Please enable JavaScript to view this site.

Advanced Squad Leader Rulebook Updated and Erraticized

12. LANDING CRAFT

[Note: This rules Section does not apply to amphibians (D16)]

12.1 Eight types of Landing Craft (LC) are provided in GUNG HO. The LCP(L), LCVP, LCA, LCM(3), LCT(4) AND LCI(S) are U.S./British-(A25.4) types, while the Daihatsu and Shohatsu are Japanese. LC are treated as boats (E5.) except as stated otherwise, but the rules specific to assault boats and rafts (E5.11-.122) do not apply. LC are also considered vehicles; however, they are not treated as AFV except as specifically indicated.

12.11 INHERENT CREW: Each LC, regardless of its nationality/type, has an Inherent crew whose Morale Level is 8. Normal rules for CE status and Collateral attacks apply except as stated otherwise. A LC Inherent crew can never be BU or claim any BU benefit. An armor leader can be neither part of a LC's Inherent crew nor generated (H1.43) by a LC.

12.111 STUN/RECALL: A LC does not suffer Recall due to MA disablement. A LC Inherent crew can be Stunned, but does not BU (12.11) cannot break, and can only be eliminated if the LC is eliminated (see 12.691).{J10}. A Recall due to attack effects (D5.341-.342) suffered by a LC Inherent crew is always treated as a Stun result only; i.e., no Recall ensues. However, the +1 DRM effects of all Stun results vs a LC Inherent crew are cumulative. For Stun see also 12.13, and for Recall see also 14.232. A LC whose crew receives a Stun result does not Stop; however, if it is not Beached/immobilized, the attacker immediately makes a Random Direction dr for the LC and repositions it within its present hex so that the randomly determined hexside lies within its VCA27 and, if the Stun occurs during the LC's MPh, it is then assumed to have expended all of its remaining MP (if any) in that new facing. Being Stunned does not itself make a LC Immobile (12.2).

12.112 CREW COUNTER: A LC Inherent crew cannot voluntarily Abandon its LC, nor is it subject to Immobilization TC. However, whenever a LC Inherent crew Survives (see 12.691), it is represented by a 1-2-65 vehicle-crew counter of some nationality (e.g., Chinese, Italian or Axis Minor) that is not in play. Such a crew counter is assumed to be of the same nationality as the LC it came from and to have all normal vehicle-crew qualities, but is considered Inexperienced Personnel [EXC: if firing a SW MG or vehicle-mounted AAMG, the Inexperienced B# penalty (A19.32) does not apply].

12.113 INEXPERIENCED: If a LC's Inherent crew is defined as Inexperienced, that LC has its MP allotment reduced by one. An Inexperienced LC Inherent crew has no other effect [EXC: (un)Beaching during Heavy Surf; 13.442].

12.114 VP: A LC crew's Casualty VP value is "1", whether it is Inherent or not.

12.12 PASSENGERS: G12.12 LC Passenger PP Cost When used in reference to a LC, the term "Passenger" (or "Passengers"—even when mentioned in acronym form as "PRC") refers collectively to all Personnel/SW/vehicles/wrecks/Guns /horses/boats (and the PRC of Passenger vehicles) being carried by or (un)loading from/onto that LC. All LC may carry Personnel/SW, but only those having a Ramp (12.41) may carry vehicle(s)/Gun(s)/horse(s)/boats [EXC: no LC may be a Passenger]. Within these restrictions, a LC may carry any combination of the items listed in the LC Passenger PP Cost Chart on the Chapter G divider, with the total indicated PP applying to the LC's PP capacity. A LC retains all unpossessed equipment (and all wrecks) aboard it.

12.121 VEHICLE/GUN/SW: A vehicle that is a LC Passenger may itself carry/tow Passengers/SW/Gun(s) if otherwise able and allowed to. A Mule LC Passenger may Animal-Pack a Gun as per 10.1. The VCA of each vehicle, as well as the CA of each Gun, that is a LC Passenger must coincide with that LC's VCA (or "rear" VCA); see also 14.23. A Passenger vehicle cannot claim or retain Motion status independently of its LC.

12.122 MORALE: All Personnel and Inherent-crew Passengers aboard a LC are considered to have a Morale Level of 8.

12.123 BU/CE: LC Passengers [EXC: certain large vehicles/Guns as per 12.65 and 12.671] are considered BU through their/the-LC's armored Target Facing(s). LC Passengers can never be CE or claim any CE benefit(s)— even if not normally allowed to be BU (e.g., a Carrier HS/crew [EXC: see 12.674]).

12.124 ACTIONS: Aside from (un)loading (12.4-.421; 12.45), the only actions allowed by LC Passengers are MC/TC resolution (∆; 12.13), unhooking  of Guns  (12.42),  wreck removal  (12.43)  and  SW  Transfer/Recovery.

12.13 MC/TC: While aboard a LC, all Inherent crews and Personnel Passengers (even the PRC of Passenger vehicles) are immune to Immobilization TC, PTC, LLMC, LLTC and booby-trap attacks, and are not subject to Pin/Heat-of-Battle results. A LC crew never breaks while Inherent; i.e., one that suffers a break result while receiving no, or a reduced, CE DRM (12.6; D5.311) always suffers a Stun result instead (see also 12.111). While aboard a LC, any Personnel Passenger that suffers a break/Step-Reduction result for any reason always suffers a Casualty Reduction result instead. No leadership/heroic modifier may be applied by/to a unit aboard a LC.

EX: An attack by Small-Arms/MG fire vs an LCP(L) through its unarmored side Target Facing— or through its armored front Target Facing from a Location with sufficient elevation advantage to lower its CE DRM to < +2—will Stun that LC's crew if it fails any MC caused by that attack. A SMC/MMC aboard an LCM(3)—even if a Passenger on a vehicle being carried by that LC—suffers Casualty Reduction whenever it fails a MC.

       G12.13 & G12.671

12.14 RIDERS: No type of Rider is allowed on a LC or on any type of conveyance aboard that LC.

12.15 STACKING: LC PRC (including Passenger vehicles) do not count towards Location stacking limits (A5.3); therefore, they cannot be Overstacked. However, a LC is Overstacked when in the same Location with any other vehicle that is not a Passenger aboard a LC.

12.151 VEHICLE & INFANTRY STACKS: All ⅝" vehicles [EXC: motorcycles], their PRC and hooked-up Guns, and all wrecks, that are Passengers on the same LC must be stacked together, and are referred to collectively as that LC's Vehicle Stack. Their top-to-bottom arrangement in that Stack represents their front-to-rear positions aboard that LC for (un)loading purposes (12.42-.43). All Personnel counters [EXC: the Passenger(s) of that LC's Passenger vehicle(s) (if any)], and all motorcycles, horses, boats and Pushed Guns, aboard the same LC are referred to collectively as that LC's Infantry Stack. Each Personnel counter in the LC's Infantry Stack is referred to as an Infantry-Passenger (but is still considered a Passenger—not an Infantry-unit). The top-to-bottom arrangement of the Vehicle Stack may not be re-arranged during play, but the Infantry Stack may be re-arranged just as if that LC were an Open Ground land hex (see also 12.45). The number of counters each Stack contains may change due to (un)load-ing/unhooking (12.4-.421; 12.45).

