Please enable JavaScript to view this site.

Advanced Squad Leader Rulebook Updated and Erraticized

Navigation: Chapter A. Infantry & Basic Game Rules

A8 Defensive Fire Principles

Scroll Prev Top Next More

8. DEFENSIVE FIRE PRINCIPLES

       A6.11, A8. & A8.2

       A8. & A24.1

8.1 FIRST FIRE: Defensive Fire is unique in that it can occur during the enemy MPh as well as during its own DFPh. The portion occurring during the enemy MPh is called Defensive First Fire and can be used only vs a moving unit(s)—although it can also affect the terrain in the hex. During the ATTACKER'S MPh, the DEFENDER should keep careful watch as the ATTACKER counts aloud the MF/MP expended as each unit/stack he moves enters a new Location or performs some task requiring the expenditure of MF/MP in its current Location. Anytime a unit/stack expends MF/MP in the LOS of one of his units, the DEFENDER has the option to temporarily halt its movement while he fires at it in that Location with as many attacks as he can bring to bear. The DEFENDER must place "First Fire" counters above all units/weapons that have fired and exhausted their ROF (being sure to place any SW that are still eligible to fire above that First Fire counter); these units/weapons may not fire again during that MPh [EXC: Subsequent First Fire and FPF (8.3-.31); Intensive Fire (C5.6)]. Defensive First Fire attacks affect only the moving unit/stack regardless of other units that occupy the same or intervening hexes at the instant of attack. Although a vehicle that enters a new hex is considered a "moving target" throughout the DFPh (C.8), only one vehicle at a time is ever considered "moving" for Defensive First Fire purposes [EXC: Radioless AFV Platoon (D14.2); Convoy (E11.)]. Once another unit begins movement or the MPh is declared over, previously moved units are no longer subject to Defensive First Fire attack. Units can expend MF/MP for movement activities other than physically moving (e.g., placing SMOKE grenades, SW Recovery, etc.) but may not combine two or more different activities in one "simultaneous" MF/MP expenditure. [EXC: Impulse Movement; 13.6; 25.232; D14.2; E11.2; E11.52.] [errata included]

EX: A unit wishing to move into an Open Ground Location and attempt SW/Gun Recovery (4.44) cannot declare a two-MF expenditure to do so; it must expend one MF to enter the Location, and only after surviving, unpinned and in Good Order, all Defensive First Fire ensuing from that expenditure can it expend another MF to Recover the SW/Gun.

       A4.32-.33, A8.1, A12.15 & B23.71

       A8.1

       A8.1, A8.14 & C6.17

       A8.1, A8.2 & A23.6

       A8.1 & D3.3

       A8.1-.12, C5.33 & D3.3

       A8.1-.12 & D3.3

       A8.1 & D9.31

       A8.1 & C8.6

       A8.1, A8.2, & A23.6

       A4.44 & A8.1

       A8.1, A10.7, & A25.221

       A8.1 & C8.4

       A8.1 & C5.6

       A7.81, A8.1, & A11.5

8.11 FACING: Defensive First Fire must be resolved before the moving unit/stack leaves the intended target Location (or, if firing at a particular Target Facing of an AFV, before that AFV changes its current Target Facing). The DEFENDER may not request that a moving unit be returned to a previous position to undergo attack. However, the ATTACKER must give the DEFENDER ample opportunity (as previously defined between the players) to declare his fire before moving on and, before moving another unit, must declare the end of the first unit's movement at which time it may be fired on as moving. Vehicular Facing changes (D2.11) must be declared aloud and followed by an appropriate pause before further movement. Similarly, any moving vehicle planning to unload Passengers/Riders may do so only after an adequate pause following its expenditure of a Stop MP (D2.13). Once the ATTACKER announces that he is unloading Passengers, it is too late for the DEFENDER to announce an attack on the vehicle with its Passengers/Riders still loaded—even if the disembarking declaration is the first MP/MF expenditure of the MPh.

8.12 MOVING WITHIN LOCATION: Any action that requires the expenditure of a MF/MP in a Location qualifies it as a target for Defensive First Fire even though it might not have entered that Location during that MPh. Examples of such expenditures include a vehicle changing VCA or (un)loading Passengers, Infantry leaving an entrenchment without leaving the Location, or placing SMOKE grenades (24.1) or a DC.

8.13 DEFENSIVE FIRST FIRE DRM: The -1 DRM for FFNAM/ FFMO apply only to Defensive First Fire attacks, as do all To Hit Cases of J [EXC: vehicle in Motion; D2.4] of the Target Hit Determination DRM (C6.1) for ordnance.

