Please enable JavaScript to view this site.

Advanced Squad Leader Rulebook Updated and Erraticized

1. THE JAPANESE

1.1 SQUADS: A Japanese squad has no Broken side.4 Instead it has a Full-Strength side and a Reduced-Strength side, both of which are normally in Good Order. The Reduced-Strength side is distinguished by a horizontal red stripe.

       A20.22 & G1.1

1.11 STEP REDUCTION: Whenever an armed, non-berserk Japanese squad fails an IFT/Collateral-Attack/Bombardment/FPF MC or suffers a dr "1" sniper attack, it undergoes Step Reduction (1.121-.122) [EXC: if Conscript and it exceeds its ELR (1.125); if it suffers Casualty Reduction (1.14)]. Unless it becomes broken, a unit that undergoes Step Reduction retains any pinned/TI/CX status it has, and also maintains any Fire-Lane/Target-Acquisition it can currently claim. Only Japanese squads (and infantry-crews; 1.3) can suffer Step Reduction.

1.12 ATTACK BREAK: An armed, non-berserk Japanese squad that fails an IFT/Collateral-Attack/Bombardment/FPF MC (but does not suffer Casualty Reduction), or 'breaks' due to a KIA result (A7.301), [errata included] or suffers a dr "1" sniper attack is always affected in one of the following ways (1.121-.125):

1.121  If Full-Strength it is Step-Reduced—i.e., is flipped over to its Reduced-Strength side, which is still considered an unbroken squad.

EX: A non-berserk 4-4-8 Japanese squad undergoes a four-FP Small Arms attack that causes a MC on the IFT. If it fails this MC (but does not roll an Original 12 or > its ELR) it is flipped to its 3-4-8 side.

1.122  If Reduced-Strength it is Step-Reduced—i.e., is exchanged for one of its unbroken HS.

EX: A non-berserk 3-4-8 Japanese squad is a Passenger in a truck that undergoes a six-FP A-P mine attack. The effects DR is a 6, which immobilizes the truck and Collaterally causes a 1MC vs the squad. If the squad fails this MC (but does not roll an Original 12 or > its ELR) it is exchanged for an unbroken 2-3-8 HS.

1.123 If non-Conscript and Full-Strength, and it exceeds its ELR, it is Replaced (due to ELR failure) by a Full-Strength squad of the next-lower Class which is then Step-Reduced (due to MC failure) as per 1.121.

EX: Continuing the 1.121 example, if the 4-4-8 fails the MC by an amount > its ELR (but does not roll an Original 12) it is instead exchanged for a 1st-Line 3-4-7 squad.

1.124 If non-Conscript and Reduced-Strength, and it exceeds its ELR, it is Replaced (due to ELR failure) by a Reduced-Strength squad of the next-lower Class which is then Step-Reduced (due to MC failure) as per 1.122.

EX: Continuing the 1.122 example, if the 3-4-8 fails the 1MC by an amount > its ELR (but does not roll an Original 12) it is is instead exchanged for an unbroken 2-3-7 HS.

1.125 If Conscript (regardless of whether Full- or Reduced-Strength) and it exceeds its ELR, it is Replaced by one of its broken HS.

EX: A 3-3-6, or 2-2-6, non-berserk Japanese squad that fails a FPF MC by an amount > its ELR (but does not roll an Original 12) is exchanged for a broken (and DM) 1-2-6 HS.

1.13 OTHER BREAK: An armed, non-berserk Japanese squad that suffers a break result directly due to a cause other than those listed in 1.12 (e.g., due to its Bailing out, voluntarily breaking, Wreck Check, para landing, WP MC [errata included], OVR Prevention MC, or Panji MC [9.31]) is always affected in ≥ one of the following ways (unless it suffers Casaulty Reduction; 1.14):

       A10.41, G1.13 & G1.132

1.131 If Full-Strength it is exchanged for its two broken HS.

1.132 If Reduced-Strength it is exchanged for one of its broken HS.

       A10.41, G1.13 & G1.132

1.133 In addition, if it breaks by an amount > its ELR (but does not roll an Original 12), the one or two broken HS for which it is exchanged will be of the next-lower Class unless the squad is a Conscript.

1.14 CASUALTY REDUCTION: All Casualty Reduction results, regardless of how they were caused, apply in the normal manner (i.e., as per A7.302) to all types of Japanese Personnel. A berserk or Unarmed Japanese squad that suffers any type of break result suffers Casualty Reduction instead of Step Reduction.