12.2 MOVEMENT: LC expend only MP, and cannot be carried/moved on(to) land (including marsh/swamp) or a frozen Water Obstacle. LC are not paddled, and need no minimum number of Passengers in order to expend MP. The normal movement rate for LC is one MP per Water Obstacle Location entered (even at night) [errata included]. A LC may change its VCA only during its MPh, and must expend one MP per hexspine to do so [EXC: when changing VCA due to a Stun; 12.111]. A LC entering a Location that contains a wreck/friendly-unit [EXC: SMC] in the water must expend one extra MP for each, as part of that Location's COT. LC do not expend Stop MP [EXC: when using Reverse movement (12.22) and/or adjacent to a pier (13.731)], but must expend a Start MP to un-Beach. A LC is considered non-Stopped unless it is Beached/immobilized (or has expended a Stop MP as per 13.731/D2.23; see also 13.4421), and is considered Mobile (even if Stunned) unless it is immobilized/Aground. LC may use Platoon Movement during the MPh, like AFV with radios.

12.21 AGROUND: G12.21 LC Aground (Bog) DR When during its MPh/APh a LC enters a shallow-OCEAN hex (13.4) while at the same time becoming closer (in hexes) to any Beach hex (13.1) that lies within three hexes of that shallow OCEAN hex, that LC's owner must immediately (i.e., before any Beaching/Stopping declaration/attempt as well as before Defensive First Fire) make a Bog DR (∆) [EXC: no such Bog DR is made if Heavy Surf effects (13.441-.447) apply in that hex]. The only DRM is that LC's Bog DRM (the " +#" just to the left of the printed MP allotment on the counter), and a +1 if the hex contains wire and the LC's Target Size is not -3 or -4 (14.52). If the Final DR is ≥ 12, that LC immediately runs Aground; i.e., it Bogs and Beaches in that hex. However, it Beaches within that hex—not across a hexside as per 12.3. Mark the LC with an Aground counter. A LC cannot voluntarily run, and cannot Drift while it is, Aground. One Bog DR is made as per D14.21 if using Platoon Movement.

12.211 FAST AGROUND: G12.211 LC Fast-Aground (Unbogging) dr An otherwise-Mobile LC may attempt to remove its Aground (and thus its Bogged) status at the start of its MPh, provided it has not fired during its PFPh. Removal is attempted by expending as its Start MP an amount of MP equal to an Original dr (instead of the usual one MP for Starting). If that Final dr (∆) is ≤ 4, the LC is freed (even if its total MP allotment is < the Original dr) but is still in the Bog hex and is now considered to be using Reverse movement (12.22); the LC may then use any remaining MP to Stop/change-CA/move-normally. If the Final dr is a 5, the LC becomes Mired (12.212). If the Final dr is ≥ 6, the LC becomes Fast Aground; i.e., it remains Aground (and thus Beached) but is immobilized (D8.1) in that hex. Its Aground counter is flipped to the Fast Aground side, and its Mired counter (if any) is removed. The only possible drm is a +1 if the LC is presently Mired. A LC (or LC wreck) can also become Fast Aground as per 12.69, 13.441, 13.4421 and 13.4422.

12.212 MIRED: If a LC becomes Mired, it is marked with a Mired counter and thereafter receives a +1 drm to its future Bog Removal attempts as long as it is Mired. The Mired drm is not cumulative for being Mired more than once.

12.22 REVERSE: A LC may use Reverse movement as per D2.2-.24, at double its applicable forward-movement entry-cost per hex. It may end its MPh in Reverse Motion (F.11), but may not voluntarily end its MPh while Stopped (unless adjacent to a pier; 13.731).

12.23 DRIFT: LC Drift in a River as per B21.121; otherwise they Drift only in Ocean during Heavy Surf. See 13.12, 13.44 and 13.444.

12.3 (UN)BEACHING: A LC may Beach as per E5.23 across any non-cliff, water-land (including a Beach-OCEAN [13.2] and OCEAN-Hinterland [13.41]) hexside [EXC: LC Beaching can occur during the APh only if Heavy Surf is in effect in the LC's hex (13.44) and only via an (un)Beaching DR (13.442); no LC may Beach onto a bridge]. Position the LC counter to straddle that hexside, but without changing its VCA. A Beached LC is still considered for all purposes to be in that Water Obstacle Location. A LC un-Beaches by declaring such and expending a Start MP (based on a dr if Aground; 12.211); it is then considered to be using Reverse movement, and must Stop as per D2.23 before using forward movement (but note also 12.22). A LC is also Beached when it is Aground (12.21-.211) or a wreck (12.69).

12.4 (UN)LOADING: G12.4 LC (Un)Loading Chart Except as stated otherwise, normal Vehicle—not Boat—(un)loading rules (D6.4-.5; D8.5) apply to LC and their Passengers. A LC Passenger may unload into an enemy-occupied hex. If a LC is Aground (or is Beached across a hexside that is not within its VCA), units may unload from it only into its hex, and do so by expending 25% (FRU) of their MF/MP allotment (plus COT MP if it is a vehicle). There is no D2.14 penalty cost for the presence of the LC in the Location, but Overstacking will apply when a vehicle [EXC: motorcycle] is in the same Location as a LC but is not a Passenger on one. A unit wishing to load onto an Aground LC must be in (or enter, expending that Location's COT to do so—plus, if it is a vehicle, one extra MP for the presence of the LC; D2.14) that LC's Location, then expend 25% (FRU) of its MF/MP allotment (plus, if it is a vehicle, one MP as the LC's COT and one MP to Stop).

12.401  If the LC is Beached across a hexside that lies within its VCA, units may unload from it across the Beached hexside. A unit thusly unloading must expend 25 % (FRU) of its MF/MP allotment (plus COT MP if it is a vehicle); if the unit is unloading to a higher elevation, this % cost is doubled (if expending MF) or increased by four MP. A unit wishing to load follows the reverse of this procedure—but if it is a vehicle it must also expend, after paying the 25% of its MF/MP allotment to load, one MP as the LC's COT and one MP to Stop.

12.402  If the LC is immobilized and in shallow water but is not Beached, only Personnel and their possessed SW may (un)load from/onto it, and may do so only to/from the LC's hex. Such (un)loading requires a 50% (FRU) MF/MP expenditure.

