Please enable JavaScript to view this site.

Advanced Squad Leader Rulebook Updated and Erraticized

Navigation: Chapter A. Infantry & Basic Game Rules

A22 Flamethrowers & Molotov Cocktails

Scroll Prev Top Next More

22. FLAMETHROWERS & MOLOTOV COCKTAILS

22.1 FP MODIFICATION: A FT counter is an Infantry SW with a Normal Range of one hex and a FP factor of 24. A FT may attack at Long Range (two hexes) with 12 FP, but is never increased for PBF/TPBF. Long Range Fire for a FT (even vehicular FT) is always limited to one hex beyond its Normal Range. FT FP is affected by LOS Hindrances and is halved for all forms of Area Fire (but not for use in the AFPh) and is reduced by cowering (7.9), but is never increased for any reason. Some vehicular FT (D1.8) have a Normal Range of 2 (signified by the FP factor being underscored).

22.2 DRM: FT attacks vs non-Armored units are resolved on the IFT but receive no DRM due to leadership/heroism or defender's TEM except for non-CA attacks on a pillbox (B30.113). LOS Hindrances and the +1 DRM for CX usage apply to IFT attacks.

       A22.2

22.3 USAGE: Non-elite Personnel must use the captured SW X# penalty (21.11) when firing a FT. That penalty is doubled if firing a captured FT. A unit may only use one FT/DC in a Player Turn. A squad attacking with a FT may use its Inherent FP in a separate attack.

       A23.3, B26. & B30.

22.31 FG: A FT may not combine FP with any other unit/weapon—including the unit firing it or even another FT [EXC: OVR; D7.11].

22.32 LINE OF FIRE (LOF): Infantry FT seldom had a range in excess of 40 meters; therefore, use at long range required use of "looping" fire similar to (but not counted as) Indirect Fire (i.e., all FT fire is considered Direct Fire) to extend its range. Consequently, a FT cannot apply both its Normal and Long Range FP, and cannot attack at Long Range if the LOS is obstructed. Otherwise, a FT can attack either an adjacent hex at full FP or a Location two hexes away with Long Range Fire. A vehicular FT with a Normal Range of two hexes can attack either an adjacent hex or one two hexes away with full FP, or one three hexes away with halved (Long Range) FP. No FT may attack more than one Location at a time. A FT may never fire at a target > two levels higher/lower than its own elevation. A FT which fires at an unarmored target two levels higher/lower than its own elevation uses 12 FP at normal range and 6 FP at long range.

       A22.32

       A22.32 & D3.6

22.33 RESTRICTIONS: A FT cannot be used to fire at descending paratroops. A pinned unit cannot use a FT.

22.34 vs AFV: A FT attack against an AFV is resolved on the C7.34 HE & Flame To Kill Table, but only if the AFV is predesignated as the main target. If the AFV is not destroyed, its Vulnerable PRC are still subject to a Specific Collateral attack (D.8). AF do not affect a FT attack, but the FT's Basic TK# is halved at Long Range. The FT's Basic TK# is increased by one if the target AFV is CE, and by two if OT (or by three if both CE and OT).

       A22.34 & C3.9

22.35 vs TERRAIN: Under certain conditions a FT may create a Flame in the target hex (B25.12).

22.4 VULNERABILITY: Any Personnel unit possessing a FT must deduct one (per FT possessed) from the IFT resolution DR of any attack (including ordnance hits) against it. The PRC of a vehicle equipped with a FT are not penalized by the presence of that vehicular FT, or by transporting an otherwise unpossessed FT SW.

22.5 MALFUNCTION: If the Original resolution DR for any FT attack by Infantry is ≥ 10, that FT has run out of fuel and is removed from play after resolving that attack.