EX: Casualty Reduction, regardless of how it occurred, causes a Full- or Reduced-Strength Japanese squad (whether berserk/Unarmed or not) to be exchanged for one of its same-Class, unbroken HS. Casualty Reduction, regardless of cause, eliminates a HS or crew counter, and Wounds a SMC.

EX: A 4-4-8, or 3-4-8, Elite Japanese squad whose MC DR is an Original 12 (Casualty MC; A10.31) is exchanged for one of its broken (and DM) 2-3-8 HS if it does not fail the MC by an amount > its ELR. If that Casualty MC DR also exceeds its ELR it is exchanged for a broken (and DM) 1st-Line 2-3-7 HS instead—in effect being first Replaced by its respective 1st-Line squad, which is then Casualty Reduced to a 1st-Line HS, which then breaks.

EX: A 3-3-6, or 2-2-6, Conscript Japanese squad whose MC DR is an Original 12 (Casualty MC; A10.31) is exchanged for one of its broken (and DM) 1-2-6 HS if it does not fail the MC by an amount > its ELR. If that Casualty MC DR also exceeds its ELR it is eliminated instead—in effect being first Replaced by one of its broken HS (1.125), which is then Casualty Reduced (i.e., eliminated; A7.302).

1.15 UNARMED: A Full- or Reduced-Strength Japanese squad that becomes Unarmed is exchanged for a normal Unarmed squad. An Unarmed Japanese squad that becomes re-armed (A20.551-.552) is exchanged for a Full-Strength Conscript squad. An Unarmed, non-prisoner Japanese unit may enter a Location that contains ≥ one Known enemy unit, and can engage in CC vs Personnel using its "(1)" FP factor (A20.5), just as if it were armed. An Unarmed, non-prisoner Japanese unit is an obstacle to enemy movement (see A20.54). All other rules for Unarmed units apply unchanged.

1.16 DEPLOYING: A Japanese squad Deploys in the normal manner [EXC: if Reduced-Strength, it is exchanged for just one of its HS].

1.17 SMOKE: Japanese Elite and 1st-Line squads may attempt to place Smoke Grenades as per A24.1. Japanese Elite squads may attempt WP placement as well, as per A24.3.

1.2 HS: All armed Japanese HS break and rally in the normal manner (A8.31, A10.3, A10.4, A10.6, etc.; see also 1.14), but do not Disrupt (A19.12). Two Good-Order, same-Class Japanese HS Recombine (A1.32) into a Full-Strength squad of that Class.

1.3 CREWS: Japanese infantry-crew counters have Full- and Reduced-Strength sides like Japanese squad counters (1.1). A Full-Strength Japanese infantry-crew that fails an IFT/Collateral-Attack/Bombardment/FPF MC, or 'breaks' due to a KIA result (A7.301) [errata included], or suffers a dr "1" sniper attack is Step-Reduced in the same manner as a Full-Strength Japanese squad (1.11-.121). A Reduced-Strength infantry-crew that suffers such a result is likewise Step-Reduced—but to a broken vehicle-crew. A Full- or Reduced-Strength infantry-crew that suffers a break result as per 1.13 (including breaking voluntarily) is exchanged for a broken vehicle-crew. [EXC to all: if it suffers Casualty Reduction; see 1.14.] No infantry-crew may Deploy, nor may vehicle crews Recombine.

A Japanese vehicle-crew breaks and rallies in the normal manner (A8.31, A10.3, A10.4, A10.6, etc.; see also 1.14). A Japanese vehicle-crew counter that did not set-up/enter as an Inherent crew is considered an infantry-crew for purposes of A21.22; therefore, an Inherent Japanese vehicle-crew that becomes an onboard Personnel unit should have its ID recorded on paper if A21.22 could come into effect during the scenario. Japanese Inherent crews function in the standard manner (D5, etc.).

EX: A 2-2-8 crew undergoes a six-FP Small Arms attack that causes a 1MC on the IFT; if the crew fails that MC it is flipped over to its 1-2-8 side. Had the crew been a 1-2-8 instead, failing that MC would have caused it to be exchanged for a broken (and DM) 1-2-7 crew (and if it subsequently rallied, this 1-2-7 would still be considered an infantry-crew, not a vehicle-crew). [EXC to all: If a crew rolls a Casualty MC it is eliminated; 1.14.] A 2-2-8 crew that suffers a dr "1" sniper attack is flipped over to its 1-2-8 side. A 1-2-8 or 1-2-7 crew that suffers a dr "1" sniper attack becomes a broken (and DM) 1-2-7 crew.

