC: Voluntary Rout; 10.711]) during that RtPh or be eliminated for Failure to Rout [EXC: Surrender; 20.21]. Otherwise, a broken unit must rout only if in a Blaze (B25.4). A broken unit may rout if currently under DM. All broken units (including Conscripts) other than wounded SMC have six MF for use in the RtPh; this amount can never be increased. A broken unit may end its RtPh in an Open Ground hex in the LOS and Normal Range of a Known enemy unit without Interdiction only if it has used Low Crawl (10.52) [errata included] during that RtPh, but it still may not be ADJACENT to an unbroken and armed Known enemy unit at the end of the RtPh or it will be eliminated for Failure to Rout. Broken units may not use Bypass (4.3).

EX: German units Occupy 5M2, K2, and K4. The broken Russian unit in L2 must rout away from the Known enemy units in M2 and K2 without moving ADJACENT to them, so it routs to L3 where it now discovers a Known enemy unit ADJACENT in K4. It cannot remain there without being eliminated for Failure to Rout, so it elects to continue its rout to M4, where it may end its rout, or continue on to N3 or N4. If the German unit were in L3 or L4 instead of K4 the broken unit would be unable to rout away without moving ADJACENT to a Known enemy unit, and therefore would be eliminated or captured for Failure to Rout.

       A10.5

       A10.5 & A10.51

       A10.5, A15. & B28.412

       A10.5 & B30.5

       A10.5, A10.532, & A10.61

10.51 DIRECTION: A routing unit may never rout toward a Known armed enemy unit (even if that enemy unit is broken or disrupted), while in that enemy unit's LOS, in any way which decreases the range in hexes between the routing unit and the Known armed enemy unit [EXC: Passengers, D6.1]; nor may it move toward such an enemy unit after leaving its LOS during that RtPh; nor, if ADJACENT to a Known armed enemy unit, may it rout into another hex ADJACENT to that same enemy unit. A routing unit may never move ADJACENT to a Known enemy unit, unless in doing so it is leaving that enemy unit's Location. Otherwise, a routing unit may move toward an enemy unit. Assuming it can abide by the previous requirements, a routing unit must move to the nearest (in MF calculated at the start of its RtPh) building or woods hex (even if overstacked) unless that route is through/into a known minefield or FFE, or is not traversable (e.g., through a Blaze, unbridged Water Obstacle, Cliff, etc.). As long as it reaches that hex during a single RtPh, it need not use the shortest route, but as long as it follows the shortest path in MF otherwise, it may enter a shellhole/entrenchment/pillbox to avoid Interdiction even if it can no longer reach that woods/building hex in a single RtPh. A routing unit can rout into/out of/within a known minefield or FFE at its option, but is not forced to do so merely to reach the closest woods/building hex. At the start of its RtPh, a routing unit must designate its destination and must attempt to reach it during that RtPh [EXC: if using Low Crawl]. If a newly-Known enemy unit prevents this, a new destination is re-figured from that point. Upon reaching a building/ woods Location not ADJACENT to a Known enemy unit, a routing unit must stop and end its RtPh in that building/woods Location even if overstacked unless the unit can directly enter another building/woods Location in its next entered hex (not necessarily the same building or through a continuous woods hexside). [EXC: A broken unit in a building need not consider a hex of the same building in which it begins the RtPh as its closest building hex if it prefers to rout out of that building altogether and toward another building/woods hex—even if it must cross Open Ground or another building hex of the same building to do so. A routing unit may also ignore a building/woods hex if that hex is no farther from a Known enemy unit than its starting hex, even if it must rout through that now-ignored hex to reach its destination.]

If no non-ignorable building/woods Location can be reached during that RtPh, a broken unit may rout to any terrain hex consistent with the above restrictions and need not rout toward the nearest woods/building Location. Any unit which routs through the Blast Area of a FFE is attacked in each Location of the Blast Area into which it routs as if it were a moving target during Defensive First Fire. A broken unit may continue its rout in a subsequent RtPh only if under DM.

EX: A broken unit begins its RtPh in 3M2 at ground level with a Good Order enemy unit in M3. The broken unit can rout one hex vertically upstairs to M2 1st level and end its RtPh or, at its option, continue into N1 1st level or even to N1 2nd level via M2 2nd level. It is not ADJACENT to the enemy squad in M3 when on the 1st level or 2nd level of M2 or N2, as no unit can advance into an adjacent hex and move up a building level in an APh.