22.6 MOLOTOV COCKTAILS (MOL): MOL28 are available only when specified by SSR or DYO purchase.

       A20.5, A20.551, A22.6, C13.3, & C13.7

22.61 AVAILABILITY: A MOL is not represented by a counter, but is considered an inherent SW of any Personnel unit. A MOL can be used at the option of any unpinned, Good Order (or Berserk) Personnel unit as a SW in one of three ways. It cannot be used in CC.

22.611 vs UNARMORED TARGETS: Any Personnel unit may make a MOL Check dr after declaring a PBF/TPBF attack but prior to resolving it, provided the attack is not through an orchard or woods hexside (i.e., a hexside shared by two orchard hexes or by two connected woods hexes) [EXC: across a road hexside vs unit on the road]. Using a MOL in a PBF/TPBF attack entitles the firer to add four FP to that attack, even if it occurs as part of a Final Fire or TPBF attack. The MOL 4 FP bonus is always added after any modification of FP; i.e., it is not subject to modification. In order to have a MOL and be in position to use it, a unit must roll a 1-3 on a MOL Check dr (∆). There is a +1 drm if the unit is a HS/crew and a +2 drm if the unit is a SMC. There is also a cumulative +1 drm to the MOL Check dr (∆) if it is being used by a CX unit, or vs a non-AFV. A MOL Check dr can be made in neither Subsequent First Fire nor FPF, nor in both Defensive First Fire and later in Final Fire whether MOL were actually used in First Fire or not. A unit taking a MOL Check must declare any FG it will be part of, as well as its target, prior to making the MOL Check dr. The declared FG must immediately attack the announced target even if the MOL Check dr is not passed. A FG may make only one MOL Check dr per attack. A MOL Check dr counts as use of a SW, so a HS/crew which fails a MOL Check dr may not attack at all because it has exhausted its only attack opportunity for that Player Turn (7.352-.353); this would not negate any FG including it, however. A squad which makes a MOL Check dr may not fire any other SW and must add its inherent FP to the attack (See Mandatory FG; 7.55). A SMC may attack alone with a MOL without combining into a FG.

22.6111 There are several possible consequences to a MOL attack. If the Original colored dr of the IFT DR is a 6, the unit using the MOL is broken (only one unit if being used by a FG) and both the FP of the unit and the MOL it contributed to the attack are voided, and a Flame is placed in the thrower's Location. The breaking of the unit does not void its FG. If the Original colored dr of the IFT DR is a 1, a Flame is placed in the target Location. In both cases, the Flame is placed only if the Location contains Burnable Terrain. If the Location containing the Flame is a Fortified Building or a non-building Location subject to adverse weather, the EC drm must also be consulted to determine if the Flame is placed. For purposes of Flame determination only, the white dr of the MOL attack DR is modified by -1 if in a Fortified Building (B23.94) or by the appropriate EC DRM (B25.5) for adverse weather; a Flame is placed only if the Final white dr is ≥ 1.

EX: Assume a squad makes a MOL attack vs a unit in a woods hex during Wet EC. The MOL attack DR is a 3 with a 1 on the colored dr. Normally, the 1 colored dr would create a Flame in the woods hex, but because EC are Wet there is a -2 drm to the white dr for Flame Determination purposes so no Flame is placed (2 [white dr] -2 [Wet drm] = 0 which is not ≥ 1).

       A15.42 & A22.6111

22.612 vs ARMORED TARGETS: Use of a MOL against armored targets is identical to 22.611-.6111 except as follows; The AFV must be predesignated as the specific target. If the MOL Check dr is successful, the ensuing Small Arms—MOL attack is resolved vs the AFV by means of a To Kill DR on the MOL column of the C7.34 HE & Flame To Kill Table. This same DR also serves as a Specific Collateral Attack (using both the Small Arms FP and the MOL's 4 FP) vs the AFV's Vulnerable PRC, and as a normal IFT attack (using only the Small Arms FP) vs all other non-armored units in the AFV's Location. If the MOL Check dr is not successful, the IFT attack (minus the MOL 4 FP bonus) is carried out against all non-armored units in that Location. The AFV is turned into a burning wreck by a To Kill DR < the AFV Final TK#, and eliminated (with PRC Survival possibilities) by a To Kill DR equal to the Final TK#. There is no armor modification; however, the AFV's Basic TK# is modified by +2 for an OT AFV or by +1 for a CE AFV (unlike a FT attack where both OT and CE modifiers can apply, only one of the two can apply to a MOL attack). A MOL's Basic TK# is reduced by two vs a Non-Stopped/{J10}moving vehicle (C.8). See also C7.344. When attacking from the same hex, a MOL is assumed to have scored a rear hit; otherwise the Target Facing determines the facing hit. The Rear Armor and Elevation Advantage To Kill Modifications (Cases A and B; C7.21-.22) can apply to a MOL attack vs an AFV.