12.403  A vehicle aboard a LC may not expend a Start MP until (but must do so when) it attempts to unload. Passengers (un)loading from/onto a LC may not use Armored Assault, Platoon Movement or Assault Movement, nor may they attempt ESB, during that MPh; however, radioless AFV are automatically assumed to pass a movement NTC (D14.23) for a MPh in which they will (un)load from/onto a LC. An allowed vehicle may (un)load while towing a Gun (unless using Reverse movement; C10.1) by also paying the extra MF/MP for towing. A vehicle may neither unload from a LC onto, nor load onto a LC from, a bridge Location. See also 12.121.

12.404  If a  LC's  printed  MP  allotment  has  been  reduced  by  an Inexperienced-crew-(12.113)/Blaze(s)-(12.68),  it is still assumed (for Defensive First Fire purposes) to expend the required percentage of its printed MP allotment when (un)loading any Passenger(s). If the total required cost for a unit to (un)load from/onto a LC exceeds 100% of that unit's Inherent/printed MF/MP allotment, it can (un)load only by making a Minimum Move [EXC: a vehicle making a Minimum Move to load ends its MPh Stopped].

12.41 RAMP: If "PP" on the LC counter is underlined, that LC has a bow ramp and may carry any type of Passengers as per 12.12. If "PP" is not underlined, that LC may carry only Personnel/SW. A LC's ramp is always considered "up" (i.e., raised) [EXC: it is considered "down" (i.e., lowered) from the time the first Passenger (un)loads from/onto that Beached LC until such time as that LC either expends a Start MP to un-Beach or makes a 12.211 DR in an attempt to remove its Aground status (whichever occurs first); see also 12.43]. There is no MP cost for a LC to raise or lower its ramp. If a LC has no ramp (and/or is immobilized and in shallow water but is not Beached; 12.402) the normal 25% (un)loading cost is increased to 50% (FRU). A LC's ramp cannot be jammed or otherwise damaged or eliminated.

12.42 PASSENGER VEHICLE/GUN: Vehicles may unload from a LC only in the top-to-bottom order of its Vehicle Stack; hence if the topmost ⅝" vehicle cannot/does-not unload, no ⅝" counter beneath it in that Stack can. A vehicle that loads onto a LC is placed at the top of that LC's Vehicle Stack (if any). Hooking up a Gun to a vehicle is NA while both are LC Passengers, but unhooking is allowed just as if the LC were an Open Ground land hex [EXC: unhooking is NA if it would cause the LC's PP capacity to be exceeded]. A Gun thusly unhooked is placed beneath its possessing Infantry-Passenger unit. A SW/Gun may not be (un)Packed while aboard a LC.

12.421 MANHANDLING: Manhandling a Gun, boat or motorcycle from/onto a LC is allowed only if the LC is Beached, but otherwise follows the same procedure as (un)hooking a Gun from/to a towing vehicle (C10.11;C10.2) [EXC: if the LC is Beached across a hexside that lies within its VCA, it and the item being Manhandled start/end the procedure adjacent to each other across that hexside as per 12.401; Manhandling an item off of a LC is NA if any non-motorcycle vehicle is currently aboard that LC]. MF/MP (un)loading costs are assessed as per C10.11 or C10.12 as applicable (possibly modified as per 13.443 if Heavy Surf is in effect). Any resulting TI status does not apply to the LC or its other PRC.

12.43 PASSENGER WRECK: If a non-burning wreck appears in a LC's Vehicle Stack, no ⅝" counter beneath it in that Stack, nor any ⅝" counter in that LC's Infantry Stack, may unload until the wreck has been removed as per D10.42 [EXC: such removal can occur only if the LC is Beached, no ⅝" counter (except for possibly the removing AFV) is stacked above that wreck, and no ⅝" counter lies between that wreck and the removing AFV]. When such removal occurs, the LC's ramp is considered to be down as if it were unloading Passengers. A Passenger vehicle/wreck aboard a LC does not increase the cost to enter the LC or its Location. Each wreck aboard a LC still applies its pre-wreck PP cost to the LC's PP capacity. An Immobile vehicle is considered equivalent to a non-burning wreck for all of the above purposes.

       G12.43

12.44 BLAZE: No unit may board a LC that contains any Blaze(s). A LC that is itself Ablaze (12.68) has no effect on the ability of its Passenger(s) to unload. A burning wreck aboard a LC cannot be removed, so the only Passenger(s) that can possibly unload from it are the vehicle(s) (and their PRC/towed-Guns) stacked above that burning wreck in the Vehicle Stack and that LC's Infantry-Passenger(s) (and their possessed SW).

12.45 PASSENGER-VEHICLE PRC: Unless otherwise prohibited (e.g., by the LC's PP capacity; 12.12), PRC [EXC: a LC's Inherent crew; Riders are NA (12.14)] may (un)load from/onto a LC's Passenger vehicle(s) to/from the LC itself during that LC's MPh, just as if the LC were an Open Ground land hex [EXC: no FFMO/FFNAM/Overstacking penalties apply]. Their MF expenditures do not affect, and are not affected by, the LC's MP expenditures [EXC: all such MF/MP expenditures are governed by the "simultaneous expenditure" of MF and MP (12.4) during any MPh in which such a Passenger/crew also unloads from the LC itself (or boards it and then becomes a Passenger/crew of a vehicle aboard that LC)].

12.5 NON-CC ATTACKS FROM/BY LC: The Inherent weapon(s) of a LC may Prep Fire only if the LC is Fast Aground and Inherently crewed. All penalties for moving/Motion/non-Stopped/AFPh fire apply in the normal manner. Cumulative Stun DRM (if any; 12.111) also apply. A LC may not conduct an OVR, nor may LC PRC place/fire SMOKE. LC Passengers may not attack in any way.

       G12.5

12.6 NON-CC ATTACKS vs LC: Depending on the type of attack, whether an armored Target Facing is considered to have been struck, and the firer's elevation advantage (if any; D5.311), LC are treated as either AFV (i.e., armored) or unarmored targets—never as boats. OT rules apply to OT LC through their armored Target Facing(s) as if they were OT AFV. Unlike an amphibian (D16.3), being in a Water Obstacle does not make a LC a HD, Very Small target. A LC's down ramp does not make its front Target Facing unarmored.

12.601 DAMAGE: Each LC has a Damage Point (DP) Rating on the Wreck side of its counter. When an attack inflicts DP on a LC (as explained below), it is marked with ≥ one DP counter to indicate the total number of DP it has accumulated thus far. When that total equals the LC's DP Rating, it is immobilized; when that Rating is exceeded, the LC is destroyed (12.69). DP are also inflicted by each Blaze on a LC (12.68).

