Please enable JavaScript to view this site.

Advanced Squad Leader Rulebook Updated and Erraticized

23. DEMOLITION CHARGES

23.1 A DC is a SW which explodes in the target Location with 30 FP factors on the IFT [EXC: Set DC; 23.7]. It is not subject to FP modification for PBF/TPBF, use in the AFPh, or for any form of Area Fire other than concealment at the time the DC is Thrown/operably-Placed (or detonated if Set). Concealment-caused Area Fire does not apply when determining the possibility of Rubble Creation (B24.11). A DC attack may not combine FP with any other unit. The defender's (or thrower's) TEM (not LOS Hindrances) applies to the resolution of the attack [EXC: hexside TEM is NA if DC Placed/Set] but leadership modifiers do not.

       A23.1 & B23.741

23.2 USAGE: Non-elite Personnel must use the captured SW X# penalty (21.11) to attack with a DC. The penalty is doubled if attacking with a captured DC. A squad attacking with a DC may use its inherent FP, but only in the same phase during which the DC explodes.

       A23.2 & A23.7

23.3 PLACEMENT: A DC is Placed on an ADJACENT target Location during the MPh by a carrying Infantry unit expending extra MF (in the hex the DC is Placed from) equal to the number of MF it would require that unit to directly enter that target Location were it to do so during that MPh without Bypass (see Wire; B26.45). The act of Placing the DC is considered movement expended in the Placement Hex (the Location occupied by the Placing unit—not the Location in which the DC is actually Placed) and therefore a unit could conceivably remain entrenched the entire time, but cannot Place a DC if it fired during the PFPh or was pinned prior to Placement during that MPh. Furthermore, if an enemy AFV occupies the target Location, most Placing units must pass a PAATC (11.6) in order to Place the DC. Should the Placing unit survive (unbroken and unpinned, even if newly berserk) all enemy Defensive First Fire, Subsequent First Fire, and FPF in the Placement Hex (including any resulting from the expenditure of MF in the Placement of that DC), the weapon is considered operably Placed. Thereafter, the Placing unit may move away or suffer adverse results with no effect to the DC. However, if the Placing unit is broken, pinned, or eliminated before or during Placement, the DC is not operably Placed, remains with the Placing unit (or in the Placing unit's Location if the unit is eliminated), and may not attack—although it is still usable for future Recovery/Placement attempts. A unit may not Place (or Throw; 23.6) a DC to an adjacent Location out of its LOS (7.21) [EXC: Cave; G11.8331].

EX: A squad in 1Y7 moves to Y6 and places its DC in building Location X5 by expending two additional MF in Y6. If it is neither broken, pinned, nor eliminated by Defensive First Fire up to this point, the DC is operably Placed. Assuming the squad did not Assault Move, it may use its last MF to move away. It would have to use Double Time or be accompanied by a leader to have sufficient MF to reenter its original building hex Y7. The squad cannot place the DC in the first level of building X5 from Y6 even if it had three MF remaining because it could not move directly from Y6 to the first level of X5; the Placement hex must be the ground level of X5 instead.

The DC will attack the 5-2-7 in X5 in the AFPh with 30 FP and +3 Stone Building TEM, even if the 4-6-7 declares Double Time after Placing the DC. If the 4-6-7 were CX when it Placed the DC, there would be an additional +1 DRM to the attack. If the 5-2-7 were concealed when the DC was operably placed, the attack would be halved for Area Fire to 15 FP (the 12 FP column). If the ground level of X5 were Fortified, the attack would suffer an additional +1 TEM. Furthermore, the 4-6-7 could instead attempt to breach the X5-Y6 hexside of the Fortified Building Location (B23.9221 and B23.711); normal FP applies to the Breach attempt and Area Fire to the attack vs the 5-2-7, with Fortified Building TEM applying to them both. A NMC result on the Breach attempt (30 FP with +4 TEM) Breaches the building hexside. An Original DR of 9 would be just enough to create a Breach but the 12 FP attack vs the 5-2-7 would have no effect. If the 5-2-7 were concealed when the DC was operably Placed, the Breach attempt would be unaffected but the resulting attack vs the 5-2-7 would be halved again to 7.5 FP (6 FP column). If the unconcealed 5-2-7 were merely not Known to the 4-6-7 (e.g., due to +3 Smoke DRM in both Locations [still ADJACENT] or if the Breach attempt were against a Rowhouse black bar hexside instead), the Area Fire attack vs the 5-2-7 would not be halved again.

       A23.3 & B28.41

       A23.3, B23.711, & B23.9221

       A23.3 & B30.4

       A23.3 & B28.41

       A23.3 & A23.6

       A23.3 & B23.71

       A4.12, A12.121, & A23.3

       A7.7 & A23.3

23.4 DETONATION: If the Placing/Throwing unit is CX, the +1 DRM for a CX attack is applied to the Attack Resolution DR (or Position DR; C7.346). A DC operably Placed during the MPh detonates during the AFPh on any Original DR < 12 (or 10 for a captured DC) and is removed from play. An Original malfunction DR of 12 (or ≥ 10 if captured) for a Placed/Thrown DC attack on the IFT also removes it from play, but without detonation [EXC: a Thrown DC still detonates if the second DR is 12 (or ≥ 10 if captured)].

       A23.4 & O11.6134

23.41 vs TERRAIN: Under certain conditions a DC may create a Flame in the target Location (B25.13) and/or cause a Building to rubble (B24.11).