       A22.612

       A7.4 & A22.612

       A15.46 & A22.612

22.613 vs TERRAIN: Any Infantry unit with a MOL (ascertained by making the MOL Check dr of 22.611) may add +2 to its Kindling Attempt DR (B25.11). Unlike the other uses of a MOL, the user is in no jeopardy of breaking for using it to enhance his Kindling Attempt DR.

22.62 LEADERSHIP: Leadership modifiers do not apply to a MOL To Kill DR, or to the MOL Check dr, but do apply to any FG attack containing more than four FP factors from a MOL.

EX: It is moderate weather and a 3-3-7 Partisan squad occupies 3X8 and during its PFPh opts to attack a 4-6-7 squad in W9 with a MOL. The Partisan rolls ≤ 2 on its MOL Check dr, so the MOL FP bonus applies. The attack uses the 8 FP column of the IFT (3 FP X 2 [PBF] = 6 FP + 4 FP bonus = 10). The Original IFT DR is a 7 (1 on the colored dr), modified to an 8 by the +1 TEM of the woods, resulting in a "NMC" against the 4-6-7 and a Flame in W9. Had his 7 IFT DR contained a 6 colored dr, the attack would have been canceled because the Partisan squad would have broken, and a Flame would be placed in its hex. The Partisan squad could not use its MOL against hex X9 had there been a target there because the X8-X9 hexside is a woods hexside.

Now assume that the 4-6-7 squad is berserk and charges the Partisan squad in the next Player Turn by entering X8 during its MPh. The Partisan squad attacks the 4-6-7 in its own hex using Defensive First Fire. Assuming it opts to use a MOL attack and that it passes its MOL Check dr by rolling a 1 or 2, it will have a 12 FP attack without modification (3 FP X 3 [TPBF] = 9 + 4 FP [MOL bonus] = 13 FP; +1 DRM [woods TEM] -1 [FFNAM] = 0 DRM). A Flame will be placed in X8 if the colored dr of the IFT DR is either a 1 or 6 since both firer and target are in the same hex.

Assume the Partisan squad attempts a PFPh MOL attack on the halftrack and 4-6-8 in Y9. It specifies the halftrack as its primary target, passes its MOL Check dr, and makes an Original DR of 7 (2 on the colored dr). There is a +2 modifier to the Basic To Kill Number on Table C7.34 because the halftrack is OT, resulting in a Final To Kill Number of 8—so the AFV is eliminated as a burning wreck. The 4-6-8 squad is attacked on the IFT with 6 FP (PBF) and a +1 DRM (AFV) resulting in a PTC. A 6 on the colored dr would have negated the attack, broken the squad, and placed a Flame in X8. Now assume the Partisan had failed the MOL Check dr. Its attack would be limited to a 6 FP (PBF) attack on the IFT vs both the Vulnerable CE crew of the halftrack and the 4-6-8.

Finally, assume that a Partisan leader is directing the squad in a PFPh Kindling Attempt (B25.11). If the squad passes its MOL Check dr by rolling ≤ 2, it may add +2 to its Kindling Attempt DR. If it fails its MOL Check, it may still make a Kindling Attempt (as could a HS/crew) but with no DRM.