1.4 SMC: Japanese SMC have no Broken side, and cannot break voluntarily . A Japanese SMC (including a wounded leader) who suffers a break result due to any cause is instead Wounded [EXC: an already-wounded heroic SMC (including a wounded T-H Hero; 1.421) is eliminated (A15.2), as is a leader who suffers a Casualty MC (1.41)].5 If he passes his Wound Severity dr he is flipped over to his Wounded side (unless he was already wounded) to indicate the effects on his morale, movement and leadership. Japanese SMC do not take PTC (including LLTC) and do not Pin [EXC: Minimum Move (A4.134); Wounds (A17.2) [errata included]; Collapsed Hut PTC/Pin; 5.5]; however, any PTC/Pin result vs a concealed Japanese SMC can cause the loss of his concealment. Even a lone Japanese SMC may conduct an Infantry OVR (A4.15; see also 1.62).

1.41 LEADERS: The rank structure of unwounded Japanese leaders is as follows (in descending order): 10-2, 10-1, 10-0, 9-1, 9-0, [errata included] 8-0, 8 +1. A Japanese leader who fails a MC by an amount > his ELR is not subject to Replacement. A Japanese leader who suffers a Casualty MC (A10.31) is eliminated (see D5.341 for an armor leader). A Japanese Infantry/Cavalry leader increases the Morale Level of all other non-berserk Japanese Infantry/Cavalry units [EXC: another leader] in his Location by one (A.18 applies). A Japanese leader [EXC: Inherent armor leader] is equivalent to a Commissar for all rally and berserk purposes; i.e., he bestows all the same benefits and penalties given in A25.222-.223. See also 1.62.

EX: A Good Order Japanese 10-0 leader stacked with a broken elite HS raises the latter's morale from 8 to 9, thus in effect adding a -1 DRM to its Rally Attempt DR as per A25.222. Should the 10-0 become berserk at any time while stacked with the HS, the latter would automatically go berserk too, without having to take the A15.41-mandated Berserk NTC (A25.223).

1.411 ARMOR LEADERS: When a Japanese Inherent crew that has not suffered a Stun/Recall during the scenario is forced to Abandon a vehicle, any armor leader who is part of that crew [EXC: a "6 +1 armor leader"; D3.45] may immediately (but at no other time) become an Infantry leader counter of the next-lower quality. An armor leader who becomes an Infantry leader cannot become an armor leader again.6

EX: A tank with a Japanese 9-1 armor leader is destroyed but the crew survives. As the crew counter is placed onboard, and before any attack of any kind (even minefield or Residual FP) can be conducted vs it, the Japanese player may also place onboard a 9-0 Infantry leader stacked with that crew. If he does, that armor leader permanently ceases to exist.

1.42 HEROES: Japanese Heroes can be created via Heat of Battle (A15.1). In addition, Japanese squads and HS may create "suicide" Heroes:

1.421 TANK-HUNTER (T-H) HEROES: G1.421 Tank-Hunter Hero Creation An armed, Good Order Japanese Infantry squad/HS that in its MPh is within eight MF of, or at the start of its APh is ADJACENT to, or during the enemy MPh is able to conduct a CC Reaction Fire attack vs, or at the start of the CCPh is the DEFENDER in the same Location as, an enemy AFV in its LOS may at that time make one attempt to create a T-H Hero7 [EXC: no attempt is allowed if that MMC is marked with a Prep/Bounding/First/Final Fire or Pin/TI counter]. It does so by making a Final dr (∆) of ≤ 3; cumulative drm are +1 if a HS, +2 if a Conscript, and -2 if possessing a DC it will give to that Hero (see 1.424). An Original 6 dr pins that MMC unless it is conducting a Banzai Charge.

A T-H Hero creation attempt is a "?"-loss activity (A12.141). An attempt made in the MMC's MPh costs no MF (and hence qualifies neither it nor any resulting Hero as a target of Defensive First Fire), but if it is to be made after the MMC has expended MF it must await the resolution of all Defensive First Fire prompted by the MMC's immediately preceding MF expenditure. An attempt made in the CCPh must await the determination of any possible Ambush, and the resolution of all (if any) ATTACKER Ambush attacks, in that Location. A stack of MMC may attempt to create T-H Heroes "simultaneously", but must make individual dr; if this is done during a friendly MPh/APh, those MMC who rolled "simultaneously" can then move/advance in that phase only as a stack. When a T-H Hero is created (or voluntarily loses HIP; 1.422), the AFV (or unit/Fortification; 1.424) that allowed his appearance becomes his Designated Target. If ≥ two such targets qualify, the T-H Hero's owner must choose one of them as the Designated Target.