       A4.14 & A10.51

       A10.51

       A10.51

       A10.5 & A10.51

       A10.51 & B8.62

       A10.51 & B23.71

       A10.51 & SSR VotG8

       A10.51 & B28.413

10.52 LOW CRAWL: Low Crawl is a rout of one Location which requires the entire MF allotment of the routing unit (but is still considered a form of Assault Movement should the routing unit enter a FFE Blast Area). A routing unit using Low Crawl cannot be Interdicted. Low Crawl cannot be used to enter Marsh or a Water Obstacle, or in any stream unless dry. Low Crawl cannot be used to exit an enemy-occupied Location [EXC: Night (E1.54)]. All other Rout provisions apply unchanged to Low Crawl, e.g., rout must still be towards the nearest woods/building Location within 6 MF.

       A10.52

10.53 INTERDICTION: A routing unit which enters an Open Ground hex without Low Crawl, in both the LOS and Normal Range of an unbroken enemy unit capable of fire on it in that hex with at least one FP without any form of LOS Hindrance, is subject to a NMC and everything that normally entails (see B27.41 and B30.41 for applications of a change of Location within the same hex). A routing unit which fails its Interdiction NMC suffers Casualty Reduction, although any remaining HS continues its rout thereafter. Interdiction does not affect other units in the same Location. Units are capable of Interdiction even if they have already exhausted their fire capability during that Player Turn. An Interdicted unit is also subject to pinning (7.8), to the extent that if pinned, it may not rout further during that RtPh and if pinned while still ADJACENT to a Known, armed, unbroken, enemy unit is eliminated for Failure to Rout. A broken unit may not be Interdicted more than once per Open Ground hex entered, regardless of the number of opposing units which can claim Interdiction. Once a unit begins its rout, it is expending MF; it cannot begin anew. Whenever a unit routs, it is restricted by the mechanics of movement (4.2) and must face the consequences of that move.

       A7.212 & A10.53

       A10.53, A10.532 & C6.5

10.531 OPEN GROUND: For purposes of rout determination, Dash, concealment gain/loss, and Interdiction, an Open Ground hex is any hex in which any Interdictor could apply, during a hypothetical Defensive First Fire opportunity (regardless of what attacks it actually made in previous phases), the -1 FFMO DRM. Note, however, that First Fire does not actually occur during the RtPh and that routing units, unlike units in the MPh, may pay combined entry costs to enter Open Ground hexes containing entrenchments or a pillbox (see B27.41). The cost to enter/exit Fortifications within a hex are not part of the total MF cost used when calculating the nearest building/woods hex. Whether a broken unit pays such MF costs during its RtPh is up to the owning player and the speed with which he wishes to enter such terrain; he does not have to ignore the safer and higher MF cost option in order to reach cover in the same RtPh, although this is his option.

EX: A grain, brush, or orchard hex is not Open Ground because the -1 FFMO DRM does not apply. A shellhole, entrenchment or pillbox is not Open Ground unless the routing unit pays only the minimum MF to enter the hex. SMOKE or LOS Hindrances exerting a DRM, either in the Open Ground hex or between it and all potential Interdictors, allow rout transit of an otherwise Open Ground hex free of Interdiction. Similarly, if the routing unit can claim TEM, Interdiction cannot be claimed. An Entrenched unit, or a crew/HS manning an Emplaced Gun, is not in Open Ground for Failure to Rout (10.5) purposes.EX: It is the RtPh and each of the broken units is under DM and therefore eligible to rout. The 1G2 unit may rout to F1, G1, or even H2 because, although it would be moving closer to the enemy, it had not been in the LOS of any of the units it was moving closer to before routing to that hex. The J2 unit can opt to remain stationary or rout to building K2. It could also ignore K2 (because it is no farther away from a Known enemy unit than its present position) and rout to the J0 woods instead, but it would be subject to Interdiction in J1 from the 4-6-7 in H5 unless using Low Crawl to J1. The I5 unit cannot rout because any move it made would be ADJACENT to a Known enemy unit; consequently, it must surrender (20.21) or be eliminated at the end of the RtPh for Failure to Rout if No Quarter (20.3) is in effect.  Assuming No Quarter is in effect, the broken squad in I4 may only rout to I3 because doing otherwise would be either moving ADJACENT to or decreasing the range to a Known enemy unit. In routing to I3, the squad announces that it is using Low Crawl. However, it also has the option to attempt to rout through I3 to H2 or J2, but at the risk of Interdiction in I3 (or, because those hexes are no farther away from the Known enemy in G4/K4 [10.51], it may continue to rout from H2, or J2, or directly from I3 toward H0/J0 subject to possible further Interdiction). Even if it failed the resulting NMC in I3, a broken HS would survive (barring a 12 Casualty MC DR) to enter H2 or J2. If No Quarter were not in effect, the broken squad in I4 would Surrender to the 4-6-8 in J4.