8.14 FOLLOW-UP ATTACK: A unit broken or pinned by Defensive First Fire can be fired on again in its current Location by other same-phase Defensive First Fire attacks, but is attacked in its broken or pinned state. A unit that survives a Defensive First Fire attack with no effect can be fired on again in that same Location during its MPh before expending additional MF/MP, but only by different attackers or if it expended at least two MF/MP in that Location (see 9.2). A moving unit subject to FFNAM/FFMO which breaks is still subject to those DRM in that Location for subsequent Defensive First Fire attacks until its MPh ends, even if previously pinned (see 4.61 for Assault Movement).

       A8.14

       A8.1, A8.14 & C6.17

       A8.14

8.15 SNAP SHOT: Any unit wishing to make a Small-Arms/MG Defensive First Fire attack may claim a Snap Shot if it can trace a LOS to an entire hexside (even if that hexside is part of a Blind hex) that was crossed by the moving unit in entering a on-board hex (even if the center dot of that hex is out of the firer's LOS) [EXC: A Snap Shot cannot be taken at a unit while entering the firer's hex]. The FFNAM/FFMO DRM cannot apply (even if the entire length of the hexside is along Open Ground), nor does the TEM of most other terrain in the target hex (C.5C; however a wall/hedge/SMOKE/rubble hexside/spine of a hex being entered/exited can modify a Snap Shot if crossed by the LOF on the way to the target hexside). Snap Shots are resolved as Area Fire. If affected by a Snap Shot, the moving unit is considered in the Location entered thereafter. Neither a MG that must change its CA (9.21), nor an ordnance weapon, nor a weapon using IFE/Canister can make a Snap Shot (see also B9.2 and C.5). A firer can make only one Snap Shot at a unit crossing a hexside, even if that unit is expending > one MF to enter the hex, but may do so after other (even non-Snap Shot) attacks.

EX: The 5-2-7 in 1H5 has a LOS to both H7 and I7, but rather than firing at the 4-6-7 as it Assault Moves to H7 from I7 with five FP and a +2 TEM, it prefers to take a Snap Shot along the H7-I7 hexside with 2½ FP and no TEM. Now assume that the 4-6-7 did not use Assault Movement and continues to move by entering G7. The 4-4-7 in K2 does not have LOS to either H7 or G7 (because of the buildings in J4 and H5 respectively) but it does have a LOS along the entire H7-G7 hexside, and therefore may take a Snap Shot at the 4-6-7 as it crosses that hexside with 1 FP choosing not to use its MG (4 / 2 [Snap Shot] = 2 / 2 [Long Range] = 1). If a wall existed at H7-H6/G7-H6, the Snap Shot from K2 would have to add a +2 DRM. If the 4-6-7 had started in H7 and Dashed through G7 to G6, the 4-4-7 could use its MMG to take a Snap Shot with 1 FP (4 / 2 [Snap Shot] = 2 / 2 [Dash] = 1). If hexes G7, H7, and I7 comprised a Level 1 hill, both Snap Shots would be subject to Height Advantage TEM.

A8.15

  A8.15

       A7.8 & A8.15

       A8.15, B9.2, C.5 & C.5C

       A8.15 & A26.11

       A8.15, A9.22, & A9.5

8.2 RESIDUAL FIREPOWER: When a unit is attacked by Defensive First Fire/Subsequent First Fire/FPF, the target Location in which the attack is resolved (even if in Bypass) is marked with a Residual FP counter equal to half (up to a maximum of 12 after adjustment as per 8.26; FRD) of the highest IFT FP column used for that attack. If the attack includes a To Kill DR vs a vehicle, Residual FP is created in the same manner [EXC: If AP (unless fired by a MG), ATR, APCR, or APDS was used, or if a Dud (C7.35) resulted, no Residual FP is created]. Thereafter, any unit entering (or expending MF/MP in) that same Location in the same MPh is attacked on the IFT with the FP represented by that Residual FP counter, a new IFT DR, and any applicable FFMO/FFNAM DRM. A unit expending MF/MP to leave a Location is not subject to Residual FP attack in the Location it is leaving. All non-hexside TEM and SMOKE/FFE-Hindrance DRM of the target Location apply to a Residual FP attack (even vs Bypassing units). Remove all Residual FP counters at the end of the MPh.