12.602 SHOCK/IMMOBILIZATION: A Shock, Possible Shock or Immobilization result can apply to neither a LC nor its Inherent crew [EXC: DP Immobilization; 12.601], but can apply to a LC's Passenger vehicle(s) (/their PRC) in the normal manner if hit as per 12.65.

12.603 SNIPER: A dr 1 or 2 sniper attack vs a LC is resolved only vs its Inherent crew, and always results in a Stun [EXC: if Heavy Surf exists in the LC's hex, a dr 2 attack has no effect on its crew; 13.445]. LC Passengers are not eligible sniper targets.

12.61 NON-ORDNANCE DIRECT FIRE: A non-ordnance Direct Fire attack vs a LC treated as an unarmored target is resolved on the IFT's Vehicle line, using (in addition to all other applicable FP modifications) halved FP unless the LC is Beached. If the Final IFT DR vs the LC is < the Vehicle Kill #, DP equal to the difference between those two numbers are inflicted on the LC; if that DR equals that Vehicle Kill #, there is no effect on the LC except possibly via a Collateral Attack vs its Vulnerable PRC; if that DR is > that Vehicle Kill # there is no effect on the LC or its PRC.

A non-ordnance Direct Fire attack vs a LC treated as an armored target has no effect on it except possibly via a Collateral Attack (at halved FP unless the LC is Beached){J10} vs its Vulnerable PRC.

EX: A 12 FP attack by Small-Arms/MG vs an un-Beached LCP(L) through its unarmored side Target Facing is resolved on the 6 FP column of the IFT's ★ Vehicle line, and will inflict one DP on the LC if the Final IFT DR is a 5 (6 [★ Vehicle Kill #] - 5 [DR] = 1 DP), or two DP if that DR is a 4, etc. (and a Collateral Attack can also occur vs the LC's Vulnerable PRC; 12.671). That same attack made through the LCP(L)'s armored front Target Facing would have no effect on that LC—but would be resolved Collaterally vs its CE crew as per 12.671. However, that same attack made through the LCP(L)'s armored front Target Facing from a Location with sufficient elevation advantage to lower its crew's CE DRM to < +2 would treat the LC as an unarmored target and would be resolved vs it on the IFT's ★ Vehicle line (and vs its Vulnerable PRC as per 12.671).

12.611 FT/DC/MOL: The use of FT/DC/MOL vs a LC/its-PRC is NA; if used vs another target in the LC's Location, they have no effect on the LC or its PRC.

12.612 OVR: A LC cannot be OVR; an OVR by/vs another unit in the LC's Location has no effect on the LC or its PRC.

12.613 RESIDUAL FP: A Residual FP attack vs a fully armored LC treats that LC as armored, while one vs a LC that is not fully armored treats it as unarmored. Otherwise, such attacks vs LC are resolved as per 12.61 as if the attack were non-ordnance Direct Fire [EXC: Residual FP is not halved vs a LC].

12.614 MINES: The only mines that can affect LC are A-B mines as per 14.51/14.53.

12.62 ORDNANCE DIRECT FIRE: A Direct Fire ordnance attack vs a LC must use the Vehicle (or Area; 12.63) Target Type or a LATW TH Table. A hit achieved using the Vehicle Target Type (or a LATW TH Table) is resolved by a TK DR. If HE was fired, one of the following will occur: if the Final TK DR vs the LC is < the Final HE TK#, DP equal to the difference between those two numbers are inflicted on the LC; if that DR equals that TK#, there is no effect on the LC except possibly via a Collateral Attack vs its Vulnerable PRC; if that DR is a Dud (C7.35) and/or > that TK#, there is no effect on the LC or its PRC. If AP-type ammo (i.e., AP/APCR/APDS, or any non-Aerial MG, 12.7 or 15mm weapon, or HEAT) was fired, one DP is inflicted if the Final TK DR is ≤ half of the applicable Final TK#; if that DR is > half of, but still ≤ , that TK# there is no effect on the LC except possibly via a Collateral Attack vs its Vulnerable PRC; if that DR is a Dud (C7.35) and/or > that TK# there is no effect on the LC or its PRC. Ordnance cannot target any Passenger separately from its LC (D.6). For Aerial MG/bomb attacks see 12.66.

EX: A 75* Gun firing HE on the Vehicle Target Type achieves a hit on the armored front Target Facing of an LCP(L). If the Final TK DR is a 6, one DP is inflicted on the LC; if it is a 5, two DP are inflicted, etc. (A Final TK DR of ≤ 7 can also cause a Collateral Attack as per 12.672 or 12.673.) If that same attack hits the LCP(L) on its unarmored side Target Facing, a Final TK DR of 11 will inflict one DP, while a Final DR of 10 will inflict two DP, etc.

A 75* Gun firing AP on the Vehicle Target Type achieves a hit on the armored front Target Facing of an LCP(L) at a range of 12 hexes. If the Final TK DR is ≤ 5, one DP is inflicted on the LC. If that same attack hits the LCP(L) on its unarmored side Target Facing, a Final TK DR of ≤ 4 will inflict one DP.

12.621 MG: If the Final TK DR of a MG hit on a LC being treated as an armored target equals the Final TK#, it causes only a Collateral Attack as per 12.62—it does not automatically Stun (D5.34) the LC.

12.63 OBA/AREA-TARGET-TYPE: An OBA HE attack or Area-Target-Type HE hit vs a fully armored LC treats that LC as armored and is resolved on the IFT using the applicable C1.55 DRM. If the Final IFT DR vs the LC is a KIA, DP equal to that KIA's # are inflicted on the LC; if that DR is a K/# there is no effect on the LC except possibly via a Collateral Attack vs its Vulnerable PRC; if that DR is > a K/# there is no effect on the LC or its PRC.

An OBA HE attack or Area-Target-Type HE hit vs a LC that is not fully armored treats that LC as unarmored, regardless of the Target Facing hit or the direction of the firer's LOS/LOF, and is resolved on the IFT's Vehicle line as per 12.61 [EXC: its FP is not halved as per 12.61; Aerial bomb attacks treat all LC as armored (12.66)]. The use of SMOKE against a LC/its-PRC is NA (13.47).

EX: A 75* Gun firing HE using the Area Target Type achieves a hit on a fully armored LCVP. The attack is resolved vs the LC on the 6 FP column of the IFT with a -2 DRM (-1 for an OT LC, and -1 for a LC with all AF ≤ 4; C1.55), and will inflict one DP on that LC with an Original IFT DR of 4. The same hit on a partially armored LCP(L) would still be resolved on the 6 FP column, but would use the ★ Vehicle line and thus would inflict one DP on the LCP(L) with an Original IFT DR of 5.