       A10.531

       A10.531, B27.1, & C1.51

10.532 INTERDICTOR: One unit may Interdict any number of routing units and may Interdict the same routing unit in more than one hex. No weapon is effective for Interdiction purposes beyond its Normal Range or 16 hexes (whichever is less). If a Gun would have to change its CA in order to fire (if this were a fire phase), a positive DRM would usually come into effect and thereby disallow its Interdiction. Similarly, a CX or Encircled unit, or a unit using Spotted Fire or one in Melee cannot Interdict an enemy unit due to those limitations on its fire. An AFV cannot Interdict if it would have to change its VCA/TCA or use armament which is currently penalized by the +1 BU or +1 Stun DRM. A leader without a SW has no range and therefore cannot Interdict a rout hex. Any unit whose FP is halved [EXC: mortars] (Pin, Motion, Mounted Firer, etc.) may not Interdict. Naturally, in order for a SW or ordnance to Interdict a rout hex, that weapon must be functioning.

       A10.53, A10.532 & C6.5

       A10.5, A10.532, & A10.62

10.533 CONCEALMENT: Concealed units, since they are not Known, must be ignored by the routing player in determining his legal rout route. The presence of a concealed enemy unit in the closest building/woods hex (not in the direction of a Known enemy) to a unit that must rout, does not free the broken unit from its normal obligation to rout to that hex. Upon entrance of the concealed unit's Location, one concealed non-Dummy unit therein must become Known (i.e., lose its concealment, using Random Selection) in repulsing the routing unit [errata included] to the last occupied hex (wherein the routing unit must end its RtPh—and be eliminated for ending the RtPh ADJACENT to a Known enemy unit; 12.15). A concealed unit can possibly claim Interdiction or force a routing unit to alter its route by becoming Known (i.e., by forfeiting its concealment) during that RtPh while in the LOS of the routing unit.

EX: The broken unit has to rout because it is in Open Ground in the LOS and Normal Range of a Known enemy unit. It must rout into J4, which is the closest building not closer to a Known enemy unit in its LOS. Entry to J4 is repulsed however, as the German squad loses concealment and becomes a Known enemy unit in the process. The broken squad is eliminated for Failure to Rout because it had to end its RtPh ADJACENT to a Known enemy unit. Had he preferred to take the Russian unit prisoner, the German could have opted to drop his concealment voluntarily and allowed the Russians to rout to him as his prisoners (20.21). The fact that he did not voluntarily drop his concealment does not make him subject to No Quarter (20.3) penalties.

EX: Now assume only the German squad in 1G4 is concealed. The Russian can rout to H3 and stop, or move on into G3 or H2—unless the German squad in G4 drops its concealment before the Russian routs to H3. The broken unit could even attempt to enter G4 causing the German unit to lose its "?" status, but this would result in the elimination of the broken unit for Failure to Rout. Once the Russian routs to H3 it will be eliminated only if it attempts to continue its rout into the concealed German's hex. Revealing its position after the Russian reaches H3 will not eliminate the Russian because it did not move ADJACENT to a Known enemy unit at the time of the Rout. The broken unit can even end its RtPh in H3 without being eliminated for Failure to Rout provided it does so before the German squad drops its concealment. If the German squad drops its concealment before the next unit begins to rout or the end of the RtPh (whichever comes first), the broken unit would have to continue its rout to H2 or be eliminated for Failure to Rout.