       A7.9, A8.2 & A9.22

       A8.1, A8.2 & A23.6

       A6.11, A8. & A8.2

       A8.2

       A8.1, A8.2, & A23.6

       A8.2, A8.26, & A23.6

       A8.2 & E7.4

8.21 No more than one Residual FP counter can be placed in a Location (although Fire Lane Residual FP is not a Residual FP counter and therefore can co-exist with other Fire Lane counters or Residual FP counters; 9.222). However, a larger Residual FP counter subsequently earned from a larger qualifying IFT attack can replace a smaller Residual FP counter. Residual FP can attack even units using Bypass (or those who must be attacked at a particular vertex) in the Residual FP Location.12 Similarly, fire at a unit using Bypass leaves Residual FP in the entire obstacle Location, but fire that cannot affect units IN a Depression leaves Residual FP only on a Crest counter or bridge and can affect units in that hex only at/if crossing that higher level.

8.22 RESTRICTIONS: Residual FP can never form a FG; i.e., it must always attack alone. Existing Residual FP is always the first Defensive First Fire attack allowed against a moving unit in its current Location during its MPh. A Collateral Attack never leaves Residual FP but the attack that causes it may. OBA and minefields never leave Residual FP because they attack any unit that enters the minefield or FFE Blast Area (C1.5).  

A unit can be attacked by Residual FP only once per Location [EXC: if, since that first Residual FP attack, the Residual FP has increased in strength or the unit is subject to more-negative-DRM/less-positive-DRM, it will be attacked again by that Residual FP upon further MF/MP expenditure]. However:

   •  MF/MP expended "simultaneously" (e.g., two MF to enter a building, two MF to cross a wall and enter Open Ground, eight MP for a truck to  ascend a Crest Line, etc.) do not cause multiple Residual FP attacks. Expending MF/MP for separate activities (e.g., one MF to enter a hex plus one MF to place SMOKE grenades) is never considered a "simultaneous" expenditure (8.1).

   •  Residual FP does not attack until any activity that a MF/MP expenditure allowed is completed (e.g., placing SMOKE grenades, SW Recovery, Searching, firing a Smoke Dispenser, etc.) [EXC: entering a vehicle; (un)hooking; D5.43].

   •  An attack vs a pillbox never leaves Residual FP in the pillbox Location, nor in the non-pillbox Location of that hex unless the attack could affect the entire hex (e.g., Spraying Fire [errata included], Area Target Type, etc.).

8.221 MALFUNCTION: Residual FP is not gained for an attack by a malfunctioning weapon, nor by a unit that makes a Small-Arms-attack Original 12 IFT DR while suffering from Ammunition  Shortage (19.131). Attacks by Residual FP [EXC: MG Fire Lane; 9.223] are never subject to malfunction or Ammunition Shortage.

8.222 vs AFV: Residual FP has no effect vs an AFV except Collaterally (D.8) vs any Vulnerable PRC.

8.223 SNAP SHOT: A Snap Shot does not leave Residual FP.

8.224 COWERING: Residual FP attacks are not subject to Cowering. However, the amount of Residual FP formed by a Cowering attack is usually reduced since Cowering reduces the IFT FP used for the attack. Once placed, Residual FP is never halved or reduced for any reason (including Dashing or concealed targets).

8.23 ROF: A weapon does not automatically leave Residual FP if it retains a Multiple ROF (9.2, C2.24). In essence, placement of a Residual FP counter always ends a unit's/weapon's Defensive First Fire attacks for that MPh [EXC: Subsequent First Fire (8.3), FPF (8.31), Intensive Fire (C5.6)]. The decision to forfeit possible remaining First Fire capability in order to leave Residual FP must be made immediately after resolving its attack. If a player decides not to leave Residual FP for a weapon so as to preserve its Multiple ROF, a Residual FP counter can still be placed in the Location attacked if the weapon used was part of a FG, but the Residual FP is based on the FP used by the FG's other units that do (or choose to) not retain a Multiple ROF.

EX: A 4-6-7 squad and a MMG make a 9 FP Defensive First Fire attack vs a unit in Open Ground. The colored dr of the IFT DR is ≤ 2. To retain his Multiple ROF for the MMG, the German player opts to leave no Residual FP with the MG, but the squad still leaves two Residual FP in the target Location.

8.24 SPRAYING FIRE: Any squad, Gun, or MG allowed to place Residual FP may place an appropriate Residual FP counter in each of the affected Locations when using Spraying Fire—even where no enemy unit is present (9.52).