12.64 CH: The Case C (C7.23) Basic TK# modifier never applies vs a LC itself. A CH vs a LC itself does not double that attack's FP, and results only in increasing by one the number of DP inflicted (even if that raises the DP inflicted from zero to one), regardless of any other effect of that attack [EXC: no DP increase occurs if a Dud (C7.35) ensues]. CH vs LC Passenger(s) are NA except for a vehicle/wreck/Gun hit as per 12.65. See also 12.679.

12.65 HIT vs PASSENGER VEHICLE/GUN: The following apply only to a LC that is carrying any vehicle(s)/wreck(s)/Gun(s) [EXC: a Gun being Animal-Packed] whose Target Size is 0/-1/-2. If ordnance/OBA rolls an upper-superstructure hit vs the LC [EXC: Aerial bomb Near Miss; 12.66], the latter's owner determines randomly whether the hit  actually occurred vs the LC or instead vs one such vehicle, wreck or Gun (even one hooked up to a vehicle) aboard that LC. If an ordnance attack's Final TH DR vs a LC is one > the number needed for a hit but that DR's Original colored dr is < its Original white dr, one such vehicle, wreck or Gun (chosen randomly by the LC's owner) on that LC is hit—provided that shot does not hit another vehicle Overstacked in the LC's hex (A5.132). Any hit directly vs a Passenger vehicle is considered a turret/upper-superstructure hit; and, vs the vehicle, wreck or Gun that was hit, is resolved as if that vehicle or Gun were in an Open Ground land hex (a Gun that was hit is treated as an unarmored vehicle [EXC: an Immobilization result is treated as Gun Malfunction instead]; any Gunshield is ignored).

EX: An LCT(4) carrying a U.S. M5A1 light tank (Target Size " +1"), 2½-ton truck (Target Size "0") and M1918 155mm howitzer (Target Size "-1") is hit by ordnance (or attacked by OBA) that rolls an upper-superstructure hit. A subsequent dr is therefore made by the LCT's owner, who assigns the numbers "1-2" to the truck, "3-4" to the Gun, and "5-6" to the LC. The tank is ineligible because its Target Size is not 0/-1/-2.

If the ordnance TH DR vs the LCT misses by one while rolling an upper-superstructure "hit", the truck or Gun is hit anyway (assuming the LC itself is not Overstacked in its hex). The LC's owner then makes a subsequent dr to find which one was in fact hit, assigning "1-3" to the truck and "4-6" to the Gun.

LC DESTRUCTION TABLE1

 

ATTACK TYPE:

Non-Ordnance

Direct Fire2

AP (Vehicle

Target Type)3

HE (Vehicle

Target Type)4

HE (Area Target

Type; OBA)5

Residual

FP6

 

A-B Mines7

 

CC8

 

Blaze9

LC TARGET FACING:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Armored10

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

≤ Half TK#/1 KIA

- a

B cd

C cdf

D cdf

- a

--11

--

F

< TK#/K

- a

-  cd

C cdf

D cdf

- a

--11

--

F

= TK#/K

- a

-  cd

-  cdf

-  cdf

- a

--11

--

-

> TK#/K

- a

-    -

-     -

-     -

- a

--11

--

-

Unarmored

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

≤ Half Veh #/TK#

A b

B  de

C def

A def

A b

E g

--

F

< Veh #/TK#

A b

-  de

C def

A def

A h

E g

--

F

= Veh #/TK#

-  b

-  de

-  def

-  def

- b

-  -

--

-

> Veh #/TK#

-   -

-    -

-     -

-     -

-  -

-  -

--

-

Effects vs LC:

-:  No DP inflicted.*

A  DP inflicted= Vehicle Kill # minus Final IFT DR; 12.61.*

B   One DP inflicted [EXC: none, if Dud]; 12.62.*

C   DP inflicted = Final TK# minus Final non-Dud TK DR; 12.62.*

D   DP inflicted = KIA's #; 12.63.*

E   DP inflicted = 13 ( Vehicle #) minus Original Effects DR; 14.53.

F   Blaze occurs if ≥ two DP are inflicted by attack whose Effects DR contains Original colored dr of "1 " [EXC: Blaze NA if LC itself is already Ablaze or sinks in deep water]; 12.68. Place Blaze and Pin counter on LC.

*   Increase # of DP inflicted (even if zero) by one for CH followed by non-Dud Effects DR; 12.64.

Effects vs LC PRC:

-:   LC's PRC are not Vulnerable. §

a:   Vulnerable:  LC's CE Inherent crew, and each Passenger Gun/non-AFV-wreck/unarmored-vehicle-(and its PRC) [EXC:  Animal-Packed Gun] whose Target Size is 0, -1 or -2 (12.671; 12.6712). †§

b:   All of LC's PRC are Vulnerable (12.671; 12.6712) [EXC: each Passenger AFV-(and its PRC)/wreck that is not treated as unarmored vs that attack is Vulnerable only if that attack was made by an Aerial MG— in which case the Aerial MG's Original IFT DR, modified by -1 (or by -2 if the AFV is OT), is applied as a Final TK DR vs the AFV; 12.6711].†§‡

c:    Vulnerable to hull hit: all Passengers (hit's IFT FP, and Final TK# vs any Passenger AFV, are halved [FRU]); 12.672.†§‡

d:   Vulnerable to upper-superstructure hit: LC's Inherent crew, or one Passenger vehicle/wreck/Gun whose Target Size is 0, -1 or -2 (12.673).

e:    Vulnerable to hull hit: all Passengers (12.672). †§‡

f:   [EXC: bomb Near Miss causes no Collateral Attack; 12.672].

g:   All PRC† are Vulnerable to 16 FP Collateral Attack (14.53) [EXC: a Passenger AFV (and its PRC) is Vulnerable only if its lowest hull AF is "0", in which case it is treated as unarmored]. Use 16-FP column's ★ Vehicle line for each Passenger vehicle or Gun thusly attacked.‡

§:   Each non-Aerial attack conducted as non-ordnance Direct Fire, and each non-Aerial ordnance hull hit that used the Vehicle Target Type, vs the front Target Facing of a LC whose ramp is down treats that LC's Vehicle and Infantry Stacks [EXC: BU PRC of Passenger AFV; all ⅝" counters beneath the topmost AFV (or AFV wreck) in the Vehicle Stack] as Vulnerable as if that Target Facing were unarmored, provided that attack emanated from within the LC's VCA (12.674).†‡

†:   If LC's PP capacity is ≥ 40, use Random Selection as per 12.678 to determine the Vulnerable Passenger(s).

‡:   LC's Infantry-Passengers (only) may claim TEM of any AFV or non-burning wreck aboard that LC, if that AFV/wreck is also subject to that Collateral Attack (12.677).