       A10.533, G.2 & G.4

10.6 RALLY: Broken units of both sides may attempt to rally during any RPh if a Good Order friendly leader is present in the same Location [EXC: Armor Leader (D3.4); see D6.651 for Passengers]. In addition, Finns [EXC: Conscripts (25.7)], broken leaders and crews as well as one MMC per Player Turn (18.11) may attempt Self-Rally without the presence of a Good Order leader. To rally, a broken unit must make a DR ≤ the morale number on its broken side. The leadership modifier of any Good Order leader attempting to rally a broken unit modifies the Rally DR. There is no penalty for failing a Rally attempt [EXC: Fate; 10.64]. No unit may attempt to rally more than once per Player Turn regardless of any Self-Rally capability/leader access. However, one leader may attempt to individually rally all the broken units in his Location.

       A10.6 & A11.15

10.61 TERRAIN BONUS: There is a -1 DRM to any Infantry Rally attempt which occurs in a building, pillbox, trench, or woods.

10.62 DESPERATION MORALE (DM): DM is a condition which afflicts any unit during the Player Turn it breaks (even if it breaks voluntarily) or any already broken unit which is subsequently attacked by CC/WP [errata included], or enough FP (taking the possibility of Cowering into account) to possibly inflict at least a NMC result on the target. An effective Sniper attack causes DM to all broken enemy units in the same Location as the unit attacked—not just the attacked unit. To be considered fired upon by ordnance, a hit must have been achieved against the unit regardless of its FP effect, or a non-Smoke FFE must have been resolved in the hex. A broken unit is also automatically under DM whenever a Known armed enemy unit is ADJACENT to it (even if it does not end the phase ADJACENT to it) or when it starts a RtPh in Open Ground in the LOS and Normal Range (10.532) of a Known enemy unit. Place a DM marker on any unit under DM and remove it at the end of every RPh [EXC: A unit may opt to retain its DM status provided it is not in a woods/building/pillbox/trench so as to guarantee its ability to rout again in the next RtPh. If overstacked in a woods/building, it may also opt to retain its DM status.] DM has no effect on any unit taking a MC, but does require a unit attempting to rally to add a +4 DRM (plus any leadership, terrain, and/or Self-Rally modification).

       A7.7, A10.62, F11.71 & F11.72

       A10.62

       A10.62

       A10.62, A15., & E1.54

       A10.5, A10.532, & A10.62

10.63 SELF-RALLY: All Personnel units whose Morale Level on the lower right of their broken side is encased in a square have Self-Rally capability. In addition, one MMC may attempt Field Promotion (18.11) as the first MMC Rally attempt of its own Player Turn. Any unit attempting Self-Rally (i.e., attempting to Rally without the presence of an unbroken leader) must add a +1 DRM. Self-Rally can never occur in a Location containing a Good Order friendly leader.

10.64 FATE: A broken unit which rolls an Original 12 DR while attempting to rally suffers Casualty Reduction and does not rally.

10.7 LEADERSHIP: Leaders have a two-number Strength Factor which consists of the leader's Morale (on the bottom) and his Leadership DRM (on the top). An unbroken Personnel leader may use its leadership rating to affect the performance of other Personnel in its Location [EXC: A Passenger/Rider leader cannot Rally, direct, or otherwise aid units outside of its vehicle unless it is CE in an armored halftrack that is stopped (D2.13); likewise, a leader cannot affect units at a different level (2.8)]. Leadership ratings are usually expressed as a negative number, or 0, or occasionally even +1 or +2. A leadership rating is treated as a DRM when used to influence another Personnel unit's performance, but can never be used to enhance its own performance nor to direct another unit's fire if the leader is firing a weapon himself (see also 7.53-.531). Leadership modifiers are not cumulative (i.e., the leadership modifiers of two or more leaders cannot be combined). A leader may attempt only one action per phase, and may use his leadership modifier (even if 0 or +1) more than once in the same phase only to attempt to rally more than one unit in a RPh, to direct Multiple ROF, Subsequent First Fire, Final Fire, or FPF attacks, and/or to assist units in the same Location or moving stack with a MC/Pin Check. The leadership rating of a leader is worsened by one whenever influencing Allied Troops of a different nationality. Allied Troops take a LLMC/ LLTC based on the reduced leadership modifier due to the elimination/ breaking of a higher-morale Allied leader in their Location.

       A10.7

       A8.1, A10.7, & A25.221

       A10.22 & A10.7

10.71 RALLY: A broken leader may attempt Self-Rally, unless in the same Location [EXC: Passenger/Rider leader as per 10.7 EXC] with another unbroken leader. If more than one unbroken friendly leader is present in a Location, the player may choose which one will influence any Rally attempts in that Location. If the only leader stacked with a broken unit(s) is himself broken, those units may not attempt to rally (barring Self-Rally capability) unless the leader succeeds in rallying himself first. Having rallied himself, the leader may then attempt to rally any remaining broken units in his Location during that RPh.