In each Player Turn, an allowed MMC can theoretically create two T-H Heroes; one each in the MPh and APh when it is the ATTACKER, or one each in the MPh and CCPh when it is the DEFENDER. However, the total number of T-H Heroes allowed per scenario may not exceed 10% (20% vs Russians) of the number of Japanese squads (only) in the OB prior to 1943, 20% of that number in 1943, 33% of that number in 1944, and 50% of that number in 1945 (FRU in all cases). The total allowed number of T-H Heroes yet to appear onboard is kept track of in the same manner as PF shots (C13.31), using the T-H Heroes Remaining marker.

       G1.421 & G1.424

1.422 HIP: In a 1944-45 scenario in which at least some Japanese units set up onboard and there may be > 1 AFV in the enemy OB,{J10} any number of T-H Heroes (up to the allowed total; 1.421) may be set up using HIP in lieu of being created during play. A hidden T-H Hero can lose HIP involuntarily in the normal manner [EXC: it cannot affect Searching/Mopping-Up casualties (A12.154)] {J10}, but can lose it voluntarily only at the times and in the circumstances in which a T-H Hero may be created during play [EXC: the presence of a "creating" MMC is not required]. When his HIP is lost, all rules for T-H Heroes go into effect for him [EXC: he might be eliminated immediately; 1.425].

       G1.422

1.423 USE: A T-H Hero has no Hero DRM (A15.24), may not possess a Gun or a SW other than an ATMM (1.4231) or a DC Transferred to him as per 1.424 (thus he may not use MOL even if his side is otherwise allowed to), may not attempt Recovery (or Transfer except to receive a DC as per 1.424), may not be a Spotter (C9.3), may not detonate a Set DC [EXC: 1.6121] {J10} and may not become PRC. When a T-H Hero is created or voluntarily loses HIP, he must immediately:

•   make a Banzai Charge (1.5; see also below) at his Designated Target AFV, if it is the Japanese MPh; or

•   make a CC Reaction Fire attack vs that AFV, if it is the opponent's MPh; or

•   advance into that AFV's Location, if it is the Japanese APh; or

•   remain in that AFV's Location, if it is the CCPh.

During the CCPh the T-H Hero must also attempt to attack that AFV if in its Location. Assault/Hazardous Movement being employed by the creating MMC does not apply to the T-H Hero, nor does that MMC's CX status (if any). A T-H Hero created during a friendly MPh by a MMC that has already expended MF has two MF (one MF, if that MMC is conducting a Banzai Charge) deducted from his eight-MF allotment for each MF that MMC has already expended, but conducts his Banzai-Charge MPh before that MMC continues its MPh. While he is doing so, that MMC and all other units moving with it as a stack/Impulse are temporarily considered non-moving [EXC: they can still be affected by new Spraying Fire, Fire Lane and Aerial attacks directed at a T-H Hero but also hitting their Location, and their current movement status (FFMO/FFNAM, etc.) would, apply]. A vehicle may not make a Motion Attempt (D2.401) based on a T-H Hero's MF expenditure.

A T-H Hero making a Banzai Charge does not have his Morale Level increased by one, and must move individually (i.e., as part of neither a stack nor a multi-unit Impulse). During his Charge he may enter an enemy-occupied hex only if it contains his Designated Target or is ADJACENT to that Target. A T-H Hero who is in his Designated Target's Location during his MPh may make a CC attack vs it at that time, provided he has survived all Defensive First Fire allowed against him by his immediately previous MF expenditure; that Location is then marked with a CC counter. A T-H Hero who is ADJACENT to his Designated Target at the start of his APh must advance into that Target's Location if able to do so.

       G1.423

1.4231 CC & ATMM: G1.4231 Tank-Hunter Hero ATMM A T-H Hero has one FP which is usable only in CC vs Personnel (hence for rout [A10.5] and Interdiction purposes he is Unarmed and has no Normal Range), and has a CCV of 5. In addition, before making his CC attack he may if unpinned {J10} roll for an ATMM:8 a Final dr of ≤ 3 succeeds; however, an Original 6 dr does not pin him (1.4). The only possible drm is a +1 which applies if the scenario is pre-1944. No other Japanese unit may roll for an ATMM. A T-H Hero attacking/defending together with a MMC merely adds one to that MMC's FP (A11.14) or CCV (A11.5); however, vs a vehicle, his ATMM DRM (if any) can apply to that combined attack (C13.73).

