Please enable JavaScript to view this site.

Advanced Squad Leader Rulebook Updated and Erraticized

26. VICTORY CONDITIONS

26.1 CONTROL VICTORY CONDITIONS: Control of Locations, hexes, or buildings often determines scenario Victory Conditions. Control of Locations/hexes/buildings is accomplished by gaining Control of them at scenario start and/or during the game.

Once Control of a Location/hex/building has been gained, that side retains Control of it (even if the circumstances that allowed the side to gain Control no longer apply [EXC: 26.12]) until the opponent actively gains Control of it.

26.11 GAINING CONTROL: At scenario start a side gains Control of all Locations/hexes/buildings within its set-up area [EXC: if within both sides' set-up areas], as well as all Locations/hexes/buildings on a board if that side is the only side which may set up on that board at scenario start.

During play, a side gains Control of a Location/hex/building by occupying it with an armed Good Order Infantry MMC without the presence of an armed enemy ground unit [EXC: subterranean units] in that same Location/hex/building (see also 26.13-.14 for hex/building Control). Control can be gained during the act of movement; a unit need not end a phase (or even survive Defensive First Fire) in the Location/hex/building to gain Control of it. However, Control cannot be gained via Bypass.

A vehicle (or its PRC) can never gain Control of a building, but may gain Control of its Location/hex as per 26.12. A non-bypassing armed vehicle (or armed PRC) prevents the opponent from gaining Control of the Location/hex/building it occupies. An armed vehicle in bypass of a building prevents the opponent from gaining Control of the Location/ hex, but not from gaining Control of the building.

After successfully securing a building by Mopping Up (12.153), a player gains Control of the building and all its hexes and Locations [EXC: any Location/hex containing an armed enemy vehicle (including armed PRC) in bypass]. See G11.94 for Control of caves.

       A11.2 & A26.11

       A8.15 & A26.11

       A26.11 & A26.13

26.12 VEHICULAR CONTROL: An armed, non-bypassing vehicle temporarily gains Control of the Location it presently occupies if that Location is devoid of armed enemy units. Control immediately reverts to its prior status (either un-Controlled or enemy-Controlled) if the vehicle leaves the Location. A vehicle which Controls the only Location in a hex also Controls that hex.

EX: The unoccupied bridge hex and bridge Location at 13CC5 are both Controlled by the Russians. A PzIIIG enters the bridge, and temporarily gains Control of the bridge Location—but not the hex. If a 4-5-8 advances in with the AFV, the German player still Controls the bridge Location. As soon as the PzIIIG leaves the bridge the Russian player immediately reclaims Control of the bridge Location, regardless of the presence of any Russian units.

26.13 HEX CONTROL: Only a Good Order Infantry MMC at ground level can gain Control of the hex it occupies [EXC: Mopping Up (12.153); Bridge hex (B6.); a vehicle Controlling the only Location within the hex (26.12)].

       A26.11 & A26.13

26.131 BRIDGE HEX: A Good Order Infantry MMC in either the Bridge Location or the Depression Location of a bridge hex can gain Control of the hex.

26.132 PILLBOX HEX: Control of a pillbox hex is gained by Controlling the pillbox Location and occupying the hex with an armed Good Order Infantry MMC while the hex is devoid of armed enemy ground units (B30.91).

26.14 BUILDING CONTROL: An armed, Good Order Infantry MMC at any non-rooftop, non-subterranean level in any hex of a building can gain Control of the building; a side need not physically occupy all levels or all hexes of a building to gain Control of it as long as the conditions of 26.11 are fulfilled. The different hexes of a Rowhouse structure (B23.71) are considered one building for building Control purposes.

26.15 CONCEALMENT: Dummy units cannot gain Control, but a concealed stack containing real units may if otherwise able to. Likewise, a dummy unit cannot prevent the opponent from gaining Control, but a concealed or HIP armed unit can. In all cases, control of a Location/hex/building by a concealed or HIP armed unit need not be declared until game end. Control of a Location/hex/building may be verified by Searching, Mopping Up, or physically occupying (at the start of the CCPh if G.4 applies) all Locations of the building/hex, but there is no requirement to do so.

EX: Building 22U3 is Controlled (as are its three hexes and six Locations) by the German player. During the Russian MPh, a 4-4-7 enters the ground level of V2 and immediately gains Control of the building, hex V2, and the ground level Location of V2. It continues to the upper level of V2, gaining Control of this Location, then moves to the upper level of V3. In V3 it gains Control of the upper level Location, but not of the hex since it must occupy the ground level Location of a hex to gain Control (26.13). Based on the MF expenditure for entering V3, the 8-3-8 fires and breaks the 4-4-7, but this has no effect on Control since the 4-4-7 was in Good Order when it entered the Location. During the RtPh, the 4-4-7 routs back to the upper level of V2. In the next German MPh, the concealed 5-4-8 enters the ground level of V3. The German player already Controls the ground level Location and hex, but if he didn't, he would gain Control of them now. He does not gain Control of the building since the broken 4-4-7 is still an armed enemy unit and thus prevents the German player from gaining Control. The 5-4-8 continues to the ground level of V2, gaining Control of that Location (although this Control by a concealed unit need not be declared at this time), but not of the hex due to the 4-4-7 in the upper level. If the 4-4-7 is eliminated, the German player would then immediately gain Control of the building and hex V2. At that point, the Russian would Control the upper level Locations of V2 and V3, while the German player would Control the building, all its hexes, and all other Locations. If the building hexes were separated by black Rowhouse bars, Control of the Locations/hexes/building would still be as described above (although certain movement possibilities would be precluded).