10.711 VOLUNTARY ROUT: A non-berserk, non-pinned leader already stacked with a broken unit before it routs may elect to rout with the broken unit even though he is not broken. If he does so, the leader shares the broken unit's vulnerability to Interdiction and, although he does not have to take any Interdiction NMC himself, he is eliminated if the broken unit he is stacked on top of fails an Interdiction MC. He must remain with the broken unit throughout the RtPh, but is not considered broken and may add his leadership DRM to its Interdiction NMC. The leader, if already in possession of a SW, may portage it, but cannot improve the broken unit's portage capacity.

       A10.2 & A10.711

       A10.711

10.72 MANDATORY LEADERSHIP: A player cannot decline use of a non-zero (whether positive or negative) leadership modifier in the same Location or moving stack when performing a MC/TC or Rally attempt or Ambush, Concealment, Search Casualties, or Integrity Check dr/DR unless there is another leader present in the Location or moving stack whose leadership modifier he can substitute. However, a player can always opt to exclude leader direction in any attack it makes [EXC: Armor Leader (D3.45); Leader Creation (18.12); MG Mandatory Fire Direction (9.4)].

10.8 FANATICISM: Fanaticism is evoked only by SSR or Battle Hardening to depict particularly heroic or desperate performances in a particular situation. A SMC created from an already Fanatic MMC (15.21, 18.2) is also Fanatic. Any unit classified as Fanatic has both its normal and broken Morale Levels increased by one and is not subject to Cowering, surrendering by the RtPh method (15.5 & 20.21), or PAATC. Fanatic troops are not subject to Disruption, although they can be Reduced/broken normally for all purposes of Unit Substitution (19.13).

       A10.8 & A20.5

       A.18, A7.7, & A10.8

Comprehensive Rout Example

For purposes of this example, no other hexes exist.

Rout Phase Russian Player Turn

Russian Routs (ATTACKER routs first)

The pinned half-squad in P8 Voluntarily Breaks [10.41], which it must declare before any units rout. Before the routs of the non-Disrupted units, the Disrupted squad in Q2 must Surrender to the 4-6-7 in R1 despite having a legal rout path to P2 [19.12]. The Surrender is accepted, and Q2 is replaced by a squad-sized Unarmed MMC which is possessed by the 4-6-7 in R1. If this Surrender were rejected, the Disrupted squad would be eliminated and No Quarter would be invoked for the German side only [20.3].

The broken 4-4-7 on Level 2 of M2 does not have to rout; if it elects to, it could rout to any Location in its building or it could ignore its building entirely [10.51] and rout to M1. Routing to L1 or L0 is illegal because that would entail moving closer to the KEU (Known enemy unit) in J1. If it routed to the ground level of N1, it could not stay there because of the ADJACENT unbroken KEU in O1, and it could not continue on to N2, M1 or M2 because that would be moving closer to the KEUs it remembers seeing in J6, K3, and J1, and so would surrender, or be eliminated for Failure to Rout if No Quarter had been in effect. [errata included] It therefore routs downstairs to the ground level of M2, dropping the HMG in M2 Level 2 because its IPC of 3 is not enough to carry the 5 PP weapon. Either SMC in the Location where the HMG was dropped can immediately attempt to Recover it [4.44]; the Hero does so with a dr of 5. The 9-1 leader could rout with the squad [10.711], but elects to stay with the Hero to help man the HMG.

The broken 4-4-7 in J4 does not have to rout, but chooses to rout to K5 and L4 for 4 MF. Routing to K5 does not bring it closer to either of the KEUs in J6 or K3, and K6 was not Known to J4 at the time it entered K5. It cannot stay there because of the ADJACENT unbroken KEU in K6, but it cannot be Interdicted there because the 4-6-7 is CX [10.532] and K5 has a +1 Height Advantage TEM relative to K3 [10.531]. Even if the German leader in J6 was not Pinned, it could not Interdict by itself because it has no SW, let alone one capable of being fired at full effect by a lone SMC [10.532]. The 7-0 elects to accompany the broken squad throughout its rout using Voluntary Rout [10.711]. The routing units do not have to stay in L4 since that hex is no farther from the KEU in K3 as their original hex, but their only rout options at this point are to move upstairs to Level 1 or continue routing to M5 (which hex cannot be ignored as a rout destination). They elect to move upstairs to L4 Level 1 for their 5th MF and end their rout there.