Notes:

1:    When total DP on LC equal or exceed its DP rating, LC is immobilized or destroyed respectively; 12.601. A destroyed (12.69) LC sinks with no survivors if in deep water; if in shallow water it becomes a wreck (and Fast Aground if un-Beached or Aground when destroyed).

2:   FP is halved if LC is not Beached (12.61). FT/DC/MOL/OVR has no effect vs LC (12.611). Aerial-MG attack treats all LC as unarmored (12.66).

3:    Including APCR/APDS, all non-Aerial MG, 12.7 and 15mm, and HEAT (even if using LATW TH Table); 12.62.

4:    Bomb hit vs any LC treats it as fully armored, with "0" Aerial AF; TK Cases A (+1 to Basic TK#) and B ( + 1 to Basic TK# if LC is CT, or +2 if OT) apply; (12.66). Near Miss is resolved as hull hit, with bomb's Final TK# halved.

5:    If LC is not fully armored it is treated as unarmored (12.63) [EXC: bomb hit treats all LC as fully armored; 12.66].

6:    If LC is not fully armored it is treated as unarmored; 12.613.

7:    Attacks LC on ★ Vehicle line of 36-FP column, regardless of its armor; 14.53.

8:    CC by/vs a LC/its-PRC is NA; 12.7.

9:    Each unpinned Blaze on a LC reduces its MP allotment by one and, in each AFPh, inflicts one DP; 12.68.

10: Target Facing is treated as unarmored if firer's elevation advantage is > range; 12.6.

11: All LC are considered unarmored vs A-B mines; 14.53.

12.66 AERIAL MG/BOMBS: An aircraft MG attack vs any LC always treats that LC as unarmored (regardless of Target-Facing/AF), and is resolved vs it as per 12.61. An aircraft bomb attack vs any LC always treats that LC as fully armored, and is resolved vs it as per 12.62 or 12.63 according to the Target Type used for the attack. If the Vehicle Target Type was used, assume the LC's Aerial AF to be "0" (regardless of Target Facing), and apply TK Cases A (C7.21) and B (C7.22). A Vehicle-Target-Type bomb attack that achieves a Near Miss (E7.421) vs a LC is also resolved as a hull hit (regardless of the TH DR) vs it, using half of the bomb's Final TK#. The use of Napalm (17.4) vs a LC/its-PRC is NA.

12.67 COLLATERAL ATTACKS: Collateral Attacks (A.14) vs LC PRC apply in the normal manner except as stated otherwise. See also 12.111, 12.123 and 12.13.

12.671 NON-ORDNANCE DIRECT FIRE: When a LC is attacked as an armored target by a non-ordnance Direct Fire attack (12.61), the only PRC aboard that LC which are Vulnerable to the resulting Collateral Attack are its Inherent crew (which receives a +2 CE DRM) and all Guns-(12.675)/non-AFV-wrecks/unarmored-vehicles-(and their PRC) [EXC: a Gun being Animal-Packed] whose Target Size is 0/-1/-2.

When a LC is attacked as an unarmored target by non-ordnance Direct Fire whose Final IFT DR vs that LC is ≤ the applicable Vehicle Kill #, all PRC aboard that LC are Vulnerable to (but the LC's Inherent crew can claim no CE benefit vs) any resulting Collateral Attack [EXC: each AFV-(and its BU PRC)/wreck Passenger that is not treated as unarmored vs that attack is Vulnerable only if the attack was made by an Aerial MG (12.6711); see also 12.678].

       G12.13 & G12.671

12.6711 AERIAL MG vs AFV: When a LC carrying an AFV is attacked by an Aerial MG (12.66), that AFV (and its Vulnerable PRC, if the AFV is OT; 12.676) can be hit Collaterally. The MG's Original IFT DR, modified by -1 (or by -2 if the AFV is OT), is applied as a Final TK DR vs the AFV.

12.6712 RESIDUAL FP & MINES: The Collateral effects of a Residual-FP attack vs a LC are resolved as per 12.671 as if the attack were being made by non-ordnance Direct Fire. For A-B mines vs LC PRC see 14.53.

12.672 ORDNANCE/OBA HULL HIT: An ordnance/OBA hull hit on a LC (12.62-.63) can directly affect only the LC/its-Vulnerable-Passenger(s); i.e., its Inherent crew, despite being non-BU, is not considered Vulnerable to any Collateral Attack caused by that hit. [EXC: An Aerial bomb Near Miss (E7.421) vs a LC has no Collateral effect on its Passengers.]

If the non-Dud Final Effects DR of an ordnance/OBA hull hit [EXC: Aerial bomb Near Miss] on a LC is ≤ the Final TK# (12.62), or ≤ a K/# result or the Vehicle Kill # (12.63), all of its Vehicle and Infantry Stacks are Vulnerable to the resulting Collateral Attack [EXC: see 12.678]. The Collateral Attack is resolved on the IFT/pertinent-TK-Table using the original attack's Original Effects DR and the same non-CH (12.679) IFT-FP/Final-TK# as applicable to each Collateral target [EXC: if the LC is treated as an armored target by that hull hit, its IFT FP and Final TK# are halved (FRU) for Collateral Attack purposes].

Such a Collateral Attack vs a Passenger AFV is considered a hull hit on it and, if resulting from an OBA/Area-Target-Type HE attack, also uses the C1.55 DRM as applicable.

EX: An LCVP carrying two Jeeps and an Infantry-Passenger HS receives a hull hit on its side Target Facing from a 75* Gun that fired HE at a range of 12 hexes using the Vehicle Target Type. If the Gun's Final TK DR is ≤ 7 (and assuming in all cases below that the attack does not sink the LC in deep water; 12.69), the HS will undergo a six-FP Collateral Attack (12 [75mm HE FP] ÷ 2 [ordnance hull-hit effect vs armored LC's PRC; 12.672] = 6 FP) and both Jeeps will undergo a Collateral Attack using a HE Final (C7.342) TK# of 6 (12 [75mm HE Final TK# vs unarmored target]  ÷ 2 [ordnance hull-hit effect vs armored LC's PRC; 12.672] = 6).

If the Gun had instead fired AP and rolled a Final TK DR of ≤ 10, its Collateral Attack would have been resolved vs the HS using one FP (2 [75mm AP HE-Equivalency] ÷ 2 [ordnance hull-hit effect vs armored LC's PRC; 12.672] = 1), and vs the Jeeps using a Final TK# of 5 ({9 [75mm AP Basic TK# vs unarmored target] + 0 [Cases A-D TK modifications; C7.2]} ÷ 2 [ordnance hull-hit effect vs armored LC's PRC; 12.672] = 4½ FRU = 5).

If the Gun had instead used the Area Target Type and rolled ≤ a K/# vs the LC, its Collateral Attack would have been resolved on the two-FP column of the IFT (6 [75mm Area-Target-Type HE FP] ÷ 2 [ordnance hull-hit effect vs armored LC's PRC; 12.672] = 3 FP), using the ★ Vehicle line vs the Jeeps.