       G1.4231

1.424 DC HERO: A unit allowed to create a T-H Hero may, if possessing a DC, make such an attempt in its own MPh provided it is within eight MF of and has a LOS to any enemy unit/Gun and/or to any enemy-Controlled hex that contains a Known Fortification counter; being within eight MF of and having a LOS to an enemy AFV is not required in this case. If the T-H Hero is created (the DC adds a -2 drm to this attempt; 1.421), that DC is automatically Transferred to him and he is then termed a DC Hero. A DC Hero is treated the same as a T-H Hero except as stated otherwise. A DC Hero may not Place/Throw a DC in the normal manner, and may not make a CC attack.

A DC Hero must declare as his Designated Target (and hence during his MPh must Banzai Charge) the enemy unit/Gun/Fortification that allowed his creation. When in that Target's Location (or hex, for a pillbox) during or at the end of his MPh, he may detonate his DC (even if Pinned) {J10}at that time (and does not expend a MF as per A23.61 to Place it), provided he has survived all Defensive First Fire allowed against him by his immediately previous MF expenditure. The DC attack is otherwise resolved as if Placed [EXC: if he is above a Bank or Panji counter, see 8.212 or 9.211 respectively; if he is above a Wire counter, treat DC as Placed for purposes of Wire Clearance (B26.51) and as if Thrown for all other purposes].{J10} See also 1.612.

Any unbroken Japanese Infantry unit possessing a DC may, in lieu of Placing it in the normal manner (A23.3; 1.612), detonate it immediately during or at the end of its own MPh in the same manner as a DC Hero (and consequently is eliminated as per 1.425).

       G1.424 & G1.5

       A7.81 & G1.424

       G1.421 & G1.424

       A4.43 & G1.424

1.4241 FORTIFIED BUILDING: If a DC Hero's Designated Target is in a Fortified Building Location he cannot enter (B23.922), while ADJACENT to that Location he may expend two MF during his MPh as if attempting to enter it (or one MF if entry would be via a stairwell). If he survives all Defensive First Fire allowed by that MF expenditure, he may then immediately detonate his DC (1.424 applies) in an attempt to create a Breach as per B23.9221. If a building's Fortified status is unknown to a T-H Hero when he attempts to enter it, his building-entry expenditure still qualifies him to detonate his DC in the same manner.

1.425 LOSS: If not eliminated beforehand, a non-hidden T-H Hero is removed from play immediately upon making his CC/DC attack vs his Designated Target (even if his DC's Effects DR is ≥ its X#).9 If he does not make such an attack, he is removed either at the end of the Player Turn in which he was created (or lost HIP) or, if in Melee at that time, immediately when he is no longer in Melee. If a T-H Hero's Designated Target is eliminated before he can reach/attack it, he is immediately eliminated. The elimination of a DC Hero also eliminates his DC.

A T-H Hero who loses HIP status involuntarily (see 1.422) is immediately eliminated unless his HIP loss occurs either during the enemy MPh and he makes an immediate Reaction Fire attack (D7.2) or during a CCPh in which he is a DEFENDER in the same Location with an enemy AFV {J10} (A11.19). If a hidden T-H Hero who is the only DEFENDER unit in his Location is eliminated due to being involuntarily revealed by the entrance of his Location during the enemy MPh (A12.15; but note also G.4), that enemy unit/stack is not returned to its previous Location and forced to end its MPh; it remains in the (now dead) hero's Location and may continue its MPh if otherwise able.

       G.4 & G1.425

1.5 BANZAI CHARGE: A Banzai Charge is the Japanese version of a Human Wave (A25.23), and uses all rules applicable to Human Waves except as stated otherwise. Any Good Order Japanese Infantry unit (even one SMC) may declare a Banzai Charge, even if ADJACENT to an enemy unit; hence a Banzai Charge does not require multiple MMC in ≥ three ADJACENT hexes. However, units in different hexes wishing to participate in the same Banzai Charge must still be ADJACENT to ≥ one other such unit in order to be part of that chain. A leader must participate in each Banzai Charge that includes ≥ one MMC. [EXC to all: a T-H Hero who is created (or voluntarily loses HIP) in a Japanese MPh must make his own Banzai Charge as per 1.423].