The broken squad in L8 must rout since it is in the same hex as an unbroken KEU and not in Melee.  It must rout towards building M7 since that building will bring it farther away from all KEUs (in J9, L8 and M9)  [10.51] [errata included]. The first hex it enters while routing cannot be L9 or M8 since that would be moving ADJACENT to the unbroken KEU in M9. It cannot enter K9 from L8 since that would be moving closer to the KEU in J9. Therefore, the first hex it routs through must be K8 or L7. It cannot Low Crawl when leaving an enemy-occupied Location [10.52] and the squad in M9 as well as the AFV MG in L8 can Interdict the rout to either K8 or L7 because the +1 Height Advantage TEM does not apply when the LOS crosses the Crest Line traversed by the moving unit [B10.31]. Therefore, the broken unit cannot rout without being subject to Interdiction and since No Quarter is not in effect, it Surrenders [20.21], and the squad in M9 accepts the Surrender.

The broken 4-4-7 in M5 cannot rout because it is not DM [10.62]. The broken 4-4-7 in N3 becomes DM since it started the RtPh in Open Ground, LOS, and Normal Range of the KEU in O1 and must rout. However, it cannot rout toward any of the KEUs in O1, K3, or P5, so it is Eliminated for Failure to Rout [10.5]. The broken squad in building O5 does not have to rout since it is not ADJACENT to an unbroken KEU; it cannot legally rout toward any of the KEUs it sees in R1, K3, J6, or P5 and so stays in O5. The broken squad in R6 must rout because of the ADJACENT unbroken KEU in S6. Since it is Encircled, it must Surrender to the 4-6-7 in S6 despite having rout paths upstairs to R6 Level 1 or to Q6 [20.21]; its Surrender is accepted.

The HS in P8 (which Voluntarily Broke at the start of the RtPh) must rout since it is ADJACENT to the unbroken KEUs in Q8. It must choose N8 as its destination and routs there via O9, but it cannot stay in N8 because of the KEU in M9. It has enough MF remaining to reach M7, so it must attempt to do so since it is not Low Crawling; it routs to M7 via N7 (since entering M8 would be moving ADJACENT to M9). The broken unit cannot drop the Russian LMG since it is ≤ the HS's IPC.

The broken squad in S3 must rout because of the ADJACENT unbroken KEU in S2. It can ignore S3 Level 1 as a rout destination because it can ignore Locations of the building it starts in (Rowhouse hexes are considered separate buildings for rout purposes [B23.71]). It can also ignore R3 and P2 as being equidistant from the KEU in R1. Able to ignore all rout destinations within 6 MF, the broken unit is free to rout anywhere it can legally reach on the board [10.51]. It elects to rout to R3, expending 3 MF via rowhouse bypass at the S3/R3/S4 vertex. It cannot be interdicted at that vertex because the S4 Grainfield Hindrance negates Open Ground relative to the German units in S5. From R3 it could spend 2 MF to enter the Shell-holes in Q3 and avoid Interdiction from R1, or it could enter Q3 for 1 MF, risking Interdiction without the Shellhole TEM, but able to reach P2 with its last two Movement Factors should it survive the Interdiction Morale Check unpinned. It enters the Shellholes for 2 MF and ends its RtPh there. The enemy units in J6 are not Known to the broken unit in either S3 or R3; otherwise it could not rout to Q3. Even if Grainfields did not exist and the 4-6-7 was in Good Order by itself in S2, the squad could still rout to R3 via the S3/R3/S4 vertex without fear of Surrender because it has the option of routing to the first level of S3.

The broken squad in the R2 Foxhole must rout since it is ADJACENT to the unbroken KEUs in R1 and S2. Its rout options are restricted by not moving closer to the KEUs in J6 and not moving ADJACENT to the KEU in S2; its only rout option is to enter R3 for 3 MF (1 MF to exit the Foxhole plus 2 MF to enter R3). It could move upstairs to Level 1 but declines. It cannot be Interdicted as it exits the foxhole because (unlike in MPh/APh) it combines that MF expenditure with the cost of entering R3, which is not Open Ground [B27.41]. It could conceivably ignore R3 as a rout destination because that hex is equidistant from the KEUs in J6, but once it enters R3, it gains LOS to the KEUs in S5 and cannot continue its rout toward R5. It also cannot continue its rout into Q4 because that would entail moving closer to the enemy units it remembers seeing in J6, even though J6 is not in its current LOS.