If the 5-4-8 Mopped Up the non-Rowhouse building 22U3, the 4-4-7 (if still alive) would Surrender, and the German player would Control all Locations, all hexes, and the building. If building 22U3 were a Rowhouse which the 5-4-8 Mopped Up, however, the 4-4-7 (being in the same hex with the 5-4-8) would still Surrender, and the German player would still gain Control of the building and (by virtue of Mopping Up) the upper level Location of V2, but the upper level Location of V3 would remain under Russian Control (since Rowhouses are treated separately for Mopping Up—B23.71).

26.16 CONTROL FORFEITURE: A player forfeits to his opponent Control of any Location/hex/building which he has deliberately set on fire by Kindling (B25.11)—even if that Fire (i.e., Flame or Blaze) spread from elsewhere. If, due to a Fire deliberately Kindled by a player, parts of the playing area become totally unenterable by armed enemy ground units, the opponent immediately gains Control of every Location/hex/ building completely within that area, even if the area is unenterable partly by other causes (e.g., Rubble, non-Kindled Blazes, etc.). A player gaining Control due to a deliberately-started Fire does so even if he has no units in the area and regardless of the presence of enemy units. A player who forfeits Control in this manner may not regain Control until the Fire causing forfeiture is extinguished, or the Fire is later considered to have been accidentally started because Fire started by both sides has become joined (26.162).

       A26.16 & O11.609

26.161 A player is not held responsible for Fires started randomly while firing (e.g., with HE, FT, MOL, WP, or vs Huts [G5.6] or by causing a Burning Wreck), or for Fires existing at the start of play. An accidentally-started Flame counter does not affect Control in any way, but such Blaze counters may: if the ground level Location(s) of one or more adjacent hexes are unenterable by both sides because of such Blaze counter(s), the side that Controls a majority of hexes adjacent to this area also gains Control of all hexes of this area. Any Location that is unenterable due to such a Blaze or Rubble is Controlled by the side Controlling its hex. Control of a building that is unenterable due to such a Blaze is gained by the side Controlling all of the building hexes per the first part of this rule. The Locations/hexes/buildings must be unenterable by all Ground units of both sides for this rule to apply.

26.162 If a hex or a chain of adjacent hexes contains Fire (i.e., Flame/ Blaze) deliberately started by both players, the Fire is considered accidentally started and 26.161 applies. If a hex or a chain of adjacent hexes contains Fire accidentally started (26.161) and Fire deliberately started by one player, all that Fire is considered deliberately started by that player.

EX: Blazes that started accidentally are in the ground level of 1F3 and G3 and in the 1st level of G3 and G4. Due to the Blazes, all Locations of F3 and G3 as well as the upper level Locations of G4 and E4 are unenterable. Before the Blazes were placed, the German player had gained Control of the building and its hexes/Locations. The German player retains Control of hex F3 and G3 until the Russian player gains control of the majority of the eight adjacent hexes, but as soon as that happens the Russian player gains Control of hexes F3 and G3 as well as all Locations of those hexes (since all the Locations are unenterable). The Russian player would then retain Control of F3 and G3 until the German player gains Control of a majority of the eight adjacent hexes. Control of hexes G4 and E4 is gained normally since the ground level Locations can be entered, while the level one and level two Locations (which are unenterable) are Controlled by the side controlling the hex.

If the Blazes were instead a result of a Kindling by the German side, the Russian player would automatically gain Control of: all Locations that contained a Flame/Blaze counter and all Locations unenterable due to those Fire counters (i.e., all Locations except the ground level of G4 and E4); all three hexes containing a Flame/Blaze counter; and the building (since it contains a Flame/Blaze counter). This is still true if the Flames/Blazes in the building were a result of spreading Fire and not a direct result of Kindling, as long as the original Fire source was created by Kindling.

26.2 VICTORY POINTS: A26.2-.23 Victory Points (VP) Victory Conditions are often decided on the basis of points awarded for the elimination, capture, or exit of units/equipment. These points are termed VP (Victory Points).

26.21 VICTORY POINT VALUE: The total VP value of a side's OB may be altered during play due to circumstances other than elimination/capture/exit (e.g., Leader Creation, a leader being Replaced, malfunction of MA, etc.); the VP value of such units/equipment are awarded normally according to their new VP value if eliminated/captured/exited thereafter.