8.25 ORDNANCE: An ordnance weapon must secure a hit in order to exert Residual FP. However, once the Residual FP has been placed its effect is automatic; newly arriving units do not have to be "hit" again to be affected by it (see 8.23). Neither Intensive Fire (C5.6), AP-type ammo (see 8.2), nor PF/PFk (C13.31) leaves Residual FP.

8.26 EFFECT OF DRM: The amount of Residual FP left by any attack is reduced by one IFT column for each positive DRM caused solely by conditions outside (including CX, BU, Stun, leadership modifier, or hexside/bridge TEM of the target Location which modified (or could have modified; B9.31) the To-Hit/IFT DR, but excluding Height Advantage and LV DRM (E3.1)) the target hex (e.g., a 6 Residual FP counter is flipped over to the 4 FP side for a +1 DRM or changed to a 2 Residual FP counter for a +2 DRM [EXC: Fire Lane; 9.22]). Negative DRM (such as those for leadership, FFMO/FFNAM, and Bore Sighting) never affect the amount of Residual FP left in a hex [EXC: Air Bursts increase the amount of Residual FP left by one IFT column].

8.26 EX #1: A four-FP Defensive First Fire attack from 3R6 to T7 leaves two Residual FP in T7 despite the +1 TEM of the woods, but a four-FP First Fire attack from T9 to T7 leaves only one Residual FP in T7 due to the +1 Hindrance DRM caused by the grain-field in T8. Only the larger of the two Residual FP counters remains in the hex.

8.26 EX#2: A 4-6-7 in 3X1, directed by a 9-2 leader, has fired on a moving unit in Z2 with a total DRM of -2 (-2 [leadership] +1 [hedge TEM] -1 [FFNAM] = -2) and eliminated it. However, for Residual FP purposes only the +1 TEM for the hedge is considered—resulting in one Residual FP being placed in Z2. A 5-2-7 now enters Z2 from Z3 without Assault Movement and is attacked on the 1 FP column with a -2 DRM for FFNAM/FFMO. The hedge does not negate the FFMO DRM because the Residual FP was already reduced by the hedge when it was initially placed in the hex. The Residual FP DR is 8 and has no effect. Assume there was a 2 squad foxhole in Z2 with an entrenched 6-2-8 and unpossessed MG. If the 5-2-7 were to enter the foxhole it would not be attacked again by the Residual FP. When the 6-2-8 expends a MF to Recover the MG, it is attacked by the 1 FP column with a total +1 DRM (+2 [TEM] -1 [FFNAM] = +1) despite the fact that the 4-6-7 doesn't have LOS to a non-adjacent unit entrenched behind a hedge. If the 6-2-8 then exits the foxhole, it would be attacked again by the Residual FP since it is becoming more vulnerable with a -2 DRM for FFNAM/FFMO.

EX: A hit with a 60mm mortar attacks an Open Ground Location on the 4 FP column and leaves 2 Residual FP. If the attack had been vs a woods Location subject to Airbursts, it would leave 4 Residual FP, and Infantry moving through the woods would receive the +1 TEM vs the 4 FP Residual attack. If the attack had been through a hedge hexside, the Residual FP would be unaffected by the zero Indirect Fire TEM of the hedge (B9.34).

EX: A 4 FP attack traced through a wall hexside yielding a +2 TEM leaves no Residual FP (2 Residual FP reduced to 1 Residual FP by a +1 TEM and reduced to 0 Residual FP by the second +1 TEM).

       A8.26 & B10.31

       A8.2, A8.26, & A23.6

8.3 SUBSEQUENT FIRST FIRE: A DEFENDING Infantry unit/(its MG/IFE-weapon) [errata included] already marked with a First Fire counter may Defensive First Fire again during that MPh as Area Fire by flipping its First Fire counter over to the Final Fire side. Such fire can leave Residual FP but if using a MG/IFE is treated as Sustained Fire and penalized accordingly. Only Small Arms [EXC: MOL], MG, and IFE can be used as Subsequent First Fire. Subsequent First Fire cannot be attempted against any target at a range > that to the closest armed, Known enemy unit, nor outside the firer's Normal Range. Like Defensive First Fire, Subsequent First Fire options are MF/MP dependent; i.e., if the moving unit expends only one MF and draws Defensive First Fire, that Defensive First Firer cannot immediately Subsequent First Fire at it until it expends another MF. The same unit/weapon can never fire on a moving unit in the same Location more times than the number of MF/MP expended (FRD, but a minimum of once per hex) in that Location during that MPh (see 9.2). Whenever a unit uses Subsequent First Fire, it must use all MG/IFE in its possession (up to the unit's normal operation capabilities; 7.35-.353) as Subsequent First Fire or forfeit their use for the remainder of that Player Turn (barring FPF); a squad may not split its usable inherent FP from that of its MG/IFE during Subsequent First Fire unless it opts to not use the remaining FP/SW at all. A Multiple-ROF weapon cannot be fired more than once per Subsequent First Fire attack.  If a unit, or any SW/Gun it possesses, uses Subsequent First Fire (or Intensive Fire) then that unit and all its SW/Guns are marked with a Final Fire counter. [errata included]