If the hull hit on the LCVP had instead been achieved by a 70+ mm OBA HE Concentration whose Final IFT DR was ≤ a K/#, the HS and Jeeps would all have been subject to a six-FP Collateral Attack (12 [70 + mm HE Concentration FP] ÷ 2 [OBA hull-hit effect vs armored LC's PRC; 12.672] = 6 FP), again using the ★ Vehicle line vs the Jeeps.

EX: If the LCVP in the above example were transporting a Carrier instead of the two Jeeps, the following differences in the Collateral Attack resolution would occur. The HE hit using the Vehicle Target Type would be resolved vs the Carrier using a Final TK# of 4 ({7 [75mm HE Basic TK# vs armored target] + 0 [Carrier's side hull AF] + 0 [Cases A-D TK modifications; C7.2]} ÷ 2 [ordnance hull-hit effect vs armored LC's PRC; 12.672] = 3½ FRU = 4). The AP hit would be resolved vs the Carrier using a Final TK# of 5 ({10 [75* AP Basic TK# vs armored target] + 0 [Carrier's side hull AF] + 0 [Cases A-D TK modifications; C7.2]} ÷ 2 [ordnance hull-hit effect vs armored LC's PRC; 12.672) = 5). The HE hit using the Area Target Type would be resolved vs the Carrier on the two-FP column of the IFT, with a -2 DRM (- 1 for the Carrier's having all AF ≤ 4, plus -1 for its being an OT AFV). The HE Concentration would be resolved vs the Carrier on the IFT's six-FP column using the same -2 DRM.

12.673 ORDNANCE/OBA TURRET HIT: An ordnance/OBA upper-superstructure hit on a LC itself (as opposed to a hit as per 12.65 on a Passenger vehicle, wreck or Gun) can Collaterally affect only the LC's Inherent crew; its Passengers are not considered Vulnerable to such an attack. This Collateral Attack vs its crew is resolved using the original attack's non-CH (12.679) IFT FP and Original Effects DR modified by the crew's CE DRM (if applicable). For the Collateral effects of a hit achieved as per 12.65 on a Passenger vehicle/Gun, see 12.675-.676.

12.674 RAMP: Vs the Collateral effects of a non-Aerial attack conducted as per 12.61/12.62 from within the VCA of a LC whose ramp is down, all of that LC's Vehicle and Infantry Stacks [EXC: the BU PRC of Passenger AFV; all ⅝" counters beneath the topmost AFV (or AFV wreck) in the Vehicle Stack] are considered Vulnerable as if that LC's front Target Facing were unarmored. No CE benefits ever apply to a thusly Vulnerable Collateral target [EXC: the PRC of an AFV not normally allowed to be BU (e.g., a Carrier's Inherent HS or crew) may claim CE benefits vs such a Collateral Attack]. Note, however, that a lowered ramp does not prevent the LC's Inherent crew from claiming CE benefits. An ordnance attack must use the Vehicle Target Type (or a LATW TH Table) and achieve a hull hit in order to claim the Collateral benefits of a lowered ramp.

EX: An LCT(4) whose Vehicle Stack comprises (from top to bottom) a tank, a Carrier, and a truck (carrying its own Passengers and towing a Gun), and whose Infantry Stack comprises three squads, a crew and a Pushed Gun, Beaches and the tank unloads, ending the LCT's MPh. Its ramp is now down (12.41), and an enemy MG at Level 0 fires during the DFPh at the LCT from within its VCA. The LC itself is still treated as an armored target (12.6), and its Inherent crew will receive a +2 CE DRM vs the ensuing Collateral Attack—but the lowered ramp leaves the Carrier and Infantry Stack Vulnerable. However, vs the Collateral Attack, the Carrier's Inherent crew or HS (12.676) will receive a +2 CE DRM, while the Infantry-Passengers (but not the Pushed Gun) will receive a +1 TEM for the Carrier (12.677). Vs the truck (and its Passengers and towed Gun), the Collateral Attack will have no effect at all.

12.675 vs GUN: A Collateral Attack vs a Passenger Gun [EXC: one hooked up to a vehicle; C10.1] is resolved as if the Gun were an unarmored vehicle [EXC: an Immobilization result is treated as Gun Malfunction instead; a Gun being Animal-Packed is eliminated if its Mule is eliminated or Casualty-Reduced]. A hit achieved as per 12.65 on a Passenger Gun is resolved Collaterally only vs its possessing Infantry-Passenger—or, if the Gun is hooked up, vs its towing vehicle (and its Vulnerable PRC, if any; 12.676). If a hooked-up Gun is eliminated by a hit achieved as per 12.65, its towing vehicle is automatically immobilized (unless destroyed) by that Collateral Attack. A Gunshield has no effect in a LC.

12.676 vs PASSENGER-VEHICLE PRC: The PRC of a vehicle aboard a LC are Vulnerable to each Collateral Attack their vehicle is subject to, provided they are not in an AFV [EXC: OT AFV PRC are Vulnerable to an Aerial MG attack vs that AFV; see also 12.674] and that Collateral Attack does not destroy their vehicle. A hit achieved as per 12.65 on a vehicle aboard a LC can be resolved Collaterally only vs that vehicle's Vulnerable PRC. The Vulnerable PRC of a vehicle aboard a LC never receive CE benefits [EXC: OT AFV PRC attacked by an Aerial MG; see also 12.674].

12.677 AFV/WRECK TEM: When subjected to a Collateral Attack, a LC's Infantry-Passenger(s) (only) may claim the TEM of any AFV or non-burning wreck aboard that LC, but only if that AFV/wreck is also subject to that Collateral Attack.

12.678 PP CAPACITY ≥ 40: Whenever a LC with a PP capacity of ≥ 40 PP is attacked [EXC: any attack that achieves an upper-superstructure hit as per 12.65, or that can claim the benefits of a down ramp as per 12.674], the resulting Collateral Attack (if any) is resolved only against the Vulnerable Passenger(s) chosen by Random Selection. Random Selection is used twice (by the LC's owner): once for the Infantry Stack and again for the Vehicle Stack. However, from the latter only one AFV or AFV wreck (plus any number of non-AFV/non-AFV-wrecks) can thusly be made Vulnerable to an ordnance attack that used the Vehicle Target Type (or a LATW TH Table); if Random Selection chooses ≥ two AFV/AFV-wrecks, the LC's owner must select one of them randomly. All Passengers not Vulnerable to the original attack (e.g., Small Arms vs Passenger AFV) are excluded from Random Selection.