       A23.41, A23.6 & B24.11

23.5 vs AFV: In order for a DC attack (as with any ordnance Direct Fire vs a Location containing an AFV in combination with unarmored targets) to affect an AFV, it must be predesignated as being made against the AFV. A DC can affect an AFV only if it is the primary target of that DC attack. If the attacker chooses to attack the AFV, he does so on the C7.34 HE & Flame To Kill Table using the DC column—but only after a special DC Position DR (C7.346). A DC Placed/Thrown from within the same hex attacks the Rear Target Facing of an AFV. Otherwise, the Target Facing of the AFV is based on the hexside through which the DC was Placed/Thrown, even if the AFV changes its CA prior to the detonation of the DC in the AFPh.

       A23.5, C7.346 & D2.401

       A23.5 & C7.346

       A23.5, C7.346, & D.8

23.6 THROWN DC: A DC may be Thrown (thereby constituting use of a SW; 7.35) into an ADJACENT Location in its LOS—including down to the next lower level of the thrower's hex via a stairwell—or down (e.g., from an upper-level building Location or across a cliff hexside) to the ground-level, in-LOS Location of an adjacent hex, or to the ground level of a non-Interior Building hex from a higher level Location of that hex (even though there may be intervening building levels) by any unpinned, Good Order (or berserk) Personnel capable of SW use during any friendly fire phase (or Defensive First Fire) instead of Placed during the owner's MPh. However, a Thrown DC is less accurate than a Placed DC and may not be Thrown to a full-level higher elevation. A Thrown DC must add an additional +2 DRM (+3 if Thrown from a non-Stopped/Motion vehicle or by Cavalry) to the attack resolution [EXC: vs an AFV the +2/+3 DRM applies to the DC Position DR instead; C7.346] in the target Location, and is resolved immediately on the 30 FP column. Since the Throwing range of a DC is less than its blast radius (and since a wide variety of results can occur—including the target tossing it back), both the target's and thrower's Locations are immediately attacked by the DC; the Thrower's Location receives a +3 DRM (+4 if Thrown from a non-stopped/Motion vehicle/Cavalry) [EXC: If a DC is Thrown from an elevation two or more levels higher than the target, the Throwing level is not affected by the DC unless it rubbles the lower level (B24.11)]. A separate DR is used to resolve the attack of a Thrown DC on each Location. A DC Thrown from an AFV does not affect it, but does attack any Vulnerable PRC of that AFV.

       A23.6 & D15.6

       A8.1, A8.2 & A23.6

       A23.41, A23.6 & B24.11

       A8.1, A8.2, & A23.6

       A8.2, A8.26, & A23.6

       A23.3 & A23.6

       A15.431, A23.6, A23.61, & G1.612

23.61 A DC may not be Thrown to, or Placed in, the same Location occupied by the unit possessing it—unless the unit is Japanese or the target is a vehicle in Bypass in the same Location as the Placing/Throwing unit, in such cases, the Placement cost is always one MF; the DRM for a Thrown DC remains the same.

       A15.431, A23.6, A23.61, & G1.612

23.62 AFPh: A DC Thrown in the AFPh incurs an additional +1 DRM to the IFT DR vs both the target and the Throwing Locations unless thrown by an Opportunity Firer. A DC Thrown at an AFV in the AFPh suffers a +1 Position DRM instead.

23.63 FINAL FIRE: A DEFENDING Unit already marked by a First Fire counter may not throw a DC (nor can it do so during Subsequent First Fire or FPF; 8.3-.31).

23.7 SET DEMOLITION: A DC which is neither Placed nor Thrown is considered a Set DC and has special advantages and requirements. A Set DC is one which has been Set prior to play by SSR, or which was Set and declared during play by an Infantry unit which spent all of its MF (using Hazardous Movement) to Set the DC in its Location during its MPh and made a dr ≤ its US# (subject to leadership drm by any leader assisting the unit to Set the DC) without being pinned or broken. A Set DC may be detonated using the 36+ IFT column during any friendly fire phase in a subsequent Player Turn by that Good Order unit (or one of its derivative HS, if a squad which has been Reduced or Deployed), provided it is within six hexes and LOS of the DC (but at least two hexes away), and passes a NTC. A Set DC malfunctions on an IFT DR of 12, but there is a +1 DRM to this DR, for malfunction (only) purposes for each enemy Infantry unit currently in the Location.

       A4.62, A23.7, B8.3, B21.41, B23.41, B24.7 & C10.3

       A23.2 & A23.7

       A7.212, 7.35, & A23.7

       A23.7 & G1.6121

23.71 A detonated Set DC is resolved on the 36+ FP column of the IFT (or with 18 FP [the 16 FP column] vs concealed units) with a -3 DRM and no TEM including vs the vulnerable PRC of an AFV (with +2 CE DRM). A Final KIA result on a Set DC attack results in the destruction of any bridge or affected building level in that hex (see Rubble, B24.11). When a multi-hex bridge is the target of a Set DC, a number of spans are eliminated equal to the KIA#. A Set DC is the only weapon which can destroy more than one bridge counter in this fashion. Each span to be eliminated must in turn be as close to the original DC as possible with ties resolved by the owner of the DC. A Set DC which detonates without destroying a bridge hex has no effect on units on or beneath the bridge.

23.72 SET DC CLEARANCE: A Set DC is removed due to a malfunction result (as per 23.7) or by Set DC Clearance (B24.75) but cannot be Recovered (4.44). Searching will reveal, and Random SW Destruction will eliminate, a hidden Set DC. See G1.6121 for A-T Set DC.