"Banzai" and "Lax" markers have been provided for player convenience. Each unit/stack that performs a Banzai Charge should be marked as Lax (see 1.6) at the end of its MPh if it is in (or able to advance into) an enemy-occupied Location.

       G1.424 & G1.5

       A25.23 & G1.5

1.6 MISCELLANEOUS: Good Order Elite and 1st-Line Japanese Infantry (including crews) are Stealthy, while Conscripts are Lax [EXC: all Japanese Infantry that make a Banzai Charge are Lax for the rest of that Player Turn].

1.61 ORDNANCE & OBA: Japanese ordnance uses black TH numbers unless captured. Japanese OBA receives five black and two red cards/chits, and achieves Accuracy (C1.3) on a Final dr of ≤ 1.

1.611 MMG/HMG/ATR: A Japanese ATR/MMG/HMG (including .50-cal) SW being fired by a Japanese squad/HS has its B# and Multiple ROF lowered by one (A.11 applies). However, these SW are not considered crewed weapons  for Captured-use purposes (A21.13).

EX: A Japanese ATR being fired by a U.S. HS is subject to normal—not doubled—Captured-use penalties.

1.612 DC: If otherwise able and allowed to, Japanese [EXC: DC Hero; see 1.424] may Place/Throw. DC into their own Location (A23.61). A DC Placed in the normal manner (A23.3) but in its possessor's own Location can attack only enemy/Melee units (A7.4) and terrain/Fortifications. Any DC attack (including MPh detonation; 1.424) made vs an AFV in the same Location as the unit possessing that DC requires a Target Facing dr (D3.2) and a Position DR (C7.346). See also 1.424.

       G1.612

       A15.431, A23.6, A23.61, & G1.612

1.6121 A-T SET DC: During his onboard setup for a 1945 scenario vs other than Russians, the Japanese player may set up ≤ 25% (FRU) of the DC in his OB unpossessed in paved/unpaved road [EXC: bridge] Locations. Such DC are termed A-T Set DC,10 and are treated as normal Set DC except as stated otherwise. An A-T Set DC always uses HIP, even if its road Location contains no Concealment Terrain. An A-T Set DC is never revealed by enemy LOS, but is eliminated by OBA as per A9.74 or when its Location is Searched by the enemy. It may be detonated only by the one Infantry unit (even a hidden T-H Hero) predesignated on paper during setup as allowed to do so; detonating it is not a "?"-loss activity. An A-T Set DC may be detonated only as Defensive First Fire, and only as a vehicle enters its Location using the road. If the DC successfully detonates, the vehicle becomes a Blazing Wreck (or, if it has no Wreck side, is simply eliminated with no PRC survival); if Infantry are using Armored Assault with it they are considered attacked by a normal Set DC. Once set up, an A-T Set DC cannot be Recovered.

       A4.132, A6.12, B3.43 & G1.6121

       A23.7 & G1.6121

1.613 DAISY CHAIN: Prior to his setup, the Japanese player may always convert any/all available A-T mine factors to Daisy Chains (B28.531).

1.62 MORALE: Japanese are exempt from taking PAATC (inclusive of A12.41) and the NTC for an Infantry OVR (A4.15). They do not Disrupt, nor will they surrender in the RtPh. Unbroken Japanese treat LLMC as LLTC, and if Encircled do not have their Morale Level lowered by one. On a Final Heat of Battle DR of ≥ 9, Japanese become berserk (A15.5) [EXC: if in a pillbox they become Battle Hardened instead]. Japanese cannot create leaders (A18), but may still attempt Self-Rally (including automatic rally on an Original 2 DR as per A18.11). For SMC see also 1.4-.41.

1.621 NO-QUARTER/PRISONERS: In scenarios set in/after 6/42, No Quarter (A20.3) is always in effect and Mopping Up cannot be used; these apply to both the Japanese and their opponents. Japanese may conduct Massacres (A20.4), but if taken prisoner will not attempt Escape (A20.55). A non-Russian Interrogating a Japanese MMC in a 1944-45 scenario may add a -1 DRM to his Interrogation DR. See also 1.641.