       A8.3

A8.3 & A8.31

       A8.3

       A8.3

8.31 FINAL PROTECTIVE FIRE (FPF): FPF is a Subsequent First Fire option available only to DEFENDING Infantry already marked with a Final Fire counter13 which wish to use their Small Arms [EXC: MOL]/MG/IFE to attack ADJACENT or same-hex moving ground units in the ATTACKER'S MPh. All usable MG/IFE possessed by that unit (up to the unit's normal operation capabilities; 7.35-.353) must be fired (even if not previously marked with a Final Fire counter) and are subject to Sustained Fire penalties. A unit using FPF may form a FG with units not using FPF, but only those units using FPF are affected by its adverse affects. FPF is a combination of Area Fire and PBF (or TPBF), and also involves considerable risk to the firer. Immediately after normally resolving the FPF attack vs the moving units, the firer's Original IFT DR is modified only by any applicable leadership DRM and is used as a NMC against the firing unit(s) using FPF (including any directing leader). Whenever a Casualty MC (10.31) or Heat of Battle (15.1) applies to this NMC and ≥ 2 units are involved, use Random Selection to determine which unit is affected. The target of the FPF attack is attacked normally even if the FPF DR also breaks or pins the firer. Provided it does not break, there is no limit to the number of FPF attacks a unit may make, other than the number of moving units and the MF they expend (as in 9.2) moving ADJACENT to or in the firer's hex (thus affording the DEFENDER the opportunity to attack them). Any MG/IFE possessed by a unit using FPF is marked with a Final Fire counter regardless of its ROF—even if it had not fired previously in that MPh. Units broken by FPF in a Location containing enemy units are eligible to rout out in the ensuing RtPh. After a TPBF FPF attack, all non-Meleeing co-occupants of that Location are marked with a CC counter to show that they are not yet in Melee.

       A8.3 & A8.31

       A8.31 & C13.31

       A8.31 & A9.3

       A8.31 & A13.6

8.311 RESTRICTIONS: A unit eligible to use TPBF vs a Known enemy unit [EXC: unarmed/unarmored vehicle; 7.212] cannot use FPF vs an adjacent unit. Infantry manning ordnance cannot fire it during FPF [EXC: OVR Prevention: C5.64] but must add their inherent FP to the FPF attack.

8.312 TPBF: An armed, unbroken Infantry DEFENDER not in Melee must after all Residual-FP/minefield/OBA attacks then immediately attack any Infantry/Cavalry MMC unit that enters its Location during the MPh whether it uses Defensive First Fire, Subsequent First Fire, or FPF [EXC: A SMC with a MG/IFE already marked with a First Fire counter may not use Subsequent First Fire or FPF because it cannot use Sustained Fire; 9.3]. See also OVR; D7.2. All such FPF and any Defensive/ Subsequent First Fire must be combined into one Mandatory FG (7.55).

       A8.312, A12.151, & G.4

       A8.312

8.4 FINAL FIRE: That portion of Defensive Fire which occurs during the DFPh is called Final Fire. During Final Fire any of the DEFENDER'S units/weapons that are not marked with a First, Final, Intensive, or No Fire counter may fire. Any such units/weapons that are marked with a First Fire counter may also fire again (by flipping their First Fire marker over to the Final Fire side), but as Area Fire and only at units in an adjacent (or same) hex, therefore also possibly benefiting from PBF (or TPBF). A unit/weapon already marked with a Final Fire counter cannot fire during Final Fire. Final Fire affects all applicable units in a target Location—not just those that may have moved—but without any modifiers for FFNAM/FFMO.

8.41 MULTIPLE ROF: Any Multiple-ROF weapon which is not marked with a First, Final, Intensive or No Fire counter (even though it may have fired during First Fire) is still entitled to multiple attack possibilities during Final Fire, and at any target, not just adjacent ones. Any weapon marked with a First Fire counter and capable of Intensive Fire (C5.6) or Sustained Fire (9.3) may use such for one additional attack during Final Fire only vs adjacent or same-hex targets.

