Please enable JavaScript to view this site.

Advanced Squad Leader Rulebook Updated and Erraticized

Navigation: Chapter D. Vehicles

D9 Vehicles as Cover

Scroll Prev Top Next More

9. VEHICLES AS COVER

9.1 BU/CE: Only AFV Inherent crews and OT AFV Passengers can affect their Vulnerability to most attacks by being BU or CE. Riders are always Vulnerable as per 6.23. See also D.6.

9.2 SURVIVAL: An attack that destroys (but not burns) a vehicle does not attack its PRC separately. They instead roll for Survival (5.6/6.9). See also 5.7 and C7.6.

9.3 AFV/WRECK TEM: All Infantry in the same Location with a wreck/friendly-AFV/abandoned-enemy-AFV are entitled to a +1 TEM unless one or more of the following applies: they are being fired on from within that same Location; the wreck is burning (10.3); that AFV/wreck is entrenched (B27.52), Dug-In (9.54), or at a different level than the Infantry in its Depression hex, or that AFV would be subject to TH Case J (a Stopped AFV or wreck which has moved/was in Motion during the current Player Turn's MPh provides a +1 TEM during all Phases following the AFPh) if at that moment it were to be fired on by ordnance (C.8) [EXC: Armored Assault (9.31); units Abandoning/Surviving/unloading/ Bailing-Out from an AFV (5.5, 5.6, 6.5, & 6.24)]. This TEM is applicable only if the unit can claim no other positive TEM, but is cumulative with any SMOKE/Hindrance DRM applicable to the firer. An unarmored vehicle exerts no TEM until it becomes a wreck." Infantry/Cavalry in the same hex with a vehicle are not affected by the elimination of that vehicle.

       A12.1 & D9.3

       B28.61 & D9.3

       D9.3

9.31 ARMORED ASSAULT: Infantry may take advantage of the +1 TEM afforded by a friendly AFV in the same hex to move in a combined stack with that AFV, provided they begin their MPh beneath that AFV. If Infantry move in a stack with the AFV, that AFV cannot move farther than if it were accompanied by that same Infantry throughout the move—even if that Infantry fails to end its MPh in the same hex with the AFV. Infantry moving with an AFV across otherwise Open Ground is not subject to FFMO but is subject to FFNAM (unless Assault Movement is declared) and +1 for the AFV for a combined DRM of 0. A Stopped AFV continues to provide the +1 TEM during the DFPh to the units that moved with it.

EX: Using the 9.4 illustration, assume an Infantry squad is beneath the Tiger in O2 and has already expended two MF in Armored Assault. The squad could now use its last two MF to enter the building in P1 and the Tiger could continue movement alone into P2 and Q2. However, if fired on in P1 either normally or by Snap Shot, the squad would receive no TEM/LOS Hindrance aid from the Tiger. Had the squad been Double Timing or accompanied by a leader so that it had six MF at the Start of its MPh, the Tiger could continue on into R1 and R0 which it may have reached had the Infantry continued with it. Similarly, had the squad declared Double Time upon entering the building to gain one extra MF, the Tiger could get to R1 but no farther.

       D9.31

       D9.31

       A4.8, A12.152, & D9.31

       A8.1 & D9.31

       A15.431 & D9.31

       B26. & D9.31

       D2.3 & D9.31

       D7. & D9.31

       D8.2 & D9.31

       D9.31 & D15.8

       D9.31

       D9.31 & D14.23

9.4 AFV/WRECK LOS HINDRANCE: There is a +1 Hindrance DRM to a same-level LOS for firing through (not just into or out of) a hex containing one or more wrecks/AFV, but it does not apply if that wreck/AFV is in Bypass and the LOS does not touch the hexside being bypassed, or if the AFV/wreck forming the Hindrance is not in the LOS of both the firer and the target, or if that wreck is burning (B25.2), or if that AFV/wreck would be subject to To Hit Case J (a Stopped AFV or wreck which had moved/was in Motion during the current player Turn's MPh nonetheless presents a +1 Hindrance during all phases following the AFPh) if at that moment it were to be fired on by ordnance, or if entrenched/Dug-In. If the Hindrance DRM of a concealed AFV would actually change the result of an attack, the owner must show that it is not a Dummy stack.

EX: A German tank is in 22O2, a wreck is in R1, and a Russian tank in S2. Normally a LOS drawn from O2 to S2 (shown in red) would have to add a +1 Hindrance DRM for the wreck in R1—but not in this case, because the firer in O2 cannot trace a LOS (shown in blue) to the center of R1 which contains the wreck. Should the Russian tank fire on the German tank the wreck LOS Hindrance likewise does not apply because the target in O2 cannot trace a LOS to the wreck.

       A4.6, A12.14 & D9.4

       A12.3 & D9.4

       D9.4

9.5 ARMORED CUPOLA: An Armored Cupola represents a Dug-In AFV (9.54) or ground-mounted turret or specially constructed bunker with a rotating turret, and is represented in a scenario OB by a BU TCA counter. A corresponding SSR is necessary to define its armament, turret type, and AF. The TCA counter is used to define its CA and any To Hit/IFT DRM penalties for fire outside it (3.12 & 3.52). CC vs an Armored Cupola requires the use of PAATC and CCV in the usual manner. An Armored Cupola is considered the equivalent of an Immobile tank in every way except as modified below or by SSR.

9.51 CREW: An Armored Cupola is manned by an inherent Infantry (not vehicular) crew counter; it can hold no other unit—even a SMC— and therefore is not subject to any leadership DRM. CE status and CS# do not exist in an Armored Cupola. BU To Hit DRM always apply. However, Immobilization TC are never required. All of an Armored Cupola's MG armament is usable in CC.

9.52 PLACEMENT: An Armored Cupola can be placed only in brush, grain, woods, orchard, shellhole, debris (O1.), or Open Ground hexes as if it were a pillbox (B30.1). Although it cannot leave or be pushed out of its hex, it is free to change its TCA 360 degrees. An Armored Cupola is never eligible for concealment and leaves no wreck. An Armored Cupola set up directly behind a wall/hedge is always assumed to have Wall Advantage over those hexsides unless it is Abandoned/in-Melee or its inherent crew is stunned/shocked.

9.53 SIZE: The Target Size (1.7) of an Armored Cupola is always small (+1). It is not considered HD and Hit Location (C3.9) is NA.

9.54 DUG-IN AFV: A Dug-In AFV is treated as an Armored Cupola except as stated otherwise. A Dug-In AFV is HD to all Direct Fire attacks [EXC: vs Aerial AF], has a +1 Target Size [EXC: if the AFV actually has a +2 Target Size], and does not create a Hindrance. A Dug-In AFV has a vehicular (not Infantry) crew (and therefore, unlike other Armored Cupolas, cannot place a Fire Lane), can be CE, does have a CS#, and will leave a scroungeable (or burning) wreck which does not leave a wreck Hindrance (9.4). Place a Vehicle Crest counter (from WEST OF ALAMEIN) on the AFV to show its Dug-In status.