1.622 BATTLEFIELD INTEGRITY: Step Reduction from Full-Strength to Reduced-Strength never affects the current Japanese Casualty Tally. A Full-or Reduced-Strength infantry-crew that for any reason is exchanged for a vehicle-crew is treated for Casualty Tally purposes like a squad being Reduced to a HS (A16.11). The BPV of a unit that eliminates itself as per 1.641 is not added to the Japanese Casualty Tally. The Japanese side may always add a -2 DRM to its Integrity Check DR. Otherwise, Battlefield Integrity applies unchanged when in effect.

EX: The Japanese Casualty Tally does not change if a Full-Strength 4-4-7 squad is Step-Reduced to a 3-4-7 squad, since no MMC was lost. However, if a 4-4-7 suffers Casualty Reduction, or if a 1st-line Reduced-Strength 3-4-7 squad suffers Step Reduction or Casualty Reduction, the Japanese Casualty Tally is increased by seven (13 [Full-Strength BPV] - 6 [HS BPV] =7), because a HS was lost. A Full- or Reduced-Strength infantry-crew or 2nd-line squad that is captured in CC or eliminated by the enemy increases the Japanese Casualty Tally by its normal BPV of ten; while a captured or thusly eliminated vehicle-crew increases it by eight, regardless of whether or not that vehicle-crew is broken and/or had originally been an infantry-crew. A Full- or Reduced-Strength infantry-crew that is exchanged for a (broken or not) 1-2-7 vehicle-crew increases the Japanese Casualty Tally by two (10 [infantry-crew BPV]-8 [vehicle-crew BPV] =2).

1.63 CONCEALMENT: Japanese Infantry receive a -2 drm to their Concealment dr (A12.122). A Search dr (A12.152) made by the opponent of the Japanese receives a +2 drm unless the only Concealment Terrain he is attempting to Search is building/rubble (including woods-building/woods-rubble) terrain.

1.631 HIP: The Japanese player in a daytime scenario may always use HIP for ≤ 10% (FRU) of the MMC squad-equivalents (A5.5) in his onboard-setup OB and any SMC/SW [EXC: DC Hero; 1.424] that set(s) up stacked with them. In a night scenario the Japanese player may always use HIP for ≤ 25% of his MMC squad-equivalents that set up onboard, even if he is not the Scenario Defender—and if he is the Scenario Defender he also receives Dummy counters equal to the number of MMC squad-equivalents in his OB; otherwise, E1.2 applies unchanged. These HIP capabilities are in addition to HIP granted for any other reason(s) [EXC: E1.2].

EX: The Japanese onboard-setup OB for a daytime scenario includes ten squads and two infantry-crews. Since the two crews are equivalent to a squad (A5.5), and disregarding Deployment (A1.31), he may use HIP for one squad and both crews—or for two squads even if the crews are manning Guns that would set up using HIP anyway (A12.34). (Note that a crew set up manning a Gun counts as a squad for stacking—not for HIP squad-equivalency—purposes; and that leaders do not count towards total squad-equivalency for Japanese HIP purposes.) If it were a night scenario he could use HIP in the same manner, but for three squads or for two squads and both crews and even if he were not the Scenario Defender. In all cases, if the scenario is DYO he does not purchase this HIP—it is free (1.66); and any HIP granted by, e.g., A12.34/SSR/DYO-purchase simply increases the total number of units he can set up hidden. Hence in a daytime DYO scenario the Japanese player could purchase HIP for 10% of his MMC squad-equivalents but could set up 20% of them hidden (see footnote 7 in H1.6); at night he could set up all of his MMC squad-equivalents hidden by purchasing HIP for 75% of them.

1.632 PILLBOX: A pillbox set up in Concealment Terrain by the Japanese player may always use HIP, and is revealed as if it were set up in jungle (see G.2). The use of HIP includes the pillbox's occupant(s), and is in addition to the percentage of units otherwise allowed to use HIP. Whenever the Japanese player sets up a pillbox he also receives the use of a tunnel which has that pillbox as one of its entrances. He cannot use the tunnel (i.e., it does not exist) if it does not otherwise meet its standard "setup" requirements (all tunnel rules [B8.6-.62] apply in the normal manner), and he always has the option of secretly recording that it does not exist. A Japanese unit in a pillbox may move through its tunnel even if an enemy unit is in the pillbox's hex. More than one tunnel may connect to the same Location. See also 1.62.