       A20.5, A26.21, & A26.222

26.211 INFANTRY & PRC: Each squad or crew is worth two VP [EXC: a LC crew is worth one VP; G12.114]. Each HS is worth one VP. A leader (including armor leader) is worth one VP plus one VP for each negative leadership modifier it possesses (a leader with a zero or positive leadership modifier is worth one VP); a wounded leader is worth full VP as if unwounded [EXC: Japanese leaders; G1.65]. A Hero is worth one VP, but only for exit VP purposes in a Seaborne Evacuation (G14.42).

       A26.211 & A26.23

26.212 VEHICLES & EQUIPMENT: Each aircraft [EXC: Gliders] and non-vehicular Gun (even if dismantled) is worth two VP. Each vehicle (including Wagon/ Sledge, but excluding motorcycle/Goliath/Boat/Glider) is worth one VP plus: one VP for a MA which is not malfunctioned/disabled; one VP for every multiple of five AF (FRU; a 0 AF is worth one VP) based on the AFV's single strongest AF (VP for any PRC are determined as per 26.211). See G12.84 for the VP value of LC and F.3 for the VP value of Guns/vehicles in desert scenarios.

EX: Russian vehicle VP values (assuming an inherent crew and no armor-leader/other-PRC): a T-70 is worth six points, a KV-1E seven points, a T-37 five points, an IS-3 ten points, an unarmed truck or a Wagon/Sledge one point (no crew), and an IAG-10-AA is worth four points.

       A9.8 & A26.212

26.213 All SMC/MMC/Guns are worth the same amount of VP regardless of whether they are in counter form or inherently present in any way [EXC: Carrier HS are worth two VP when inherently present in a Carrier (D6.82); Guns are worth one VP when MA of a vehicle (26.212)].

26.22 CASUALTY VICTORY POINTS: Whenever a scenario uses Casualty Victory Points (CVP), each player receives CVP for eliminated/captured enemy units/equipment, and should keep a side record of his CVP by simply recording an appropriate number of slash marks as each piece is removed from play or by appropriately moving his VP marker along the Victory Point Track of the Scenario Aid Card.

26.221 A player receives CVP equal to the VP value for all enemy units/equipment that are eliminated. Units/equipment that leave the mapboard are considered eliminated for purposes of CVP [EXC: if under Recall, Guards escorting prisoners (20.53), Paratroops/Gliders landing offboard, or if satisfying Victory Conditions or a SSR by such exit]. CVP are not awarded for units/equipment which are merely broken, wounded, disrupted, malfunctioned, shocked or Immobile, nor for a disabled MA.

26.222 CAPTURE: A leader/MMC is captured for Victory Condition purposes if currently a prisoner. A Gun/vehicle/LC is considered captured if the opponent is the last to have Recovered the weapon or captured the vehicle (21.2), even if the Gun/vehicle/LC is currently not manned. A player receives CVP for an enemy unit/equipment when it is captured. If it is no longer captured, these CVP are immediately lost. During the course of play (including determination of immediate Victory Conditions), captured units/equipment are worth their normal VP value. As soon as the scenario has ended, captured units/equipment are worth double their normal VP to their captor [EXC: at game end, the VP value of captured Chinese Guns/vehicles is quadrupled; G18.44]. Should any captured unit/equipment be eliminated, it is no longer considered captured, although the elimination of that unit/equipment grants the capturing side normal CVP (26.221) instead of the CVP for the capture [EXC: if a prisoner is eliminated due to an attack by its own side, the capturing side immediately receives double CVP for the elimination].

EX: When the MA of a Russian KV-1E becomes malfunctioned, the German player receives no CVP (26.221). The KV-1E is later Abandoned before being captured by a Germans HS, which gives the German player four CVP: one for a vehicle, three for 11 AF, but none for functioning MA or Inherent crew since the KV-1E currently has none. The Russian player then attacks and eliminates the KV-1E. For this the Russian player gains one CVP (for the HS manning the AFV) while the German retains the four CVP for the elimination of the AFV. If the KV-1E had not been eliminated, the German player would instead receive four additional CVP at scenario end when captured units/equipment count double CVP.

       A20.5, A26.21, & A26.222

26.23 EXIT VICTORY CONDITIONS: Some Victory Conditions are based on the exit of a set number of VP (26.21) from the mapboard through a specified exit area. A player receives Exit VP equal to the current VP value for units/equipment exited according to the Victory Conditions [EXC: a player receives no exit VP for vehicles under Recall or broken Personnel (unless exited in a Seaborne Evacuation; G14.42)]. Captured enemy units/equipment exited according to the Victory Conditions count as normal VP during play and double exit VP at scenario end (26.222).

       A26.211 & A26.23

26.3 AVOIDANCE: Whenever the Victory Conditions of a scenario lists the Victory requirements for only one side, the other side wins by avoiding those Victory Conditions.

26.4 BALANCE: Each scenario contains a section entitled "Balance" which proposes a variation to the basic scenario format which is advantageous for the stated side. Whenever both players wish to play the same side in a scenario, they decide the matter with a dr and the loser of the dr gets to claim the Balance provision of the scenario for his side as a consolation.