EX: An un-Beached LCT(4) carrying three AFV and two trucks in its Vehicle Stack, and three squads in its Infantry Stack, receives a hull hit from a Gun using the Vehicle Target Type which causes a Collateral Attack. The LC's owner rolls Random Selection for the squads, and then again for the AFV and trucks, to find which of them will be considered Vulnerable to the Collateral Attack. If the Random Selection DR for the vehicles chooses ≥ two of the AFV, the LC's owner must make another dr to randomly select just one of them; the other two AFV (as well as their PRC; 12.676) will not be Vulnerable to that Collateral Attack.

If the original attack had used the Area Target Type (or had been caused by OBA), the same procedures would apply except that all vehicles chosen by the Random Selection DR would be Vulnerable.

In both cases, the squads might also be able to claim the TEM of an AFV; see 12.677.

If the original attack had been made using Small-Arms/IFE/non-ordnance-MG, Random Selection for the Vehicle Stack would include only the two trucks.

12.679 CH: A CH vs a LC itself is resolved Collaterally as a non-CH; i.e., using its non-CH IFT-FP/TK# as otherwise applicable.

12.68 BLAZE: Whenever a LC is struck by an attack that inflicts ≥ two DP on it and whose Effects DR contains an Original colored dr of "1", that LC is set Ablaze [EXC: no Blaze occurs if the LC itself is already Ablaze, nor if that attack sinks the LC in deep water]. A LC cannot be set Ablaze in any other manner. A vehicle aboard a LC can be turned into a burning wreck in the normal manner for whatever type of attack strikes it.

Whenever a LC or a Passenger vehicle/wreck aboard a LC becomes Ablaze, a Blaze counter is placed on that LC (and, for a Passenger vehicle/wreck set Ablaze while in a Cloaking Box, a "duplicate" Blaze counter is placed on that wreck). When placed on the LC, that Blaze is also marked with a Pin counter (which is removed at the end of the next CCPh). When a Passenger burning wreck is removed from its Cloaking Box and placed onboard on its LC, its "duplicate" Blaze counter is removed from the LC; if the latter is pinned, that Pin counter is placed on the wreck's Blaze— otherwise it is not marked with a Pin counter. Each unpinned Blaze on a LC reduces that LC's MP allotment by one and, in the AFPh of each Player Turn, inflicts one DP on it. For other Blaze effects see 12.43-.44 and 12.84.

No Blaze aboard a non-immobilized, non-Beached LC has any smoke effect whatsoever; i.e., neither its Inherent, nor any Drifting, smoke is considered to exist. When a LC carrying any Blaze(s) becomes Beached/immobilized, or when the first Blaze appears on a Beached/immobilized LC, the Inherent-smoke effects of its Blaze(s) come into existence immediately (and any drifting smoke would appear in the following AFPh). Smoke drifting from > one Blaze aboard the same LC is indicated on the board by using one gray Smoke counter per hex.

EX: An LCM(3) carrying two unpinned Wreck Blazes has its MP allotment reduced by two, and receives two DP in the AFPh of each Player Turn. If instead the LC itself were Ablaze and was also carrying one Wreck Blaze, the same effects would apply. However, if in either case the LC is neither Beached nor immobilized, LOS to/through/within/out-of (and movement into) its hex is unaffected by those Blazes nor do they create any Drifting smoke.

12.69 ELIMINATION: A LC is destroyed when the total number of DP inflicted on it exceeds its DP Rating. If this occurs in deep water, the LC sinks—i.e., it and everything it is carrying are immediately eliminated. A LC destroyed in shallow water is flipped to its Wreck side; if un-Beached or Aground it is now considered to be Fast Aground (and thus Beached), and if Beached across a hexside the wreck remains thusly Beached.

12.691 PRC SURVIVAL: LC PRC can survive only if their LC is destroyed in shallow water, in which case normal Survival rules (D5.6) apply to the LC's Inherent crew [EXC: the total Stun DRM (if any; 12.111) applies to its Survival DR].

LC Passengers do not roll for Survival when their LC is destroyed in shallow water. Instead, they remain LC Passengers and are subject to the normal Collateral effects (12.67-.678 as applicable) of the attack (if any) that destroyed their LC. Those not eliminated by Collateral Attack are placed atop the LC wreck, and therefore are treated just as if their LC were Beached but not destroyed [EXC: all surviving vehicles (other than motorcycles) aboard that LC wreck are considered Bogged; all unpossessed SW aboard it are eliminated unless being carried by another Passenger vehicle].

12.7 CC: CC attacks by/vs a LC/its-PRC are NA.

12.8 MISCELLANEOUS

12.81 HINDRANCE/TEM:  Only a Beached LC can provide a +1 TEM/LOS-Hindrance as per D9.3-.4, treating the LC as if it were an AFV. A Passenger vehicle aboard a LC provides no such Hindrance/TEM [EXC: TEM as per 12.677].

12.82 REMOVAL: The armament of a LC cannot be Removed.

12.83 WRECK EQUIVALENCE: A LC wreck is considered equivalent to an undestroyed LC in all respects [EXC: a LC wreck cannot be Inherently crewed (and thus is Immobile and cannot fire), nor can it be further destroyed in order to gain more VP; a LC wreck is always Beached (see also 13.4422); a non-burning LC wreck may be Scrounged as if it were an AFV wreck].

EX: A LC destroyed (but not sunk) while its ramp is down becomes a wrecked LC whose ramp is down. A LC destroyed (but not sunk) while its ramp is up becomes a wrecked LC whose ramp is up, but the ramp may still be lowered as per 12.41 to allow any Passenger aboard to unload. No enemy unit may enter a Location occupied by a wrecked LC. When a LC that is itself Ablaze becomes a wreck, that Blaze counter (in its present pinned or unpinned state; 12.68) remains on it. All Passengers aboard a LC wreck must still attempt to unload as soon as possible during a Seaborne Assault (14.231). These are just a few examples of LC wreck equivalency.

12.84 VP: Each LC eliminated is worth one VP plus a one-VP bonus for each of the following: ≥ one still-functioning MA weapon; being fully armored; its Inherent crew did not survive; each multiple of 50PP (FRU) in its Passenger capacity. No Casualty/Exit VP may be claimed for a LC (or for its PRC) that exits play carrying a Blaze counter(s).

EX: The maximum Casualty VP value of an LCP(L) is 4, that of an LCVP is 5, and that of an LCT(4) is 15.

12.9 DYO: The H1.4 Vehicle Availability DR is used to determine the available type(s) of LC. The side conducting a Seaborne Assault (14.1) may add to its OB as many LC (of each available type, and including one Inherent LC crew for each) as it wishes, and pays no purchase points for them; however, see also 14.21. LC are recorded in the Vehicle section of the DYO Purchase Roster. If the H1.4 DR is an Original 12, all of that side's LC are considered to have Inexperienced crews (12.113).