       G1.632

1.64 CC: Whenever ≥ one unbroken Japanese Infantry/Cavalry unit is the ATTACKER in CC/Melee or Ambushes the enemy in CC, that CC/Melee automatically becomes Hand-to-Hand (J2.31) unless every such Japanese unit participating in it was Ambushed in that phase and/or is Withdrawing/ pinned. However, Hand-to-Hand CC can never be used by/vs any vehicle(s)/PRC/pillbox-occupant(s). Each Japanese Hand-to-Hand CC attack receives an extra -1 DRM unless every Japanese Infantry/Cavalry unit participating in that attack is pinned/Unarmed.11 Hand-to-Hand CC may be voluntarily declared only in Deluxe ASL and RED BARRICADES. A Reduced-Strength Japanese unit retains its Full-Strength CCV. See also 1.62.

1.641 HARA-KIRI: Immediately prior to resolving a CC Capture Attempt (A20.22; A20.54) vs a Japanese Personnel unit, that Japanese unit—even if it had declared a CC attack (but not if it has already made that attack)— may attempt to eliminate itself. If berserk/heroic it may automatically eliminate itself. Otherwise it must pass a NTC (∆), to which the following DRM can apply: -2 if it is defending together with another SMC (A11.14) that has just eliminated itself; -1 if it is Inexperienced; +1 if it is Unarmed. If a SMC and MMC (or two SMC) are defending together, the best SMC must attempt (or commit) Hara-Kiri first; for this purpose, all heroic types are considered equal (and better than any non-heroic unit type). The opponent does receive Casualty VP for each unit eliminated by Hara-Kiri [EXC: non-leader Hero; 1.65]. If a unit attempting Hara-Kiri fails its NTC, it may not make a CC attack in that phase and that Capture attempt vs it receives an additional -1 DRM (maximum of one such DRM per Capture attempt).

1.65 VP: The opponent does not gain Casualty VP when a Japanese Full-Strength squad or infantry-crew is flipped over to its Reduced-Strength side, nor when a Reduced-Strength infantry-crew is exchanged for a broken vehicle-crew. An eliminated Japanese leader grants Casualty VP as per its currently face-up side. An eliminated Japanese hero of any type [EXC: heroic leader] grants no Casualty VP. See also 1.641.

1.66 DYO: No Reduced-Strength Japanese squad/crew may be purchased. The BPV cost of raising the Japanese SAN (H1.29) is half the normal cost. The Japanese Leadership Generation factor (H1.8) is "5". For leadership quality (H1.81), use 9-0 (instead of 8-0) leaders as the basis for the Japanese OB, and an 8-0 for each 7-0 normally allotted. See here for the Japanese versions of various DYO tables and charts. The specially allowed uses of HIP (1.422; 1.631-.632) cost no purchase points. Generally, Japanese Conscripts should appear in a scenario OB only to represent normally non-combatant (e.g., base and construction) Japanese troops. Japan's allies, such as the Indian National Army or Chinese "puppet" troops, should be represented by Axis Minor units (which for the most part should be Conscripts) and rules, and are not considered Japanese for any purpose.

1.661 AFV (H1.4): The BPV (prior to any addition for optional armament) of each AFV purchased by the Japanese player for a 1944-45 scenario is halved (FRU) (/that AFV will be set up beneath a separately-purchased Trench counter (see B27.51-.52).

1.662 OBA (H1.5): The final cost of a Japanese Bombardment (H1.53) is further increased by 50% (FRU), as is the final cost of each Japanese OBA battery that will have Creeping Barrage capability (E12.7).

1.6621 AIR SUPPORT (E7.): For a pre-1939 scenario vs Chinese, the Japanese Air Support Availability numbers are "54". Japanese Observation Planes (E7.6) may be used only for OBA of ≥ 100mm, and their availability is 1937-43 inclusive.

1.663 FORTIFICATIONS (H1.6): The BPV of each "?", trench (excluding A-T ditch), pillbox and tunnel purchased by the Japanese side is halved (FRU). The halved pillbox cost includes its Inherent tunnel (1.632), even if that tunnel is not used. The BPV of all wire and all mine factors [EXC: A-T factors used as Daisy Chains] purchased by the Japanese side is increased by 50% (FRU).

1.664 PARATROOPERS: Japanese paratroopers may not be purchased prior to 1942. Japanese paratroopers retain possession of (i.e., drop with, as Inherent contents of a ⅝" parachute) LMG and light mortars. Japanese ½" parachutes may not drop as part of ⅝" parachute Sticks; instead, they must drop in separate Wings (of ≤ five Sticks each), with each Stick composed of one or two ½" parachutes.