Please enable JavaScript to view this site.

Advanced Squad Leader Rulebook Updated and Erraticized

7. OVERRUNS (OVR)

 

       D7. & D9.31

       B9.4 & D7.

7.1 An OVR is a form of Bounding First Fire. A vehicle that enters an enemy-occupied Location during the MPh can attack that Location's occupant(s) by expending one-fourth (FRU) of its printed MP allotment (wagons may not OVR because they expend MF; a pillbox may not be OVR because the vehicle cannot enter its Location) therein and announcing an OVR, provided it (and its PRC) is not already marked with a Bounding Fire counter [EXC: 7.14]. The OVR MP expenditure must be announced as a combined expenditure with that for entrance of the hex as the vehicle enters the OVR hex, unless that hex contains only unknown enemy units (A12.41). An OVRing vehicle may not declare a Gun Duel (C2.2401); instead, the OVR is resolved on the IFT immediately after the MP expenditure [EXC: Bog DR, and defensive First Fire other than Reaction Fire (7.2), prompted by that MP expenditure (or by the MF expenditure of accompanying Infantry using Human Wave {A25.23} and Armored Assault {9.31}) are resolved first].

       D7.1, D7.11 & D7.15

       D7.1 & D7.2

       D3.3, D3.51, & D7.1

7.11 FP: The FP base for an OVR is one FP for an unarmored vehicle, two FP for an AFV, or four FP for an AFV whose MA is manned and functioning and is not a MG, FT, MTR, ATR or IFE-capable.9 The FP base is modified by adding to it the tripled (TPBF) and halved (Bounding First Fire) FP of all manned and functioning MG/IFE armament on the vehicle [EXC: RMG do not add to OVR FP]. CE armored halftrack (only) Passengers can add one-half (and the Passengers/Riders of other vehicles can add one-fourth) of their printed FP to an OVR, but this too is subject to TPBF. All FT FP is added normally with no TPBF/halving adjustment. The total FP of an OVR is halved if the vehicle becomes Immobile or destroyed before it can resolve its OVR (in addition to any halving vs a concealed target; A12.13), but combat results vs Passengers/Riders after an OVR declaration do not affect the OVR FP. The halving of FP for Motion/ Non-Stopped Fire does not apply to OVR FP.

       D7.1, D7.11 & D7.15

7.12 VEHICULAR TARGETS: An AFV may not be OVR, but any Vulnerable PRC on it can be. The presence of an AFV in a hex does not prevent an OVR against other non-armored targets in the hex. An OVR receives a +2 DRM vs a Motion vehicle (and its Vulnerable PRC).

7.13 RESTRICTIONS: An OVR may not be made using Reverse Movement. A DEFENDER in a woods/building obstacle cannot be OVR by a vehicle using VBM in that hex (2.33). An OVR may not be made by any vehicle currently marked with a Bounding First Fire counter (3.3) [EXC: Multiple OVR; 7.14]. A vehicle may not OVR the hex it begins its MPh in unless it leaves that hex and re-enters it.

7.14 MULTIPLE OVR: A vehicle may continue to OVR the same or a different target hex as long as it has sufficient MP to expend. However, each vehicle must attack separately; two or more vehicles may not add their OVR FP into a single attack, nor may a vehicle split its OVR FP (or that of its PRC) into two or more OVR attacks during a single entry of the target hex. A vehicle that conducts an OVR must exit that target hex before making another OVR.

7.15 TEM: The DEFENDER(S) in an OVR are entitled to the applicable TEM of that target Location unless the OVRing vehicle is using only a FT. If the ATTACKER adds any other FP (including the two base FP of an AFV) to the OVR FP of a FT, the DEFENDER receives full TEM (A.5). However, an OVR vs Infantry/Cavalry in any Open Ground hex may apply the FFMO -1 DRM, cumulative with applicable TEM (e.g., entrenchment,  Emplacement,  shellhole,  vehicle/wreck,  bridge,  wall, bocage, etc.) and SMOKE. Wall/hedge TEM applies only if the OVRing vehicle entered the target hex across that hexside, and is not cumulative with in-hex TEM (B9.31). A vehicle OVRing a Crest-status unit does not have to cross a Crest hexside during that attack.10

       C11.5 & D7.15

       D7.1, D7.11 & D7.15

       D7.15 & KGP SSR3

7.16 LEADERSHIP: Leadership modification of an OVR is limited to an Armor Leader (or a Passenger leader in that vehicle as per 6.65 although the vehicle does not have to be a halftrack). Should both occupy the same vehicle, only one leadership modifier may be used.

7.17 MALFUNCTION: An OVR Original IFT DR of 12 results in weapon malfunction; use A9.71 if > one weapon contributed to the OVR FP. All weapons that added to the OVR FP (including AFV MA) are eligible for malfunction, though some with a B#/X# < 12 may be more prone to malfunction than others (i.e., a weapon with a B#/X# < 12 would malfunction on an Original OVR DR ≥ that #). In all cases the OVR is still resolved normally. If no weapon participating in the OVR can malfunction, or if the OVR is vs only inanimate objects (A9.74), the vehicle is immobilized instead if its Original IFT DR is a 12.