EX: It is the Russian MPh and all three Russian units are berserk (15.4). The 6-2-8 starts the MPh by charging the 4-6-7 in 1X2, and is First Fired upon in W2 by the 4-6-7 and its LMG directed by the 8-1 leader (14 FP and a -3 DRM). The Original 6 DR on the IFT results in a "K/3" which Reduces the 6-2-8 to a 3-2-8 HS but fails to eliminate the resulting 3-2-8 HS when it passes the 3MC due to its berserk Morale Level of 10, so it enters X2 where it must be fired on again (8.312) using Subsequent First Fire with 10½ FP (7X3 [TPBF] = 21 / 2 [Area Fire] = 10½) and a +1 DRM (+3 [TEM] -1 [FFNAM] -1 [Leadership] = +1), and with the LMG's B# reduced by two (invoking A.11) even if it retained its multiple ROF (9.3). The attack causes a NMC which the 3-2-8 passes. However, the German units and LMG are now marked by a Final Fire counter. The German units cannot fire outside their Location as long as the 3-2-8 occupies it too (7.212). Because the 3-2-8 expended two MF to enter X2, the German stack may attack it again (this time using FPF), but declines.

The berserk 4-4-7 and 7-0 leader now charge into X2, where they are first (8.22) attacked by the four Residual FP left by the previous attack and a +2 DRM (+3 TEM -1 FFNAM). This attack has no effect, however, and now the German units must attack with FPF (8.312). The German FPF attack is once again 10½ FP with a +1 DRM, but is made only vs the 4-4-7 and 7-0 since the 3-2-8 is no longer moving. The Final IFT DR is an 8, which results in a NMC vs the two Russian units, which they pass. The Original IFT DR of 7 results in no effect vs the Germans due to their leadership modifier which makes it a Final DR of 6. However, if the Original DR had been an 8 the German 8-1 would have immediately been pinned which in turn would have caused the 4-6-7 to break (due to the temporary loss of his -1 DRM; 7.831); had it been a 9 both units would have broken and would have to rout from the hex (assuming they survive the Russian AFPh). Because the Russians used two MF to enter X2, the Germans can repeat their FPF attack but are not obliged to and, given the dire consequences of rolling too high, decide not to attack further. During the AFPh the Russians will be able to attack with 10½ FP (7 X 3 [TPBF] = 21 / 2 [AFPh] = 10½) and a +3 TEM, but with no leader direction (15.41-.42). Any broken units will rout out during the RtPh and all remaining units will engage in CC during the CCPh. If the LMG (only) were already marked with a First Fire counter when the 6-2-8 was first attacked in W2, that attack would use 11 FP ({4 [4-6-7 FP] + 1½ [LMG Area Fire]} X 2 [PBF] = 11) since the LMG would be using Sustained Fire, and the 8-1 would not be able to direct it (since the FG would now contain a new unit not directed by that Leader during Defensive First Fire; 7.53); the 4-6-7 and LMG would then both be marked with a Final Fire counter. [errata included] If on the other hand only the squad had First Fired previously, after the first attack on the 6-2-8 both the 4-6-7 and its LMG would be marked with a Final Fire counter (even if the German player opted not to use the LMG in that attack; 8.3).

Now assume that the LMG was possessed by a 2-2-8 crew in X2 with the squad and leader, and that the crew had held its fire until X2 was entered. The attack vs the 3-2-8 in X2 would be 15FP (4 [squad FP] X 3 [TPBF] = 12 / 2 [Area Fire] = 6 + (3 [LMG FP] X 3 [TPBF] = 9) = 15) with a +2 DRM (leader direction is NA; 7.53). The crew could use either its inherent FP or the LMG. The crew or its LMG (now both marked with a First Fire counter) can elect to make a second attack in X2 as Subsequent First Fire with either its inherent FP or the LMG (thus flipping its First Fire counter to the Final Fire side) but has only three FP (or 4.5 FP if it uses the LMG) unless the squad joins the attack with FPF. The squad does not have to attack, however, because it has already fulfilled its requirement to do so when the Location was entered, although it has the option to do so. The German player, realizing that other berserk units will soon enter the Location and force another FPF attack by the squad, declines to attack again with the squad at this time—but because the crew will be unable to fire outside its Location (now occupied by enemy units), decides to use its Subsequent First Fire opportunity now. Both German units will be forced to use FPF vs the remaining berserk Russian units when they enter their Location, with the crew forced to use the LMG rather than its inherent FP.