The broken squad in S2 must rout because of the unbroken KEU in its own Location. Its only option is to enter S3 and move upstairs to Level 1 since it cannot remain ADJACENT to the unbroken KEU in S2 (whose CC counter is removed once the broken unit leaves its Location). It cannot use Rowhouse Bypass to enter R3 because that would entail moving closer to the KEUs it remembers seeing in J6.

The broken squad in R8 cannot rout because broken units cannot rout out of Melee; it must attempt to Withdraw from Melee in the upcoming CCPh [11.16].

If No Quarter were in effect for the Germans, the broken squad in R6 would not Surrender and would rout to either Q6 or upstairs to R6 Level 1. The broken squad in L8 would rout to L7 and suffer Interdiction there and any survivors would be unable to rout further without moving closer to the KEUs in K6 and Q8; unable to rout away from the ADJACENT unbroken KEU in L8, the broken unit would be Eliminated for Failure to Rout. The Disrupted squad in Q2 could rout to P1 (where it would then be Eliminated for Failure to Rout) or to P2 and then stop upon seeing the KEUs in J6. The other Russian routs would be unaffected.

German Routs

 

No German unit elects to use Voluntary Break. The broken squad in J1 must rout because of the ADJACENT, unbroken KEU in K1, but cannot rout to J2 because that would be moving closer to the KEUs which routed to the upper level of L4; it therefore surrenders to K1, dropping its LMG in J1 before doing so. The Guarding squad may immediately Deploy [20.5] despite being Russian [25.2]. The broken passenger in K3 does not have to rout (even if its vehicle were ADJACENT to a KEU); if it were to rout, it would be placed underneath the vehicle and end the RtPh there [D5.311].

The broken units in J6 must rout because they are in Open Ground, LOS, and Normal Range of the two SMCs manning the HMG in M2 Level 2. If the HMG were manned by just one SMC it would still force this rout but would not be able to Interdict [10.532], The unbroken leader may not rout with the broken units because he is Pinned [10.711]; he would have had to use Voluntary Break in order to do so [10.41]. The routing units' only valid rout destinations are L9 and M9; they choose M9. They could Low Crawl to J7 on their way to M9 and end their routs there without being Interdicted by the Russian HMG, or they could attempt to reach M9 by risking Interdiction in J7. They must rout one at a time [10.5]. The first broken squad decides not to Low Crawl and is Pinned in J7 when it rolls a 7 on its Interdiction MC and ends its rout there. The second squad also risks Interdiction in J7, rolls an 11 on the Interdiction MC and is Casualty Reduced (Unit Substitution caused by failing ELR does not apply to broken units, [19.11]). This HS continues its rout to K8, L8 (no Interdiction from the squad in M7 because the +1 AFV TEM negates Open Ground) and finally M9. The broken HS Low Crawls to J7 and ends its RtPh there without Interdiction [10.52].

The broken squad in P5 is not required to rout since it is not ADJACENT to an unbroken KEU. If it routs, it must choose Q5 or P6 as its destination since those hexes only cost 2 MF as opposed to 3 MF for Q6; once in Q5 it could continue on to Q6 or Q7 if so desired, or from P6 it could go to Q6. It could even attempt to enter R5 and strip the concealment of the Russian unit there (12.15) but would then be forced to end its rout in the last hex occupied before R5, where it would be eliminated for ending the RtPh ADJACENT to an unbroken KEU [10.533]. It therefore routs to P6 and stops. If there were a Good Order KEU in Q6, the squad would Surrender to it.

The broken squad in S5 (despite being DM) is not required to rout since it is not ADJACENT to an unbroken KEU. If it wanted to rout, it could not rout closer to the KEUs it sees in R3 and R8. If the 4-4-7 in R5 were to voluntarily drop its concealment or have it stripped by the squad routing from P5, the squad in S5 would then have no rout options and would be forced to Surrender to the 4-4-7 in R5.

If No Quarter were in effect for the Russians, the squad in J1 (and the one in S5, were the 4-4-7 in R5 to lose concealment) would be eliminated for Failure to Rout, and the other German routs would be unaffected.