7.2 REACTION FIRE: Reaction Fire is conducted during the MPh by the DEFENDER, who uses it to attack a vehicle in that DEFENDER'S (or, if using Street Fighting [7.211], in an allowed ADJACENT) Location. There are two types of Reaction Fire: CC Reaction Fire (7.21), which is resolved on the CCT; and Non-CC Reaction Fire (7.22), which is resolved on a TK Table or the IFT and which can be used only vs an OVR. Except as stated otherwise, a DEFENDER may use Reaction Fire as often as it is able to use the various forms of First/Final Fire. After making its Reaction Fire attack(s), that DEFENDER must await further movement expenditure by the vehicle (or by its Personnel Escort; A11.51) before conducting other than Reaction Fire vs that unit. Reaction Fire vs an OVRing vehicle is resolved immediately after the resolution of that OVR.

       D7.1 & D7.2

7.21 CC REACTION FIRE: Each Infantry/Cavalry DEFENDER unit that is unbroken, unpinned and neither Unarmed (A20.5) nor in Melee may attempt CC Reaction Fire, using the CC-vs-vehicle rules (A11.5, etc.; see also 7.211-.213) [EXC: Ambush is NA unless using Street Fighting; 7.211]. After completing its attack, that DEFENDER and all of its possessed SW (including those Inherent) and Guns are marked with a CC counter, if the vehicle has survived, to prohibit non-CC Reaction Fire attacks, and also with a First or Final Fire counter as appropriate for that attack. To attempt CC Reaction Fire vs an AFV, the DEFENDER must first pass a PAATC unless it is exempt from PAATC (A11.6) or took one when the AFV entered its Location earlier in the MPh (A12.41). If it fails the Reaction Fire PAATC, it becomes pinned and can neither make that CC Reaction Fire attack (7.213) nor opt to make a Non-CC Reaction Fire attack (7.22) instead. A DEFENDER need not pass more than one PAATC to attack the same vehicle more than once during the same (A.15) phase.

       D7.21

       C2.2401, C5.33, & D7.21

       A18.12 & D7.21

       A11.6 & D7.21

7.211 STREET FIGHTING: CC Reaction Fire may use Street Fighting (A11.8—including the Street Fighting Ambush -1 CC DRM) vs an ADJACENT vehicle if the units involved meet all the requirements for both. However, Street Fighting CC Reaction Fire may not be attempted by a unit that is, and/or possesses a SW—(including Inherent)/Gun that is, already marked with a First/Final/Intensive/No Fire counter. Mines/FFE/Residual-FP in the vehicle's/DEFENDER's Location can (as per their normal rules) attack the DEFENDER, who for that purpose is treated as using Assault Movement (into both Locations) and can claim any normally allowed SMOKE/TEM benefits present. A unit entering a wire Location must remain above that Wire counter as per B26.4 but a Street Fighting unit may not voluntarily remain in the road Location during CC Reaction Fire. The vehicle being attacked (including its PRC) cannot use Bounding First Fire before the end of that DEFENDER CC action.

7.212 FPF CC REACTION FIRE: Each DEFENDER unit (even if pinned) otherwise eligible to use CC Reaction Fire, and marked with a Final Fire counter when OVR by other than an unarmored vehicle with no PRC, must attempt (as per 7.21) such a CC attack vs that vehicle [EXC: if otherwise allowed, it may use FPF Non-CC Reaction Fire (7.221) instead]. Vs an AFV, that DEFENDER may first be subject to a PAATC (see 7.21). Being currently pinned (for any reason) does not cancel its required FPF CC Reaction Fire attack. Each FPF CC Reaction Fire attack DR also acts as a NMC DR vs the attacking DEFENDER(S) as per A8.31. For DEFENDER Infantry manning a Gun, see also 7.23.

7.213 The only differences between resolving CC Reaction Fire and normal CC are that: CC Reaction Fire occurs during the MPh when no vehicle CC attacks (of any kind, including "sN"; A11.622) are allowed; no pinned unit—regardless of how it became pinned—may make a CC Reaction Fire attack [EXC: FPF CC; 7.212]; CC Reaction Fire conducted by a unit marked with a First/Final Fire counter (including its SW) has its CCV reduced by one; and ATTACKER Personnel Escort [EXC: PRC] in the vehicle's Location are not affected by CC Reaction Fire, nor can they (even if PRC) engage the attacking DEFENDER in CC or with Bounding First Fire before the end of that DEFENDER CC action (and even then they can conduct no CC prior to the CCPh except possibly Infantry OVR; A4.15).

       A11.622 & D7.213

       C13.7 & D7.213

7.22 NON-CC REACTION FIRE: Each unbroken DEFENDER unit in an OVR Location and not beneath a CC/Melee counter may conduct Non-CC Reaction Fire within (and up to the limits of) its present capabilities, using TPBF/ordnance/FT/Thrown-DC in the normal manner vs that OVRing vehicle [EXC: if that DEFENDER is marked with a Final Fire counter, see 7.221; if it possesses a Gun that is marked with a fire counter, see 7.23; if it is pinned, see A7.81]. A Gun must change its CA to coincide with that of the OVRing vehicle's VCA before it can fire, but TH Cases A and E are NA. A Reaction Fire ordnance hit or FT/DC attack vs an OVRing AFV automatically strikes (or is Thrown through; C7.346) that AFV's rear Target Facing. MOL cannot be used with/as TPBF if that DEFENDER, or any Gun it possesses, is marked with a First/Final/Intensive/No Fire counter. For TPBF vs an OT AFV, see also A7.211.

EX: The BU tank expends one MP to enter 1E3. The 4-4-7 and 8-1 in D2 then declare a Street Fighting CC Reaction Fire attack (7.211) vs it as their Defensive First Fire. The 4-4-7 passes its PAATC, and both units enter E3 where (after surviving all attacks by mines in D2/E3 and Residual-FP/FFE in E3, if any) they make their Reaction Fire CC attack. Their combined CCV is 6, but there is a +2 DRM because the vehicle is Non-Stopped (A11.51) and a -2 DRM due to leadership and Ambush, so the AFV will be immobilized on an Original DR of 6, eliminated on an Original DR of 4 or 5, and burned on an Original DR of ≤ 3. However, the DR is ≥ 7 so the attack fails. The 4-4-7 and 8-1, now marked with both a First Fire and a CC counter, return to D2 (again assuming they survive all mine/FFE/Residual-FP attacks as they attempt to do so), and the tank expends another MP to enter D3 where it is safe from Street Fighting since all ADJACENT Russian units are marked with First Fire counters. Next it enters C3 at a cost of 11 MP (7 MP for entering woods, plus an additional 4 MP [¼ of its MP allotment; FRU]) to make an OVR, for a total MP expenditure of 13 thus far in its MPh [Note: the 12.5 MP in the illustration is prior to FRU]. It passes a Bog DR and attacks the 6-2-8 with 20 FP on the IFT (11 [FP] X 3 [TPBF] = 33 ÷ 2 [Bounding First Fire] = 16½ + 4 [MA base] = 20 ½) and a +1 DRM (woods TEM). This attack has no effect vs the 6-2-8, which then passes a PAATC in order to use CC Reaction Fire. Because the 6-2-8 is already marked with a First Fire counter it must reduce its CCV by one due to making a CC Reaction Fire attack as Subsequent First Fire. There is a +2 DRM to its attack (vs a Non-Stopped vehicle), so the tank can be affected only by an Original DR of 2 which will immobilize it or allow the possibility of an Unlikely Kill (A11.501). The tank, with one MP remaining, decides to enter B2 and remain in Motion rather than chance CC with the 6-2-8 in the upcoming CCPh. The 6-2-8 is marked with both Final Fire and CC counters.

Now assume the 6-2-8 was under a Final Fire counter when it was OVR. It must now use FPF CC Reaction Fire (7.212) even if it fails its PAATC. If it passes the PAATC, its attack will be identical to the Subsequent First Fire CC Reaction Fire attack just described, except that it will be pinned if its Original attack DR is an 8 or broken if that DR is ≥ 9. If it fails the PAATC, it must still attack with the same risk to itself but with its CCV reduced to 3 (5 [CCV] -1 [Pinned] -1 [marked with Final Fire counter] = 3), which, the AFV is still moving (+2 DRM), means its only chance to harm the AFV is with an Original 2 DR, yielding an Unlikely Kill.

If the 4-4-7 possessed a SW such as an ATR and fired it when the tank entered E3, that squad could not then use Street Fighting CC Reaction Fire (since the ATR would be marked by a First Fire counter; 7.211). On the other hand, if the 4-4-7 conducted Street Fighting CC Reaction Fire in E3 first, its ATR would still be marked with a First Fire counter.

7.221 FPF NON-CC REACTION FIRE: Each DEFENDER Personnel unit [EXC: Infantry manning a Gun marked as given in 7.23] eligible to use Non-CC Reaction Fire, and marked by a Final Fire counter when OVR by other than an unarmored vehicle with no PRC, must use (as per 7.22) TPBF, an ordnance SW, a FT or a Thrown DC vs that vehicle [EXC: if pinned, it cannot use FT or DC (A7.81); if otherwise allowed, it may use CC Reaction Fire (7.212) instead]. Each FPF Reaction fire TH, TPBF/FT/IFT, or DC Position, DR also acts as a NMC DR vs the attacking DEFENDER(S) as per A8.3] (as per C5.64 for ordnance).

7.23 GUN CREWS: DEFENDER Infantry eligible to use Non-CC Reaction Fire, and manning a Gun that is marked with a First/Final/Intensive/No Fire counter when OVR by other than an unarmored vehicle with no PRC, must conduct FPF Reaction Fire as follows: If the Gun is marked with a First Fire counter, they Intensive (or Sustain; C2.29) Fire it as per 7.221; however, if for any reason they cannot do so (e.g., if the Gun cannot use such fire, or if its CA must, but cannot, be changed as per 7.22), or if the Gun is marked with a Final/Intensive/No Fire counter, they make a CC or TPBF attack (owner's choice as otherwise allowed) modified as if they were already marked with a Final Fire counter (7.212 or 7.221).